We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Sukothai

Sukothai
Ranked #30 of 181 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $43
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nice welcome here, great Thai food and good service all at a really good price. Was within easy walking distance of our accommodation, Camilla House, and worth looking for.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gloucestercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    51
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Chocolate Pot”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Recently visited Sukothai on a long weekend break in Penzance, the food was amazing and the desert was just as good, I recommend the chocolate pot (hot chocolate sponge, with icecream) a lovely twist on the usual deserts offered at a Thai resturant.

The resturant had a great atmosphere and service was very friendly and welcoming - highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CPZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Valentines dinner”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Came here for valentines day dinner.
The place was fantastic and busy.
Had such a good buzz about it, and managed to remain romantic.
The staff were very friendly and looked after everyone.
A lot of people seemed to be regulars which is a good sign.
The set menus on this evening were exceptional and really gave you a chance to sample all things Thai.
Fantasticallly priced and very tasty.

Returning here soon and can't wait to bring my friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

What a find! The food, ambience and service were all very good indeed. We had a wonderful evening and the service was exceptional. We asked if Toffee Banana was on the menu. It was not, but the delightful waitress offered to go out to buy bananas and she would make it for us. The results were utterly delicious and we were so grateful for the 'added mile' she was prepared to go for first-time customers. When we are next in Penzance, we will be heading for Sukothai with no hesitation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RWWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My partner and I had a meal here and was not disappointed at all.
The dishes we had were outstanding. The Pad Thai was very flavourful and you would be hard pushed to find any better else where in this country. Ive eaten at so many Thai restaurants up and down the country and this has to be one of the best.
We also had the Pad Prik Beef and the flavours were very authentic, they never shyed from putting lots of chillies in it which is great.

You will definitely not be disappointed eating here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodsnob_GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukothai also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Sukothai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing