We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant find!”
other travelers have booked this property
St Michaels Mount nearby
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Michaels Mount nearby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
48 reviews
St Michaels Mount nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mary B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where was my host?”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Nice room, clean and attractive, but we arrived at 3pm and waited in the rain. I eventually phoned the owner who was at a funeral and gave me the code for entry to the apartment. Heard from her later in the day asking if we needed anything and I replied to say we'd be away too early for breakfast but would appreciate some more milk. Nothing materialised and no message of apology or offer of a light packed breakfast, juice, fruit, anything at all. As a hostess myself I would certainly have made more effort to care for my guests.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Hi Mary
Big apologise I do not understand why you were not sent the keycode when you booked. Unfortunately we were attending a funeral that afternoon and were out of signal hence not receiving a request for extra milk (I had left milk in the fridge for your arrival) until late that night.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Brilliant find!”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The School Room was presented beautifully and was a brilliant last minute find! Handy location near to the centre of Penzance and not far from the Minack theatre and Lands End. Kate provided cushions and a blanket for the Minack which were much appreciated! She also accommodated me with a gluten free breakfast which was delivered each morning. Defiantly recommend!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ian”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The School Room was nicely situated in Heamoor, a chip shop was opposite and the nearest pub was 200mts! The room was an attic conversion into a steeply angled roof - qwirky and fun, the shower room was good. A very nicely presented clean room with a comfy bed, oh, and the hand delivered breakfast was epic.......a very enjoyable experience & yes we'd stay again no problem, Ian & Julie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie H
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The room was delightful, lovely and clean with everything we needed including a lovely breakfast. Can highly recommend this as a place to stay when in Penzance, within walking distance of places to eat and shops.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a one night stay, with 2 adults and a 2 year old, and the School Room was brilliant. It is a lovely hideaway tucked in the attic space of an old school house, which has been decorated to feel light and airy - certainly somewhere you can feel relaxed! We would definitely stay there again, either as an overnight stopover, or for longer.

The accommodation has a main room with a large bed, table and chairs and a tv. There is a separate bathroom, and also a separate 'nook' off the main room, right in the top of the roof - we found this was a great place to put our 2 year old in her tent cot, and she loved it! There are cups/plates/cutlery/etc provided, along with a kettle and tea/coffee. We were also provided with fresh milk in a small fridge - which was also handy for storing our own items. We only stayed for one night, so washing pots wasn't an issue - but I can understand the other comments regarding this for those who had longer stays.

The breakfast provided was fantastic - lots of fresh pastries, fruit, milk, orange juice, and cereal. This was delivered to us at our requested time, in a small hamper.

There is also a dedicated parking space outside, in the courtyard (not just on the road). It was big enough for our campervan with room to spare, so shouldn't be an issue for other cars

Wifi was also provided, which was handy for keeping connected

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blk13Holl...
Novena, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptionally pleasant. Sunny, clean, quiet - lovely hosts.”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Place is exactly like others have reviewed. Very nice indeed. with a tiny annex suitable for a younger child as a fairytale castle or white marquee.

Beautiful timbers, white paint and thick stone walls. Quaint and unique. Wonderfully maintained.

Everything was as excellent as the reviews would predict. The booking through Tripadvisor was not so good. The host was only informed of two adult guests (due to the tripadvisor booking system not allowing 2 adults +1 child). When I emailed the host the confirmation of 2 adults +1 child there was a rather expensive surcharge of UK forty pounds for the two nights for the 4-year old child.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
88puffin
Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Good quality.”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Works for a traveller with a car. There is a reserved parking space.
Spacious for one or two persons. Can sleep three.
Lots of light. Friendly owners, live close by.
In a residential area of Penzance, but transportation to main attractions is easy with car.
That worked.

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing