We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Torwood House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lauramaria82
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly Owners”
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed here before taking the morning ferry across to the Scilly islands and the owners of the hotel were very happy for us to leave our car on the road outside the hotel until we returned 2 days later.

The stay was excellent value for money. Rooms were large and clean, ours had a double and a single bed in it, which I must say were very comfy. Location wise the hotel isn't in Penzance itself, but a short walk takes you on to the promanade where you can make your way into Penzance (probably about 20 minutes walking on the flat).

Breakfast was included in the price which was a full English and very nice. The best thing about this hotel was the friendliness of the owners. It would be a very average hotel without them, but the service with a smile that they had to offer made the trip enjoyable.

One tip is to remember to bring your own toiletries, as whilst there were samples they weren't really adequate, just sachets of shampoo. This certainly wasn't enough to ruin what was otherwise a very plesant stay though.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauramaria82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
66
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed here by chance just before Christmas, went back for the bank holiday weekend and found it just as good. Lynda and Steve helped us to plan our days out and suggest where to eat in town, on our next stay we are going to try the food at the Torwood because we were told by fellow guests its a must.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brambles20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2009

This was a wonderful experience. Linda and Steve, proprietors, were friendly and extremely welcoming, knowledgeable about the area and provided excellent service. The rooms were bright, clean and comfortable. The food was great! Parking was always available. The facility is within walking distance of everything in Penzance especially the promenade along the harbor front. As a first time traveler to the Continent, I gained confidence by being in this supportive, family friendly environment. Thank you, Linda and Steve. Marilyn Morgan

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagleSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2008

What a great place to stay Lovely rooms superb breakfast with homemade bread and a great alternative selection to English Breakfast as well. If Lynda the owner is a representation of the people of Penzance then I would definately recommend this area 100%. Nothing was too much trouble and she always had a smile on her face.

  • Liked — How friendly everyone was and how well kept it was especially the front of the house
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank polly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2007

Spacious and tastefully decorated room with 4-posted bed and chaise longue, very friendly service, good location. TV with digital channels and DVD player, wireless internet (we had excellent reception, since the hub was just outside our room, No 8). Disadvantage of our room was its location between kitchen and breakfast room close to the front door, so unless you have a deep sleep there is no need to set the alarm clock to get up in time for breakfast. Shower was somewhat temperamental and matress a little tired.
Fruit basket on arrival, hair dryer and choice of DVDs for free viewing were very nice touches. We'd come again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nemo700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#8 of 82 in Penzance
556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 82 in Penzance
333 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#7 of 82 in Penzance
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torwood House Hotel

Property: Torwood House Hotel
Address: Torwood Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Torwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torwood is a small family run bed and breakfast situated in a tree lined avenue a short walk from Penzance promenade and the town centre. All rooms en suite with hot beverage facilities. Free fibre optic wi fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Torwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torwood Hotel Penzance
Torwood House Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing