We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit”
Review of Penryn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penryn House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had a fabulous 3 night stay at Penryn House! My bedroom on the side of the house had lovely view down the village. The room was spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable with crisp white linen, the pillow's was comfortable too. Guest supplies were plentiful and good quality. The bathroom was fairly small but had a excellent shower.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereals, fruit and yogurt. The full English was also excellent as was the Haddock and poached egg.

Penryn House is very dog friendly and ideally situated in the village with the added bonus of parking, rare in Polperro. Overall a great stay and I hope to return.

Room Tip: some rooms at the top of the house have sloping ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    82
    20
    7
    0
See reviews for
40
208
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our room was a very small twin at the back of the hotel, OK for an overnight stop. Comfortable bed. Helpful staff. Nice lounge area downstairs where you can sit and have a beer. Breakfast was lovely, nice to have lite bite options such as bacon baps. Close to the SW coast path.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here over 2 nights from June 27th and were really impressed by the standards of cleanliness, service and food. The condition of rooms was extremely good and with those nice little twists that seperate from a corporate style and a homlely feel.

The location was brilliant, Polperro is a tiny seaside village and exactly like I used to read about as a boy. The hotel is comfortably set back from village centre to give a little breathing space but near enough for a short walk in.

Breakfast at the hotel was absolutely fantastastic - lots of it and cooked to perfection so you can fill up for a day's exploring.

We also thought that price-wise this hotel was very good for the area.

We are looking forward to another quick break there when we can.

If you do go to Polperro my tip would be: Find a restaurant as soon as you can and book a table, it is very popular.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in Polperro for 4 nights and had a wonderful friendly welcome from this very dog friendly hotel, even when the dog if a big black bear (Newfoundland)!!! Everything was perfect and what a lovely fishing village, everywhere is pet friendly, great pubs and fabulous area.

Chris and Anna could not do more for us, informative, loads of suggestions of where we could go, such fabulous breakfasts we had to have a full English each morning!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolaskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My partner and I had an excellent stay of four nights at Penryn House, guests of the friendly and welcoming Anna. Our room was at the top, and what it lacked in headroom at one side it more than made up for in the views from the windows - part of the village with wooded slope above, and the trees on the valley side above the bathroom. Just a five minute walk brought us to Polperro's ancient village centre clustered around the extremely picturesque harbour and with its great choice of restaurants, pubs and shops and very interesting museum. It is a wonderful centre for unforgettable walks along the coastal paths towards Looe one way and Lansallos and Fowey (via the ferry at Polruan) the other - we left our car in the hotel carpark and made use of the friendly bus services. The hotel is well appointed, serving delicious breakfasts with a big choice of alternatives (we particularly recommend the smoked salmon with scrambled egg, and the smoked haddock with poached egg), and there is a bar with a comfortable seating area. Our final evening was spent at 'The Kitchen', opposite the hotel, recommended by Anna and separately reviewed by us, and where we became engaged!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaPidcock, Owner at Penryn House Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and many congratulations on your engagement - you kept that quiet! Hope to see you soon. Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent 3 nights here in a twin bedded room. It was a bit of a last minute booking and the doubles were fully booked. The room was extremely well appointed and compact. A nice touch was the replacement of bottled water each day - especially as it was very hot! Some B&Bs confine the water to the first night only. The shower sputtered a bit but was adequate.

The hot breakfast was cooked to order and perfection with plenty of choice. We always try and pick somewhere with parking and Penryn House has enough spaces.

Polperro is very pretty with plenty of pubs and restaurants and we used it as a base for visits to Fowey and the Eden Project.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely night here.The proprietors did everything possible to make our stay most enjoyable.Ample parking which is very precious in some small villages.Clean and comfortable rooms.An excellent breakfast what more could you ask for.We had a nice early morning walk around the harbour to take photographs.It is just perfect.
Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollygeorge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#5 of 7 in Looe
259 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,331 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penryn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penryn House Hotel

Property: Penryn House Hotel
Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Penryn House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run country style hotel in the heart of Polperro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Penryn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penryn Hotel Polperro
Penryn House Hotel Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing