We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best thai in town”
Review of Sukothai

Sukothai
Ranked #30 of 181 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $43
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best thai in town”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Huge choice on menu, everything is excellent. Allow time if you're a large party - food can arrive in waves, but very friendly welcome & great service. You can take your own wine or they sell thai beer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sandi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    51
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My 2nd visit here and even better than last time. The food is excellent and the fact that it was full for 2 sittings on a wet night in January says a lot. Great friendly service and all of the food came out hot and on time. They also do take away but frankly why bother? Just take your coat off, sit down and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food in Penzance”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I have enjoyed travelling to several areas of Thailand over the years and really enjoy authentic Thai food and culture. The quality of the food was very good - Tom yum particularly - and the staff were very good, willing to put prik nam pla together at short notice. The restaurant would be rated 'excellent' but it is a little cramped for a romantic evening for two! Fantastic place though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bat_fish_babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best Thai food I've eaten!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Delicious, clean food. Fresh ingredients which were tailored to my taste (as am not a hot chillie eater!). The owners were very friendly and made the experience of eating here perfect (as was travelling alone). The best Thai food I have eaten and I've been to a handful of places in different towns. Great quality of food - with generous proportions of meat vs vegetables - I'd drive another 4 hours just to eat here again! I savoured every mouthful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Presence2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had dinner here in early October. Booked in advance to avoid the usual Friday night crush...and pigged out with their set meal.

The food was extremely good...all of it...from the starters, the duck, and the mains. The wine was also nice and reasonably priced. The service was also very attentive and friendly.

The restaurant isn't particularly large so I recommend booking for the weekends.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CPerkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukothai also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Sukothai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing