We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service and fantastic food!”

The Bakehouse Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 180 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Set on two floors and in an idyllic palm tree and twinkly light filled courtyard, the Bakehouse has been a part of the local community for the past 15 years. New owners Kim Letchford and Gary Francis took over on the 14th February 2017. Kim started working here over 8 years ago, when she did her work experience for school. She went on to study catering at the local college for 3 years and worked at the Bakehouse for most of that time as a chef, taking time out to work abroad. Gary for the past 6 years has been the sous chef at The very well known gastro pub The Victoria Inn, in Perranuthnoe. They are both very enthusiastic and innovative creating new and exciting dishes for their guests. They look forward to welcoming you to their restaurant to enjoy good food in a friendly modern restaurant.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best service and fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Rachel, the owner greeted us before we had walked through the door, which was the nicest start to the best service! The food was great... My only downside (very small) was the side portions were quite large - my self and my husband ordered a side each to match our main, although the main itself is a decent portion, so we would have been better off sharing a side! But can't fault anything else... Really enjoyed our evening, great atmosphere and stunning wine and cocktails!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    128
    40
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Dinner for one is not always great but the staff were very welcoming and gave just the right level of attention - not always easy during busy service. The starter from the specials menu was very tasty (squid/chorizo salad) and the steak main well cooked. Sorry to say I did not have room for a pud on this visit. Would definitely recommend to others and will return when I'm in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paw699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing steak & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The bakehouse has to be one of the best restaurants i have ever been to.
From phoning up to book, to the food & service everything is 10/10

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“night out with friends”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

looking at the menu outside the prices seemed very reasonable however you have to order potatoes/chips salad as sides which bumps the price up. There were eight of us in our party and we booked a table for 8.00 we finally got our meal which was only mains and all steaks at 9.10. Not only was it overpriced the service was sooo slow. We sat upstairs and the one waitress bought our plates up 2 at a time followed by potatoes/chips/salad separately which meant our steaks were going cold. I really enjoyed my food but my son didn't like his peppercorn sauce and as it had been poured over his steak he had no choice. Such a shame as its lovely location. They didn't seem particularly busy and not very attentive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shoecrazycoopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Okay but overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to the Bakehouse based on the numerous reviews here on Tripadvisor as well as the recommendation of our B&B host. I would rate the dinner as okay but nothing extraordinary. We had two starters: thr Japanese style scallops and the duck breast salad. Both were okay but I would have preferred the duck breast medium instead of cooked through. For main courses we had a Sirloin steak and a cod fillet on sweet potatoes (unfortunately the pulled pork we originally wanted was unavailable). The steak was slightly overcooked (which can easily happen if steaks are cut as thin as this one was). The cod filet was fine but a bit bland - the pistachio sauce tasted more like a general herb sauce.
Further notes: our table was sticky as well (I kindly asked the waitress if she could wipe the table again which she did ... but that didn't change the stickiness of the table at all - some thorough cleaning of the tables might be a good idea). Also, we had a table booked one day in advance. When we arrived we were seated at an half open door with a draft and beside the garbage cans outside.
The staff was friendly but seemed a bit hectic although the restaurant was maybe a bit more than half full.
All in all it was quite a letdown based on our expactations ... and a pricey one at that. Not recommended - especially for this price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cuddle_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakehouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to The Bakehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing