We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, comfortable and in the right location”

Review of Lower Laurels

The 'Slip', just 15 seconds from your door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 'Slip', just 15 seconds from your door.
L.Laurels is the S/C ground floor of this 3 storey traditional Cornish house The open plan dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
The 'Slip', just 15 seconds from your door.
L.Laurels is the S/C ground floor of this 3 storey traditional Cornish house
The open plan dining area
WiFi, HiFi, DVDs, books, tea lights - just chill
View from front window, watch the world go by
Well equipped kitchen
Comfy bedroom with large EnSuite
The private 'suntrap'
The Warren. L.Laurels is 200 metres on the left
Polperro inner harbour
The tidal beach,just a 4 minute stroll away
Early evening in Polperro
The river Pol that runs through the village
Spectacular walks nearby
The outer harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
mjplum
Chippenham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and in the right location”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First and foremost, my wife and I stayed at Lower Laurels for a long weekend and were given a warm welcome by the owner Kelvin Foy . The apartment is cosy, clean, decorated in keeping with a seaside rental and ideally placed (literally a stone's throw) from the harbour. We walked, ate in the pubs and restaurants and enjoyed the beauty of Polperro without a single hitch. Recommend this to a single person or couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den_Gina
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay over the May bank holiday. The apartment is ideally placed right in the center close to all the restaurants and pubs. It's literally on the end of the coast walk from Looe to Polperro. Get the bus to Looe and walk back right to your door. It's about a 10 minute walk to the carpark so luggage with wheels is a good idea... on our last trip back to the car we tried out the little Polperro tram to save our legs though. We loved Polperro and this is a great little place to stay while there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirGINie...
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No wonder the smugglers of old chose to stay there, it's heavenly !”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This excellent little cottage is well situated in the village right across from the charming museaum on smugglers and pirates but the rental is also already on the coastal path, making for a great launching pad for walks in the amazing local scenery. It is very well equiped with all the necessary kitchen tools (and more), big shower, comfy bed, hair dryer, TV etc. Kelvin and his wife are very welcoming and there is lots of documentation on what to do in the area and tips on local restaurants and pubs. It feels very much like home away from home. It helped that the weather was gorgeous but Polperro itself is charming and the fact that the roads are literally too small for cars and all must park at the top of the village makes it pedestrian friendly and somewhat preserved. Excellent relaxing spot and more authentic than bigger neighbouring Looe !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the situation in the village and on the coastal path and the homelyness of the rental itself
Liked least: ... - if really really pushed to choose something I didn't love in the rental, I would say no dishwasher but that's just a minor drawback ;)
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect romantic break!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Kelvin for such a wonderful stay at lower laurels.
Polperro has truly stolen our hearts and we couldn't imagine a more comfortable, cosy place to stay. We stayed at the cottage from the 18th of Feb for 3 Nights and were ever so sad when we had to leave! Lower Laurels has everything you could need, great cooking utensils, an amazing shower and a seriously squishy bed. Sitting in front of the fire in the evening was an added treat and went perfectly with a glass (or bottle) of wine! If you are looking for a romantic get away with the other half I couldn't recommend this property highly enough.
Walk out your front door, down a few steps and you are on the slip, you couldn't be closer.
if your looking for a meal out, you must try the infamous Blue Peter Inn.Great Ales and incredible food. The seafood platter was so delicious we had to have it two days in a row (be warned the portions are belly busting and not for the faint hearted).
It was our first holiday together as a couple and as much as we want to explore more places I have a sneaking suspicion we will be returning to Polperro and Lower Laurels very soon.

Nikki and Pete

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayBe...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cosy and beautiful cottage”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a break at Lower Laurels and had an amazing time! The cottage is beautiful - really well decorated and furnished with everything you could need. It was larger than we had expected from the photos and a brilliant size for 2 people.

We were there during some of the awful storms which have battered Polperro recently and the cottage was so cosy and well sheltered - snuggled up in from of the fire was a wonderful way to spend the afternoon!

The bathroom was great - huge shower! Bedroom had everything you needed and was spacious and oh my goodness what a mattress! Amazing and just crazily cosy and comfy! Kitchen was really well equipped and there was nothing we needed that wasn't provided. Even a brilliant heated laundry airer which was invaluable for drying everything we'd worn outside!! Kelvin was really helpful when booking and popped down to see us on our 1st day to check we had everything we needed which was appreciated.

We will be back! Thanks for a fab holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed, fire, style
Liked least: Loved everything but think it would be best as a winter rental as its so cosy but might like somewhere with a view in the summer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynNa...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The delightful extra touches give this flat a homely welcoming feeling.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Very tastefully decorated and equipped, Lower Laurels is the perfect base for a holiday in the beautiful fishing village of Polperro. The flat is very comfortable and more spacious than appears in the photos. We had everything we needed for a really enjoyable holiday. The coastal walks from the flat are breathtaking. The general store meets all basic needs and the pubs serve very good beer and food.
Our only issue and this was nothing to do with the flat or Kelvin's management, was Alan, who did not turn up to take our luggage from the car park, so that was quite a trek.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The creature comforts.
Liked least: The lack of view, although we did sit out on the lovely terrace on Christmas Day which would be wonderful in the summer.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maizy01
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely, friendly, perfect.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This cosy little flat was just perfect. As with the last reviewer we arrived late when it was dark and cold outside and the cottage was lit up, warm and inviting with a friendly note to welcome us - perfect place to relax after a long journey.

The size was just right for two people, the whole place was fully kitted out (even a spare iPhone charger!), and all the rooms were perfectly clean and modern throughout. Also, seriously comfy bed!

The couple running the place from the flat above are also really nice and friendly; we even got a jolly hello from Kelvin in the morning to check whether everything was in order.

Absolutely brilliant place to stay, couldn't recommend it enough and my parents are already looking to try the place themselves.

Big thanks!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing