We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Peter Inn

The Blue Peter Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Luton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stopped in at The Blue Peter on a rainy Saturday in January and was very pleasantly surprised. It is a cosy little old-fashioned pub with a crackling fire in one corner. The landlord and staff were very friendly.
We had the fish (goujons) and chips, and they were possibly the nicest I've ever had. They cost about £10 each.
We sat downstairs where seating was a little tight and the tables were rather small, so I would say maximum two people could eat per table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KlunkyColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,026
    313
    75
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went here on recommendation from a friend with my husband and two children 7 & 10. We were staying in Looe but like nice food. We were not disappointed!!! Lovely atmosphere, lovely food what else could you ask for. Service was very slow but it was very busy but I would imagine it always is. We just had another drink!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KCC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The place to be in Polperro!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Came down to Polperro for New Year and headed in the direction of the Blue after seeing reviews. Streets were quiet but inside here it was buzzing! Small tables dotted around all full so we waited for a table whilst sampling the fabulous selection of ale. All in tip top condition and great variety. Seafood linguine was a joy! Freshest scallops ever.. Came back for New Years Eve and the fancy dress was fabulous, pub packed but brilliant service by all the staff. Never had to wait to be served. All on the ball. Clean toilets too! Spent the next day here too and the food was still great despite it being New Years Day.. Great staff, great pub and great location. Wish it was my local...

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pewterjuglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ideal for a Sunday arvo in Polperro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

With a couple of days in Polperro, and a rainy Sunday afternoon we arrived at the Blue Peter for lunch and stayed all afternoon. Great food and good service in a lovely sea-side pub. Placed in the heart of the town (though everything is in Polperro) it is the perfect pub for lunch, dinner, a pint, or many!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theflyingbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The best in Polperro - we tried them all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

A great pub with an excellent range of beers, friendly staff and great atmosphere. The food is also very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Peter Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Peter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing