We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pendennis Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pendennis Guest House
Ranked #10 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We received a warm welcome from our landlady Hazel on our arrival.The landlady was very honest and explained to us that the room we had booked was'nt available due to a problem with the toilet. The room on offer was on the ground floor (so no stairs to climb after a days walking) it was large clean and comfortable.The hospitallity tray was well stocked.The bed was comfortable,the bedding was really fresh.The bathroom was large and very clean.The breakfast was served in the dining room in the basement in a nice large well decorated,airy room. The breakfast was nicely cooked and the portions were large and filling.
There is ample free parking outside the guest house The quest house is a 5 minute walk from the coast path and the sea front.There is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the town centre via Penlee park. We had a lovely weekend thank you Hazel and Russell

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
132
26
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our 2 night stay with Russell and Hazel was one of the best we have experienced in our nearly 30 years of B & B ing..Our room was beautiful and catered for all our requirements which included lots of extras..
The choice of breakfast was outstanding and was beautifully cooked by Russell..
We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts and nothing was too much trouble which is a rare thing these days...
We highly recommend The Pendennis..you will not be disappointed
.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trow167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here before and can't fault it. The house is spotlessly clean, the rooms large and airy and the beds very comfortable. There is always flowers in the room and toiletries in the bathroom and the tea and coffee is always kept topped up. Russell and Hazel are most gracious hosts with Russell cooking and Hazel serving the breakfasts which are excellent with a good choice. They are very friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. Rooms at the front have the morning Sun and a nice view of the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The owner is very kind and welcoming.
Her home is nice, cozy and well kept.
The room was very clean. Maybe the bed was a bit small, but it does not matter.
The building is located a few minutes walk from Penzance beautiful waterfront and very easy to reach from the main roads. Free parking on the road is easy to find (at least in april...).
Breakfast food and room are very good.
Would recommend it, and would come back again!!! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olgulishius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

First of all... I would like to say a special thank you to Russell and Hazel who made our weekend stay in Penzance most enjoyable. They're a really lovely couple and I would highly recommend staying at The Pendennis if you're visiting the area. They're super efficient and conscientious whilst making you feel relaxed and cared for! Couldn't have asked for more.

I booked tickets to see KT Tunstall at the Minack Theatre for Friday 17th May 2013, and upon searching laterooms.com for reasonably priced B&B's nearby I came across The Pendennis. Very good value for money, and I'm so happy I booked 2 nights here.

We're a young couple in our late 20's, and we stayed in room number 4 on the front of the house.

Upon arrival we managed to get a parking space right outside which was great... we could see that there were plenty of areas to park further down the road and we didn't have any problems with parking whatsoever throughout our stay.

The lovely Hazel greeted us and another young couple who arrived at the same time and she showed us to our rooms. Wow... I loved our room! It had plenty of space with a lovely big double bed. This is always a test for us as my partner is 6"3 and he always complains about the length of beds... but this was the best we've slept in and it was super comfy.

Beautiful colour scheme in the room with a sofa, dressing table, TV, large mirror, small table with 2 chairs and fantastic large bay windows. We were blessed with fantastic sunshine the whole time, but this room would look beautiful whatever the weather outside. En suite bathroom looked brand new, everything was super clean and the shower was great. It does make a whistling noise when in use but this didn't bother us at all as we appreciate a good power shower in a B&B, especially in such a lovely large house like The Pendennis.

Provided with clean towels and fresh bed linen which felt like new. I really don't like stopping in B&B's where you can imagine other people using everything, but this room was spotless and it felt like our own.

Filled out our order forms for cooked breakfasts for the following morning which I find very efficient as it shows the owners care about the service they offer and also don't want to waste food. We had a full English both mornings and Russell did a fab job... excellent breakfasts served on time and just how we like them too! I don't drink tea or coffee which always seems to cause problems like you wouldn't believe, but I was happy to see that they provide water in the rooms as well as juices for breakfast. Cereals and fresh fruits are also available which you very rarely come across in a B&B, along with freshly made bread. Super duper!

They have all bases covered here and we certainly didn't have any complaints. Hazel made us feel right at home... they're both lovely friendly people and we enjoyed a good natter after breakfast with them. Hazel recommended a great pub (Admiral Benbow) and restaurant (Tolcarne) nearby which were perfect for us!

This B&B is by far the best I have stayed in and I would not hesitate booking here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairycakes83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

A really friendly guest house. It is absolutely immaculate. Russel and Hazel are helpful and considerate of their guests. I would recommend to anyone seeking a relaxing stay and who like nice people and good conversation over breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I booked my room at The Pendennis via email and got a friendly confirmation and response. On arrival there was a warm welcome and I was quickly shown to my room. The guest house is maintained to a high standard and run expertly and efficiently. The room are bright and well laid out with everything that would expect.
Located close to the sea front and a short walk from the town center with plenty of free, on-street parking outside. Rooms have adequate tea and coffee facilities, and have free wi-fi fo those whop need it.
The Pendennis is one of the best run guest houses I have ever stayed in and I can highly recommend ti.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silchester_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Dunedin Guest House
The Dunedin Guest House
#18 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#4 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendennis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendennis Guest House

Property: The Pendennis Guest House
Address: Pendennis Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Pendennis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pendennis Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing