We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable.”

The Bakehouse Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 180 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Set on two floors and in an idyllic palm tree and twinkly light filled courtyard, the Bakehouse has been a part of the local community for the past 15 years. New owners Kim Letchford and Gary Francis took over on the 14th February 2017. Kim started working here over 8 years ago, when she did her work experience for school. She went on to study catering at the local college for 3 years and worked at the Bakehouse for most of that time as a chef, taking time out to work abroad. Gary for the past 6 years has been the sous chef at The very well known gastro pub The Victoria Inn, in Perranuthnoe. They are both very enthusiastic and innovative creating new and exciting dishes for their guests. They look forward to welcoming you to their restaurant to enjoy good food in a friendly modern restaurant.
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

While we enjoyed our evening and the food was very good, we felt that the menu was a little limited. We had passed the restaurant earlier in the day and checked the menu, only to find it had been changed by the evning when we arrived.
The staff were very helpful and the atmosphere very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    128
    40
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best steak ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Wonderful meal from start to finish. Steak was the best I've ever tasted! Service just right. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank highlanderShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merchedcymru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

went in for the 2 courses for £13 deal. the food wasnt bad but the menu for this deal was very limited, mussels(on their own) chicken, tomato, olive, rosmary, lemon and caper pasta(advertised on the menu as creamy mushroom chicken!), or beetroot ristotto!! interesting combinations and im not sure the pasta sauce worked as there were too many strong flavours in there.
staff were friendly though and you cant complain for the price.
Dont bother with a side salad though as it was simply mixed leaves in a small bowl for £3!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merchedcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very good value set menu until 7pm. Food was great, service excellent, restaurant, tucked away off Chapel Street, very comfortable and attractive

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephogrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Make sure you book a table!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a very enjoyable evening, in pleasnt surroundings, at this restaurant with friends. The food was good and the service both friendly and efficient. An amazing number of people had to be turned away so make sure you reserve a table, certainly on weekends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winston47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakehouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Bakehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing