We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay at Torwood House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Torwood House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very clean and spacious room. Delicious breakfast. This was our last night stop walking from St Ives to Penzance on the south west coastal path. Hosts were fantastic, very friendly and helpful and allowed us to leave our very heavy bag whilst we returned from St Ives later with the car
Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Mum and I stayed for 3 nights. We specifically came to Penzance to make a day trip to the Isles of Scilly. This location was not as close to the ferry as I expected from the map and though I intended to walk we ended up choosing to take a taxi. The walk into town was also rather longer than expected but not so far as to deter us from making the effort.
We got very good service here in a variety of areas. Lynda called to make taxi arrangements for us more than once and our repeated early departures were accomodated by the kitchen so that we left each morning on a full stomach. The food was of good quality and very tasty. The only drawback to our stay was the fold out single bed provided in our room. Mum slept on it one night and I did for the other two. It had a severe sag in the middle which threatened to dump me out more than once. Neither of us found it unusable but it wasn't something I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank April9295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Found this by chance on a late booking website, as wanted convenient overnight stay for an early skybus booking. The added bonus was that they accept dogs. The Guest House is well equipped and extremely clean. The host Linda was very welcoming and extremely helpful giving us suitable eating places in Penzance. She was also more than happy to serve breakfast early to accommodate our early flight.
Would definitely recommend and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I would highly recommend The Torwood House to anyone who is going to Panzance. The owners are quite gregarious and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. The accomodations are very comfortable and the food was delicious. When we left, we had to leave quite early because of a long drive so we missed breakfast. We asked the owners, Steve and Lynda if they could wrap up a couple of rolls for the road. When we left, they had our 'rolls' all wrapped, up waiting for us. We had enough for a breakfast AND lunch! There was fruit, cheese, rolls, juice, and muffins. It was fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

From arriving at Torwood house hotel Linda couldnt do enough for us, very welcoming. The room was clean, warm and had everything you could need. The breakfast was cooked by her husband and was amazing. There was a large group of us and we wouldnt hesitate to stay here again. Thanks so much for a very enojyable say. See you soon. The Freeborns and Stevens

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night, whilst visiting Penzance. The owner was very welcoming, the house was warm, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was lovely! Would stay here again. The bedrooms were clean as were the en suite, though I was hoping for a bath rather than a shower! Hot drink facilities were in the bedrooms and although we had only booked for a double room, there were one double and two singles in the room we stayed in. Overall though it was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

as we were first time travellers two women travelling together with heavy suitcases, the husband of the owner and their son carried our suitcases up and down two flights of stars to our room.
They were very friendly great food ,clean bathroom with dry towells everyday ,good beds we would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend the hotel to future travellers.

Room Tip: higher floors less noise ,ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwenbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
3.6 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beachfield
The Beachfield
#2 of 4 in Penzance
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#56 of 82 in Penzance
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#13 of 82 in Penzance
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torwood House Hotel

Address: Torwood Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $84 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torwood is a small family run bed and breakfast situated in a tree lined avenue a short walk from Penzance promenade and the town centre. All rooms en suite with hot beverage facilities. Free fibre optic wi fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Torwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torwood Hotel Penzance
Torwood House Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing