We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bright, clean, lovely place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
St Michaels Mount nearby
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Michaels Mount nearby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
48 reviews
St Michaels Mount nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MarkFromE...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bright, clean, lovely place to stay”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The School Room is a lovely bright, clean and stylish place to stay located in Heamoor, on the outskirts of Penzance. It's one huge open room as bedroom and eating area. Bright, light and airy.
Very close by is a convenience store and a Fish & Chip shop (open Wednesday-Saturday). Just up the road is a baker, another convenience store and a pub (Sportsmans Arms).
Town centre is an easy 20 minute walk, or if you prefer, take the 10 or 10A bus or a taxi.
Continental breakfast is provided fresh, with hot pastries, in a basket each morning by Kate, our friendly landlady.
We looked at several tired, run-down town-centre hotels and decided this was MUCH nicer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: large bright space
Liked least: 20 minute walk into town
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenrefai...
Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the School Room. The room was spacious and private with a delicious breakfast delivered in a basket to our door every morning. We hope to visit again some time in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The privacy.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicandNin...
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful in beautiful village”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My daughter and I were looking for a base for a long weekend stay in the Penzance area - what a lovely find!!
Simple, but comfortable and very clean accommodation, with delicious breakfasts hand delivered every morning at requested time - we had some early starts due to busy planned weekend.
We are planning to return to this area same time next year and are highly likely to re-book this accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, very clean and very pretty!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2016
Lovely to meet you and hope you return glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLFlower
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at The School Room. The bedroom is large, bright and airy with character, everything was clean and the ensuite shower was good! Kate was friendly and we enjoyed our continental breakfast in the mornings. It's a perfect base for visiting St Michael's Mount and Minack Theatre which are a short drive away.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H
2 reviews
“Beautiful stay in Penzance”
Reviewed April 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The School Room is the best choice for accommodation in Penzance; nestled just outside of the city centre, friendly hosts, private lodging, quaint surroundings. I had an amazing stay, and am hoping to come back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamepa...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a B&B with the privacy of self catering! Kate and Roy have the perfect little hideaway.

Located close enough to all the local sites and attractions, you can make this an excellent and comfortable base for your visit.

If you need guidance, knowledge is on hand to help fulfil a broad spectrum of interests. If you think storing two kayaks overnight was difficult! It was made very easy and will ensure we return for another trip into Mounts bay.

A great weekend made special by the accommodation and hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H
Everett, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cozy Spot, Nice Touches”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a cozy one-night stay at The Old School House and it is a comfy little space tucked into the attic of a nice stone building just outside of Penzance in the village of Heamoor. The space was clearly decorated with intent and provides a beachside resort feel filled with light. There are additional little touches like the school bell, the guides and maps for the surrounding area, and the blanket and cushions for use at the Minack (an outdoor theatre about 30 minutes drive away). Wifi was provided and was quite speedy. The bed was certainly comfortable.

To address a few comments I noticed from prior reviewers - there are bathroom amenities provided now and there is a second rubbish bin near to the table for taking breakfast. There still isn't a good way to do any washing up of dishes but the dishes were certainly clean when we arrived (with the exception of the teapot which had teabags in it from the last guest).

We didn't get much chance to interact with the host between our arrival and departure - we spent much time out exploring Penzance. A gentleman did drop by in the morning with a breakfast of juice, berries, pastries and muesli; outside of that we kept mainly to ourselves.

A note to taller guests (like myself at just under 2 meters), the space is tucked into an attic - there is plenty of space towards the center, but watch your head near the edges and in the bathroom - you will have ample opportunity to bump your noggin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cozy nature of the space
Liked least: No way to wash dishes
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing