We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Hospitality”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of MV Ocean Warden

Ocean Warden - Our Home!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ocean Warden - Our Home!
The wheel house - the accommodation The wheelhouse - showing the steps that lead up to the accommodation.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Ocean Warden - Our Home!
The wheel house - the accommodation
The wheelhouse - showing the steps that lead up to the accommodation.
Our grand-daughter! This shows the depth of the steps up to the accommodation
View from Cabin
View of the harbour from your cabin/ bedroom
Ocean Warden - Our Home!
The View of Our Home
Penzance Promenade - only a minutes walk away!
St Michaels Mount!
Abbey Slip - only 2 minutes walk
Restaurant - 1 minutes walk
A great pub, with great food - 1 minutes walk
A great pub, with great food - 1 minutes walk
The Meadery - the place you use your fingers to eat, and sample the famous Mead wine.
Longrock beach - You can either walk/cycle across the cycle path or its 5 minute drive away
Marazion beach - great for families and an ideal opportunity to get a Cornish pasty!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Salut_Lap...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I booked for my inlaws to stay and they had a wonderful time. Excellent value for money and far more exciting than normal holiday accommodation.
The hosts went above and beyond to help them make the most of their time in Penzance so thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
It was a pleasure to welcome Anne and John aboard. They were the perfect guests and we would be happy to see them again if their travels brings them back to Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterlove...
1 review
“What a FUN place to stay!”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We strolled up the gangplank to meet the warm hosts of the MV Ocean Warden and gleefully climbed the ship's ladder to the captain's quarters, with a cozy bedroom, wheelhouse sitting area, and private (modern) bath to ourselves. The view of the working harbor was surpassed only by the sumptuous brunch laid out for us each morning and wine each evening! The ship is a short walk from the train station and the frequent buses that run to St. Ives, Minack Theatre, and other Penwith locations. Add a local cab driver as needed and you won't need to test your nerves with a rental car on the narrow roads! We stayed on the ship for 4 nights and loved it! Sue and Roger and their loyal crew member, Junior, were friendly and accommodating. We look forward to returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay aboard the Ocean Warden, we enjoyed having you stay with us very much and would love to welcome you aboard again.
Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmcd
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Dear Roger and Sue

We can not thank you enough for how wonderful you have been.
You have made us feel so welcome and looked after us so perfectly.
Your breakfast is delicious, we could not ask for more.

We have already been waxing lyrical to our friends and family about this hidden gem, the Ocean Warden, and it's amazing crew, Sue and Roger, and will continue to do so.
We leave with heavy hearts, but we will, most definitely, return again soon. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2017
Thank you so much for you wonderful review. It was our pleasure to have your company aboard Ocean Warden and we look forward to seeing you again.
All the best ,
Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
Thank you so much for your very positive review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you aboard the Ocean Warden again in the future.
Sue Roger and Junior.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pdvlondon
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique!”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This beautifully restored boat was our home for 5 nights, occupying the Captain's cabin. Great location in a bustling harbour, close to the town centre, and bars and restaurants. Roger and Sue were great and friendly hosts, and Sue laid on a wonderful breakfast, which she somehow made appear like magic each morning!
Altogether, a wonderful stay. Thank you Sue and Roger.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay aboard the Ocean Warden and that you also enjoyed exploring Penzance and West Cornwall.
Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avrilwhit...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The most amazing time”
Reviewed March 31, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Sue and Roger are the most fantastic hosts, we had such a wonderful time sharing their home. We wanted for nothing, breakfast was such a stunning array of choices and our quarters were so comfortable.
The MV Ocean Warden is such an unusual, yet a delightful place to cast your anchor - I would recommend that you give it a try.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2017
Thank you Avril for your​ very positive comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time aboard the Ocean Warden. We would love to see again if you are visiting Cornwall in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernowiro...
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful and unique place to stay in the heart of Penzance”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

You really could not ask for more - a trawler lovingly restored and converted into a really comfortable and enchanting B&B by Roger and Sue, They are really special hosts, who offer a warm welcome and are eager to please but they are never intrusive, The location is amazing - moored in the Inner Harbour you are smack bang in the middle of Penzance at the foot of Chapel Street. The Quayside atmosphere makes adds to the experience as you watch the coming and goings around the harbour from your vantage point atop the MV Ocean Warden.

A continental style breakfast miraculously appears every morning in your "lounge" which is in fact the wheelhouse to set you up for the day. There is no better place to stay and soak up the maritime history of Pennzane than the MV Ocean Warden!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique nautical experience
Liked least: no issues
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Hi Paul, thank you for your fantastic review. We are so pleased you had a good time and enjoyed your stay with us aboard the Ocean Warden.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing