We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chiverton Guest House B&B
Ranked #23 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. George, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very happy there!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed with a large group on a tour. What a fun experience! Alan and Sally are naturals at this business. I loved going down to breakfast-yummy! They gave us great tips on where to go etc. We even ran into them at the local pub. Penzance is awesome-and so is Chiverton House.
Hope to go there again in the future.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5. Small but excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    25
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
71
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
279 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

On our arrival at Chiverton recently we received a very warm welcome from Alan and Sally, the proprietors. Chiverton House has a very homely feel to it and the ambiance was very good. Our room was warm and comfortable with a bed to match! The entire B&B is spotless. Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice of cereals etc and cooked items if required.

Alan was very knowledgeable about the area, and also made very good recommendations for local dining in the evening.The B&B is a 10 minute walk away from the shops of Penzance and the bus station and less than 5 minutes to the sea front. It is ideally situated as a base for exploring the Land's End area.

I could go on, but all in all, Alan and Sally were excellent hosts and I would wholeheartedly recommend Chiverton to anyone requiring a base in Western Cornwall.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Alan and his wife were great hosts! Alan was very helpful recommending trips and restaurants around the area. The bedrooms were very comfortable and quiet. The owners keep up the place very well, all of the facilities look new. We also really enjoyed the breakfast hour, as we were able to interact with the other guests, something we are not normally accustomed to. I would absolutely stay again if given the chance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here for one might as part of our walking holiday and wasn't disappointed,we were met with a warm welcome from rob,rooms were nice clean and comfortable and we all slept really well,the b&b is on a main road but we never heard any traffic.
Overall I would recommend staying there.
Ps breakfast is brill !!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Living in the next county offers the opportunity to visit Cornwall easily, and with the prospect of sun it was an easy choice. We were visiting with our granddaughter for the first time, and always look at booking at Chiverton as our first choice. Luckily a family room was available and we we delighted to be met by Alan, who warmly welcomed us and soon had us settled. Chiverton House is always clean, airy, well furnished and the food excellent. We would recommend a visit here to anyone choosing Penzance as a base.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here in June 2012 with my boyfriend to celebrate my birthday and our first holiday together.

The owners were very very friendly and breakfast was delicious! The rooms were immaculatly clean and were attractively decorated.

Unfortunately we were located on the ground floor which was next to the dining room and the main corridor leading in and out of the BnB. From 8am everyday the noise was at a very high level. We could hear every word and footstep of every single guest.

I would recommend this BnB but just make sure if you're not an early riser to avoid room 1 at all costs!

Room Tip: Avoid room number 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karolkawie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Lovely warm b&b. The rooms and bathrooms are well lovely clean and comfortable. Everything you can ask for. The owner Alan has a wonderful knowledge of the local area and gave us some great tips for site seeing. Breakfast is cooked to your liking - which is great! Non of this greasy, huge plate of food, you place your "order" the previous evening and its served with a smile. Will definitely recommend Chiverton to anyone and will most definitely stay here again when in Penzance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nique10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#9 of 87 in Penzance
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lynwood Guest House
The Lynwood Guest House
#44 of 87 in Penzance
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Afton
Glen Afton
#24 of 87 in Penzance
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#32 of 87 in Penzance
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Con Amore
Con Amore
#16 of 87 in Penzance
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#11 of 87 in Penzance
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiverton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiverton Guest House B&B

Property: Chiverton Guest House B&B
Address: 9 Mennaye Road, Penzance TR18 4NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chiverton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiverton Guest House Hotel Penzance
Chiverton Guest House Bed And Breakfast
Chiverton Guest House B&B Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing