We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accommodation, fantastic sea views and...”
other travelers have booked this property
the view from the living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the view from the living room
dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
the view from the living room
dining room
living room window
front door
living room
woodburner lit
downstairs bedroom
kitchen
kitchen
organic towels
shower room
hallway
back garden
outdoor dining
garden
Talland Bay
Polperro
Cove nearby
Kayaking in Fowey
Eden Project
Water sports at Siblyback Lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vaughan S
1 review
“Superb accommodation, fantastic sea views and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed November 30, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This is one of the best we have stayed in, the accommodation is everything you could wish for. The hosts Sue and Colin are totally charming and nothing is too much trouble for them and they make sure that your stay is as perfect as possible. Our only regret!!! we didnt stay longer but we hope to remedy that soon. Cant recommend this highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygal6...
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for...”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What a great base for visiting Polperro, Looe and other parts of Cornwall of course!
Penlowen was perfect for our week long stay...a lovely home from home to come back to after a day out. Clean, modern and tastefully furnished. The sea view from the living room was fabulous to enjoy at any time of the day and whatever the weather. The owners, Sue and Colin were both welcoming and hospitable - happy to help with any queries we had throughout our stay. Wouldn't hesitate to re book Penlowen if we visit Polperro again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
It was great to meet you all. Hopefully you will visit Polperro again and when you do I would love to take you all snorkelling in Talland bay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preeti s
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Place....Perfect for anyone”
Reviewed October 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was our first time visiting Cornwall and we loved it. The location was absoloutely perfect and Penlowen was perfect. It was Clean, Spacious, Cosy, peacful warm and a lovely View. The View and the garden was what sold it to us. The Owners were great, they were happy to help with whatever queries we may have had. Polperro was a walk away down a very steep hill, which was fun with a pushchair, but when you get to the village it is definately worth it. Also there is a beautiful beach within walkin distance.
We loved Cornwall and when we visit again we would definitely stay here again.

Thank you for a wonderful stay....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and it was great to meet you all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AW F
1 review
“Restorative, convenient and family-friendly!”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in Penlowen (Polperro) while our eldest completed a sailing trip based from Plymouth. We originally selected this area so that we were mid-way between Plymouth and the lower portion of Cornwall...without being too remote. We were traveling with a younger child and needed somewhere which could support a self-catering approach but was still *safe* for a youngster with an appetite for adventure (lodging closer to rocky coastlines or wothout adequate railings made us nervous). Penlowen was an ideal location - the small town of Polperro was not to be missed; we found we could travel into Looe quite easily; it was a short drive to Polruan where we could park and take the ferry to Fowey....and we could still hop efficiently onto the motorway for a day trip to Redruth and St. Ives. The lodging was beyond our expectations - neat, tidy, extraordinarily clean, well-stocked, toasty wood burner, fabulous views (on the days which weren't cloudy), comfy beds and clean bedding, warm showers and all the extras that you think you might have left at home (buckets, spades, clothes dryers, corkscrew, beach reads, toddler distractions, toddler dishware and cutlery). We arrived to a plate of fresh scones and jam, clotted cream and fresh milk in the fridge. And quite honestly, there was rarely anything we were missing - Penlowen is that well stocked. Communication before and during our trip was excellent. When we sent messages about where to go for a quick beach trip (Talland Bay) Susan responded immediately. The same went for a local garage, required due to a noisy brake pad. (Mr. Clark's Garage) We are sure we will return to this area in the future - we wouldn't think of staying elsewhere.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2017
Thank you so much for you kind words. it was great to meet you all and I do hope that we will meet again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2017
Thank you, It was lovely to meet you both. I look forward to having some chats next time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2017
I think that Mishka is definitely missing all of you. I very much enjoyed meeting you all and hope to see you again,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amanda K
1 review
“Beautiful, eco-friendly holiday home”
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Penlowen is a perfect home from home - it is beautifully decorated, comfortable, and well-appointed. The level of peace and quiet is astounding (except when it's raining!). The view from the living area is stunning (except when it's raining!), and the house is within easy reach of things to see and do. Sue also kindly took us to Talland Bay and introduced us to the basics of seaweeds. It was fantastic being able to stay in a home with eco-friendly products, solar panels, and good recycling and compost facilities.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
Thank you for the kind review. I actually really enjoyed our trip to the beach. It has inspired me to do more seaweed hunting and get a microscope for more accurate identification. I have started an instagram page called seaweed sue if you are interested in seeing more regular seaweed updates. It was a pleasure to meet you all and thank you for being such perfect guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing