We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent....again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chiverton Guest House B&B
Ranked #23 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent....again”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Living in the next county offers the opportunity to visit Cornwall easily, and with the prospect of sun it was an easy choice. We were visiting with our granddaughter for the first time, and always look at booking at Chiverton as our first choice. Luckily a family room was available and we we delighted to be met by Alan, who warmly welcomed us and soon had us settled. Chiverton House is always clean, airy, well furnished and the food excellent. We would recommend a visit here to anyone choosing Penzance as a base.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    25
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
71
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here in June 2012 with my boyfriend to celebrate my birthday and our first holiday together.

The owners were very very friendly and breakfast was delicious! The rooms were immaculatly clean and were attractively decorated.

Unfortunately we were located on the ground floor which was next to the dining room and the main corridor leading in and out of the BnB. From 8am everyday the noise was at a very high level. We could hear every word and footstep of every single guest.

I would recommend this BnB but just make sure if you're not an early riser to avoid room 1 at all costs!

Room Tip: Avoid room number 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karolkawie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Lovely warm b&b. The rooms and bathrooms are well lovely clean and comfortable. Everything you can ask for. The owner Alan has a wonderful knowledge of the local area and gave us some great tips for site seeing. Breakfast is cooked to your liking - which is great! Non of this greasy, huge plate of food, you place your "order" the previous evening and its served with a smile. Will definitely recommend Chiverton to anyone and will most definitely stay here again when in Penzance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nique10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Chiverton House for two nights and we had a great time!
The hosts, Sally and Alan, went out of their way to help us!
The room and the bathroom got a very nice and modern interior. Everything was totally clean.
Besides that, the breakfast with fresh fruits and nice cooked options was outstanding!
Of course, we would recommend a stay at Chiverton House, probably the best B&B during our trip through England.

Dear Sally and Alan, thank you for this lovely stay.

Best regards from Germany
Daniel & Mareike

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mareike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We'd booked a Friday and Saturday night at this B&B but plans changed 2 days before departure and we needed to alter our booking to Saturday and Sunday night. Alan was really helpful and we had a different room for the 2nd night but it didn't matter! Lovely fresh decor and sparkling clean bathrooms. Breakfast was just right and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186284Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lovely clean well-appointed B&B with really good breakfast. Hosts Alan and Sally tremendously helpful and welcoming to all their visitors. As others have said, the rooms are on the small side and the bathrooms quite snug, but that's because it's a house not a hotel. Location is good for exploring the Penwith peninsula - just round the corner is the bus stop for the 300 service which is an open-top bus tour of the coast. The town centre is about 15 minutes stroll and the seafront is 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cactusmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

What an excellent B&B, Paul was a welcome host and very knowledgeable about the local area. Lots of choice for breakfast, the room/shower room was modern,clean and furnished to a high standard, Wifi available and easy to access(we stayed on the 1st floor).
Some excellent places for evening meals nearby- "The Navy Inn" in Queen Street, "The Boat Shed"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasher14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#9 of 87 in Penzance
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lynwood Guest House
The Lynwood Guest House
#44 of 87 in Penzance
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Afton
Glen Afton
#24 of 87 in Penzance
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#32 of 87 in Penzance
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Con Amore
Con Amore
#16 of 87 in Penzance
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#11 of 87 in Penzance
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiverton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiverton Guest House B&B

Property: Chiverton Guest House B&B
Address: 9 Mennaye Road, Penzance TR18 4NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chiverton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiverton Guest House Hotel Penzance
Chiverton Guest House Bed And Breakfast
Chiverton Guest House B&B Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing