We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly wonderful guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Torwood House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful guesthouse”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had the pleasure of two stays at Torwood House on my way to & back from the Isles of Scilly. A couple of months ago when I phoned to book, I was struck by the welcoming attitude of Lynda and my arrival confirmed this warm welcome. The guesthouse is cosy, comfortable and spotlessly clean, in a nice quiet road with plenty of parking. They really have thought of everything in the rooms for guests comfort, a generous tea tray, bottled water, hairdryer, cushions to lay back on whilst watching TV, WiFi, very comfortable beds, armchairs, plenty of storage, great shower with hand wash, shampoo, shower gel etc. I also loved that the shower was fitted with a sturdy and useful shelf unit where you can put all your own toiletries, rather than having to precariously balance them on the edge of the bath or shower tray. The breakfast was fantastic, a great array of cereals, orange juice, fresh fruit, cheeses, cold meats, croissants plus an extensive menu of hot breakfast dishes cooked to order and served with toast, proper butter, selection of jams, honey, nutella, marmite and cafetieres of very nice coffee. The guesthouse also welcomes dogs, which is essential for my family as we don't go away without our very well-behaved Golden Retriever! Lynda was also kind enough to allow me to leave my bags at the guesthouse after I had checked out, whilst I explored Penzance for a couple of hours before departing. All in all, I can't recommend Torwood House enough and wished I could have stayed longer. I will definitely stay there next time I'm in Penzance :-)

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs in the property, so if you have any mobility issues, request a lower room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomTamTod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
64
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Whils't I am local to Penzance, I had the privilege of staying for a couple of Nights at The Torwood House Hotel (B&B).
The Hosts, Steve and Lynda, are a delightful couple who make you feel at Home. No wonder that they keep getting repeat bookings. Rooms are super. The place is immaculate.
Breakfast, a pure delight. Choice incredible. As far as I am concerned,, it is the best value B&B in the area. 'Uncle' Rob Harding.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel is really a guest house. It is a converted triple story single fronted old terrace house. It is clean, well maintained and well located. Breakfasts are adequate and the owner/operators are courteous, friendly and helpful.. Stairs were a bit of a nuisance when iit came to luggage, but we managed that ok. There is street parking ionly, but we had no problem there.
Recommended for clean basic accomm. However, if you are looking for a touch of luxury, I would suggest elsewhere. There semed to be quite a selection of such accomm nearby

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albertcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Quiet neighbourhood, nice and clean rooms, decent bathroom, good breakfast, and superb service. The host drove us to the Scillonian in the morning, free of charge. Free wifi in the room. Loved the duvet, I detest the normal English envelope bed linen. Fifteen minutes walk into town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorgeOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We came to Torwood House from the Southgate Hotel in Exeter. There were no Bentley's on the yard but we were immediately given fully working mains adapters to start working, not just a broken one as in the four star Exeter hotel. The building is not new, there's no lift upstairs, the floor squeks a bit, but we have nothing to complain. On the contrary, we felt like home from the start. Lynda and Steve were not afraid to ask if we needed something, and they were very helpful in assisting us enjoy our stay.

The hotel was about 5 £ away from the station by taxi cab, close to Penlee park & Penlee house. The bus to Land's End was a short walk down the street. (On the same side of the street.)

On the other morning, one of the guests was not feeling well, and Lynda was quick to get an ambulance from the nearby station. Such care for guests is very rare. I spend about 90 nights a year at hotel, and Torwood is second to none. Glemmmingebro's gästhärberge near Ystad is about the same level.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seppo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

just arrived home from the Torwood guest house in penzance. The owners(linda and steve) are wonderful hosts ,would recommend to anyone and everyone wanting a relaxing break , everything was home from home ,nothing was too much trouble top marks

Room Tip: excellent size rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed at the Torwood on 21st Jan 2012. Fantastic value for money. Rooms were spacious and very clean, bottled water, tea and coffee all provided. Lynda the host was a mind of information about virtually everything and made our stay that more personal. I would recommend this guest house to everyone. I will be back on a regular basis whilst visiting the penzance area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#7 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#9 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torwood House Hotel

Property: Torwood House Hotel
Address: Torwood Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Torwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torwood is a small family run bed and breakfast situated in a tree lined avenue a short walk from Penzance promenade and the town centre. All rooms en suite with hot beverage facilities. Free fibre optic wi fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Torwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torwood Hotel Penzance
Torwood House Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing