We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super b 'n b!”
other travelers have booked this property
St Michaels Mount nearby
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Michaels Mount nearby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
48 reviews
St Michaels Mount nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Krisi W
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super b 'n b!”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely little studio room and bathroom with cosy roof annexe. Really appreciated the fridge in the hot weather, but the room was always comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. Good breakfast, very friendly and accommodating.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Lovely to meet you glad you enjoyed your stay hope to see you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouringGo...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Cosy Nook”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Old School Room. It was a cosy nook which provided a perfect base to explore Southern Cornwall. It was clean and modern and Kate, our host, was warm, friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katie G
1 review
“School room stay”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Had a lovely break here for our honeymoon the school room was perfect for our needs nice and peaceful and breakfast in the morning was great delivered at our requested time each morning. Would visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay for your honeymoon Katie would love to have you back. Xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicandNin...
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are returning customers to the school house.
The room is clean and quiet.
Last year we had breakfasts, very similar to the ones we received this year - but last year seemed better.
As we had an early start on the first morning (after a 9.1/2 hour drive) , we appreciated that it was too early for a 'fresh' hand delivered breakfast, but surely something could have been left in the small fridge?
An offer of cereal and milk (when we had already been out and purchased our own wasn't really good enough..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2017
Hi Nicola I called round to check everything was ok once you'd arrived and asked if you required any fruit or cereal for the next day as you had such an early start. You seemed quite happy and said no we bought bits with us don't worry. I feel this review now to be quite unfair. Glad you enjoyed the tuff en nuff challenge and Hope to see you again

Kate x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nspurlin
Temple, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy BnB with great Penzance location”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the School Room! Spacious, comfortable, attractive, it is exactly as pictured--very homey. Kate is the perfect host, welcoming and friendly, with great ideas of things to do and see. The School House is in Heamoor, just outside Penzance, and there are lots of things to see and do in the area--St. Michael's Mount, the Lizard peninsula, Penzance itself, Lands End, Mousehole. Every morning, Kate brought us a tasty breakfast in a basket, getting us off to a great start. It was a perfect and relaxing holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your stay please come again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where was my host?”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Nice room, clean and attractive, but we arrived at 3pm and waited in the rain. I eventually phoned the owner who was at a funeral and gave me the code for entry to the apartment. Heard from her later in the day asking if we needed anything and I replied to say we'd be away too early for breakfast but would appreciate some more milk. Nothing materialised and no message of apology or offer of a light packed breakfast, juice, fruit, anything at all. As a hostess myself I would certainly have made more effort to care for my guests.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Hi Mary
Big apologise I do not understand why you were not sent the keycode when you booked. Unfortunately we were attending a funeral that afternoon and were out of signal hence not receiving a request for extra milk (I had left milk in the fridge for your arrival) until late that night.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Brilliant find!”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The School Room was presented beautifully and was a brilliant last minute find! Handy location near to the centre of Penzance and not far from the Minack theatre and Lands End. Kate provided cushions and a blanket for the Minack which were much appreciated! She also accommodated me with a gluten free breakfast which was delivered each morning. Defiantly recommend!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing