We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottles B&B and holiday apartments
Ranked #4 of 12 Polperro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2009

This is an adequate B & B. Room was clean, not very large, but not poky. Facilities are what you would expect. Bit 80s in decor. It is just on the edge of the village and there is car parking. But there are plenty of places to stay in the village and i think we we would have preferred being a bit nearer. All in all a good stay, but we will try somewhere else should we visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twoscompany78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed two nights at this B&B and found it very clean, comfortable and the food was very good also. The family that run this palce work hard to make the place clean and tidy and guests welcome. The room had everything we needed and the en-suite was compact although the shower cubicle was surprisingly roomy. It is situated at the very beginning of the town up a steep hill behind the town car park with a good view of the hill opposite that is teaming with wildlife easily viewed by eye or with binoculars supplied by the owners. A quiet location very few passers by or through traffic. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We visited this B&B for a week in August. The room was spacious, bed and bedding large, comfortable and spotlessly clean!

We were out and about all the time - walking in the pretty location, shopping, visiting beaches and leisure parks with our family and, of course, no cooking. Excellent en suite and sleep was all we needed which we received with a good helping of delicious breakfast afterwards.

It is built on the side of a hill but there is parking available which is unusual for this location. The road is a very, very steep walk so for those who are less able it is best to drive up!

This was not our first visit to the cottles, prices are the middle of the road but I cannot fault the value for money we experienced!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dazzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I looked on the website for places to stay in cornwall and this B&B came up. We arrived and were welcomed by such welcoming and friendly owners. The rooms were really big and spacious. We had such a relaxing time there with the peacefulness and the wonderful views of the fields. Would definately recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful, quite, and happy place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rach04_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We visited this B & B on spec. There were vacancies which tells you something when in peak season. We were shown to a room with en suite. It was small and the double bed dominated the room and the view from the window was the car park. They charged £80 for one night. This is a nothing special B & B claiming to be a 4* and charging for the privilege. The owners were unwelcoming and you felt that they were doing you a favour letting you stay in their house. I wouldn't recommend this, nor would I stay again.

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank SuzyWMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waytraCornwall, Owner at The Cottles B&B and holiday apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2009

We thought reviews were given by guests that actually stayed in a guest house. This couple arrived and enquired about a room for 2 to 3 nights. We had 1 room available due to a late cancellation because of illness. This couple were shown a room and quoted the rates for 1, 2, & 3 nights as advertised on our website.
If they had stayed they would have had a comfortable room & bed with a recently refurbished en-suite, plus a superb cooked breakfast. Anyway we are glad that they enjoyed their stay in the village, staying above a public house. We let the room later that evening to a lovely couple who stayed for 3 nights, and have already booked a 7 night stay with us for 2009.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cendry30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turist622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polperro hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Noughts & Crosses
The Noughts & Crosses
#9 of 12 in Polperro
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Mill House Hotel
The Old Mill House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Polperro
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Trenderway Farm
Trenderway Farm
#7 of 12 in Polperro
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Killigarth Manor Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Crumplehorn Inn & Mill
Crumplehorn Inn & Mill
#5 of 12 in Polperro
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottles B&B and holiday apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottles B&B and holiday apartments

Address: The Cottles Longcoombe Lane, Polperro PL13 2PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Polperro
Price Range: $102 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottles offers relaxed, comfortable bed and breakfast or self-catering accommodation in the picturesque Cornish fishing village of Polperro. There are three en-suite B&B rooms, offering double or king-size accommodation, all with tea & coffee making facilities, flat-screen TV with Freeview and DVD player, free wi-fi and hair dryers. We offer a varied breakfast menu, including a vegetarian option, using the finest fresh, local produce where possible. Breakfast is taken in our conservatory, with views over the garden and valley. Guests are free to relax on our terrace and enjoy the beautiful countryside views. A ten-minute stroll through Polperro village, with its many pubs, restaurants and shops, takes you to the charming harbour. There are also two self-catering holiday apartments available. Free parking is included, and may be in our own private car park or in the main Polperro car park, approx 200 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cottles B&B and holiday apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottles B&B And Holiday Apartments Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing