We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stay!”

Halcyon Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halcyon Guest House
Ranked #49 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We'd never been to Cornwall before and we certainly chose the right place to stay! 5 min walk from town, 5 min driver to St Michaels Mount, private parking, easy access to the best beaches around....absolutely amazing. Bob and Pat are perfect hosts, the moment you meet them they greet you like old friends, the rooms are lovely, clean and quiet, breakfast is fantastic and we completely relaxed the moment we arrived. I can't write enough about how good are stay was with them, they take the time out to get to know you so that you have breakfast and then sit chatting like you've known them all your life, are rare quality in my experience of travel, people who care about you and not the money that you are spending. Do yourself a favour and visit not only Penzance and surrounding areas, but Bob and Pat too, a trip without seeing them just wouldn't be the same!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cos69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Just got back from a wonderful holiday. Ideally situated 5 minute walk to the town and restaurants and 5 minutes to the beach. What a beautiful place. Bob is a real character and Patricia is a lovely. We had a fabulous room with an amazing view towards St. Michael's Mount. Brilliant breakfast, lovely weather and the best holiday we've had in years.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We only spent 2 nights in there but loved it :) warm and welcoming hosts, clean and comfy room with a lovely view. Close to the beach. We will surely come back to stay longer but next time with our new baby :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lubociuchomina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We booked here at the last minute after reading previous reviews on Trip Advisor and were lucky to get a room and so glad that we did. From the moment that you walk through the door nothing is too much trouble for Pat and Bob.
The house has a great, relaxed atmosphere and is spotlessly clean. The family room that we were in had a lovely view of St Michaels Mount and was large and comfortable. There was alot of choice at breakfast every morning and it was always served to you with a smile (and a bright shirt !)
Another great advantage of the Halcyon is its position - It is ideal if you are travelling by either car or train. Every day we travelled the 8 miles into St Ives and were on the beach just 30 minutes after leaving and in the evening when we came back we knew that there would be a private parking space right outside the front door - another advantage of staying here.
Each evening we walked the short distance into Penzance and enjoyed some great food at The Waterside Meadery, The Lugger and The Dolphin.
So if you are looking for somewhere to stay in the West Cornwall area give Pat and Bob a ring - you will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForeverGreen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by Pat and Bob. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated, very clean and tidy and we had a wonderful view of St Michael's Mount from our bedroom window. There was such a wide choice for breakfast and the food was excellent. The location is ideal with plenty of off road parking. Pat and Bob are so friendly and helpful, and certainly thought of everything to make our stay very enjoyable, and I would certainly recommend the Halcyon Guest House to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bovisand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We used Halcyon for a central location and it was excellent. We went to the Minack outdoor theatre and before we left Pat and Bob gave us a blanket, back pack for our picnic, told us where to go to get the food and for another trip an umbrella. They also insisted we take a walking stick of theirs to help with a bad knee. We received excellent advice as well as hand drawn maps with the best way to avoid the traffic or see the best of the country. If we return to Penzance we will build the trip around avaiability of the Halcyon. Ask Bob about his trip to Nasville!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wftraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2009

we were very surprised about Pat & Bob, so wonderfull warm People, they bring a very good and friendly atmosphere in this lovely old house. The room are comfortable and cleaned up perfektly every day. We enjoyed staying there for 1 week and we liked it very much. If there would be 100 points to give i'll give 100.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Royal
Mount Royal
#37 of 81 in Penzance
59 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 81 in Penzance
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#61 of 81 in Penzance
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penrose Guest House
Penrose Guest House
#32 of 81 in Penzance
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#45 of 81 in Penzance
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Guest House

Property: Halcyon Guest House
Address: 6 Chyandour Square, Penzance TR18 3LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon is a small friendly Bed and Breakfast. Room Tariff from £75 per night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Halcyon Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing