We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first rate accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pendennis Guest House
Ranked #9 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
1 review
“first rate accommodation!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a welcome, we arrived early, so made a call to Hazel asking if we could leave our bags in the Guest house. Not only was this no problem but on our later arrival our baggage had already been taken to our room. On entering our room the first thing that hit us was the light, bright & freshness of room 8. We could not fault our accommodation, very clean. The finishing touches like chocolates & biscuits, went down a treat! Also the lovely hand soap liquid & moisturizer both extremely nice. We both had a very comfortable nights sleep. The next morning the breakfast matched the quality of our room too. Plenty of choices, the muesli with lots of different fresh fruits, nuts,& seeds. Fresh juice, filtered pot of decaffeinated coffee. Our cooked breakfast every thing we had ordered, ALL cooked to perfection. Lovely choice of bread to toast with the offering of many different preserves some of which were home made. We will recommend this guest house to all our friends & the next time we go to Penzance.....will be booking into the Pendennis

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loisc320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
134
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great place, great service at a great price. Located perfectly for access from journey and for everything else during stay. Parking outside was Easy. The breakfast choices were lovely with all fresh products. Perfect which now means will be visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth_Morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived at the Pendennis guest house after a long journey from Cheshire, we were greeted by one of the owners Hazel, she was very welcoming from the very first moment, we had a lovely room at the front of the guest house which was absolutely fantastic... modern onsuite clean tidy, warm and homely .. this is a first rate guest house and i would advise anyone looking for accommodation in the Penzance area to try it, excellent food, excellent service and the owners are full of local knowledge for those requiring aaditional information.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front and it was first rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxblue16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Out of my B&B and even hotel experiences, this particular B&B deserves a special mention indeed. Where to start... One of my friends had booked this B&B for myself and our other friends for a few nights and I was wondering what this could be like. Well, I soon found out with a heart warming welcome from the host and everything was well explained from rooms and breakfasts to useful information on local amenities and were treated like royalty. The rooms are wonderfully decorated with elegant charm. As well as the tea and coffee and biscuits option in the rooms, you also received a bottle of water each morning in the old days of metal rings with rubber stopper on top type which really enhances the uniqueness of this B&B. Also, the hallways are taken with great care to look top notch as well as the breakfast room, which again was very prestigious. The breakfast was absolutely dreamland beautiful, the best ever as it is well managed and certainly makes the Michelin chefs look daft in comparison to the Pendennis' breakfast! The time slot option for breakfast was perfect and also I like the idea of selecting what you would like for breakfast the night before perfect as this really helps to better manage breakfast before a long day ahead or long early morning works like my friends & I were. Also, the shower system is brilliant and felt refreshed after using it. The Car parking although on street which cannot be helped, but plentiful even for large cars. The friendlines of the hosts is something very special as it felt more like knowing them for years rather than just seeing them for stay and that's it. The Hosts Russel & Hazel are certainly worth the best B&B in the UK award for their service that goes beyond the top notch rating and in my view, this beats the 5 Star Sofitel Group Hands down! This is certainly going to be my permanent base for any future work I may have down here. Highly recommended and extremely good value aswell! Best ever B&B in my opinion.

Room Tip: For those who book a single room, the two single rooms share a shower room together. One room is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I booked 4 rooms for a group of friends. Booking procedure was easy. Great communication - I was called before my arrival to re-confirm arrival times. Our room (twin) was very tastefully decorated, spacious and clean. Lovely supply of small extras like bath stuff, sweets and water in addition to the usual coffee/tea and biscuit selection. Very well organised and generous breakfast and even a "breakfast on the go" in front of our door on departure day as we had to leave before breakfast! Also a generous breakfast time slot, some B&B's ask you to be there at a particular time, but not here. The friendliness of our hosts was extraordinary and made such a difference. Russell and Hazel went the extra mile to please their customers and we shall definitely book again if we are in the vicinity! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhanpton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have recently spent a weekend at the pendennis in penzance and was overwhelmed by the service and care of the owners Mr and Mrs Curtis.

We booked at very short notice to surprise a family member for his birthday , they we so helpful and made it easy for us to book this break as a surprise birthday gift.

Our room was beautiful , with plenty coffee , tea , fresh milk , biscuits and chocolates. It was warm and cosy with a lovely ensuite.

The location is good , we only had a short stroll to plenty of restaurants and bars , and a bracing walk along the seafront.

Breakfast was excellent with so much choice , and the cooked breafast was piping hot , good local produce and served perfectly.

We were impressed last time we stayed here , and again this time we could not fault it.

Well done and making this a special stay for us all

Room Tip: All the rooms are beatifully decorated , quieter room at back , but lovely to look out of front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValdaWolverhanpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have just spent a weekend The Pendennis in Penzance. It was spotlessly clean , in a perfect spot for all amentities, a short stroll to the seafront and town.

Our bedroom was warm and comfortable giving us a restful stay and breakfast was superb , with homemade bread and jam , fresh fruit and of course their lovely cooked breakfast.

Thank you to the owners for making our stay perfect.

Room Tip: Room 4 was a lovely large room with bay windows to sit and watch whilst sipping wine and reading
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Dunedin Guest House
The Dunedin Guest House
#17 of 87 in Penzance
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 87 in Penzance
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 87 in Penzance
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendennis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendennis Guest House

Property: The Pendennis Guest House
Address: Pendennis Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Pendennis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pendennis Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing