We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standards maintained - great food in a lovely atmosphere”
Review of The Blue Peter Inn

The Blue Peter Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Traditional Cornish pub in excellent location with lovely sea and harbour views. Serving a great range of local ales and cider, Wholesome home-cooked food with Daily specials. Live Music Friday and Saturday night. Come and visit us for a real pub experience.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 785 helpful votes
“High standards maintained - great food in a lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We dined three times in the Blue Peter during our recent stay in Polperro, each time the food was faultless, the beer excellent, and the staff friendly and welcoming. Yes, you might have to wait a while at busy times, but everything is cooked freshly to order, and is usually locally sourced ingredients, especially the fish and seafood for which the pub is so well known. Who could complain about having to wait anyway, in such a quirky and friendly little pub?

The staff are great, always pleased to see you, and the ales, of which there are usually at least 3 on offer, are well-kept and served at just the right temperature.

The last night we dined there, I chose the beef and ale pie, whilst my wife opted for the rib-eye steak. Both were served with vegetables and new potatoes, and there was nothing on either plate that wasn't perfectly cooked. The menu can alter a little from day to day, according to what fish the local fisherman land, but if you have a specific requirement such as scallops, monkfish, crab or lobster, let the staff know, and they will ensure they obtain what you require from the fishing boats for the following evening's meal.

As ever in the Blue Peter, it's filled with locals, fisherman, hikers and holidaymakers. There's a dining room upstairs or you are welcome to eat in the pub, although the wooden floors might mean you have to wedge a beer mat beneath your table leg to stop it wobbling, all part of the dining experience here anyway! There's a roaring log fire during the colder months, dogs are welcomed and will receive a biscuit, and there's often live , albeit relatively laid back music on Sunday lunchtimes. The walls and rafters are festooned with all types of paraphernalia, as well as photos of the locals at various village events.

I've been a regular in this pub ever since the "new" owners took it on more than 10 years ago. It has never been less than perfect in my opinion, and should be a "must visit" on any trip to Polperro.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GBfromDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,094
    323
    79
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely pub.”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Super atmosphere. Classic olde-worlde pub in heart of Polperro. Good food.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank p0ppy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best pubs in England”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This pub has it all. plenty of good beers. lovely food. fantastic old world atmosphere. friendly staff. i could go on. i can't wait for my next visit to this wonderful pub in beautiful Polperro

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeCfromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
1 review
“Fantastic Pub!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This pub is probably the best pub that i have ever visited! It's an all round amazing pub, from the food to the beer and the service. The staff make you feel welcome and right at home! The food was a wait but was truely worth it, with everything being fresh and cooked to order it was delicious

The blue perter in is must visit if you find yourself in polperro! Trust me you wont regret it!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just what a pub should be!”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Unpretentious, friendly, great food, great beer. Enjoyed it so much the first night we went back on the second. Staff made us feel at home, welcoming fire & great location. Yes, we had to wait for the food, but can't think of anywhere nicer to be. The meals were good helpings & delicious with tasty veggie options. It doesn't get much better than this - wish it was my local.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andysurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Peter Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Peter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing