We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel ever”
Review of Estoril Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estoril Hotel
Ranked #44 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst hotel ever”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you like a morose host, who could not care less about his guests or you prefer a grubby room in a weird anglo/thai design and a soviet style breakfast of cold hard boiled eggs, processed ham and cheese and happy shopper juice then this the place for you.

Room Tip: My best tip is, if you have just checked in get out while there is still time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    54
    33
    16
    21
See reviews for
32
88
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Overall I would say our stay in the Estoril was good, the continental breakfast was lovely, although it would have been nice to have been offered a cooked breakfast as an option.

The bed was comfortable although we had a winter duvet which was too hot in summer on a very humid weekend.

Its on a fairly busy road and the walls were quite thin- we heard the couple upstairs talking till about 1am when trying to sleep.

The owners were friendly and the room was cleaned to a good standard everyday although I would say the bathroom and toilet & general decor could have been better.

Overall whilst it was good and certainly better than many b&b's I have stayed in, in terms of cost and value for money I was disappointed that it wasn't a higher standard considering that we paid £99 a night and that was discounted from £120 for the luxury room! That is by far the most expensive place we've stayed in, yet we've stayed in much better places for less, like £80 a night. I would say the standard of this place in comparison was more like a £70 a night room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Gorgeous fluffy towels which were actually big and useable!
Room clean but tiny and very dreary.
Bathroom clean but shower very poor.
Bed (small double) very uncomfortable.
Breakfast did not include the usual 'full english' option but consisted of cold ham, cold sliced boiled eggs, cold sliced tomatoes and the option of cereals, warm croissant or toast tea & coffee on a help yourself basis - quite disappointing.
The owners were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HazeyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penzance hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at Estoril last year shortly after the new owners took over the place. The continued improvements since last year were very plain to see and it's even more lovely! We really love the location and the type of property, all the things to do and see in the area. The hosts were very welcoming and good local knowledge of places to do and advice etc. The breakfast offering has changed since last year and we found the new format to be fine, fresh and well presented as was our room. We had a great time again this year and are certain to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemcghie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I felt that my stay at The Estoril was a wonderful experience to say the least.
Eddie and Nong were both warm and welcoming and two lovely people,the Guesthouse itself was beautiful and had a relaxed feel to the place and very well mantained with stunning decor.
My room was great and very cosy and comfortable.
Breakfast was most enjoyable too.
I would not hesitate in recommending the Estoril to others as its was such a wonderful place to stay with a great location too.
I do hope that I can go back there sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

What can I say. Nothing in the discription matches the National Service Depot accomodation standards of these premises. Upon arrival I was greeted by the staff busily praying on a prayer mat in the middle of the lounge. I rang the bell several times before attention was forthcoming Pressing onto the bedroom I thought Id found the wardrobe - that was the en-suite shower.

Next morning I proceeded down for breakfast. Bread rolls and fruit and ham were available. 'Extensive breakfast selection' I protested - thats what it says on their website. Next night I spotted in the guide that I should advise the night before if a hot breakfast is required. I did so and was told 'we dont do that any more'

The shower was late victorian circa 1898 and was luke warm.

Guests are strongly advised to stay somewhere else and check accomodation carefully before travelling.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else (anywhere) platform 2 at Penzance station offers better accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank M880ATC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We booked through Laterooms and stayed for 1 night. Bearing in mind this was Penzance (which appears to be a relatively expensive place to stay) and the August Bank Holiday Monday evening, we weren't anticipating anything of great value in the area anyway.

The hotel is a pleasant period place, easy to find, well situated, with parking (not many spaces but we managed to find one when returning late at night from the Minack Theatre, which is a superb experience by the way), with a friendly welcome, decent cooked breakfast.

Our room was on the very top floor, up a number of quite steep steps so maybe wouldn't suit all but didn't bother us. It was a 'superior' room although a very dated suite, including small shower, in a small bathroom, was the main drawback for us. Advertising it as 'Sea view' was stretching it a bit we thought although you could see it in the distance over the roofs.

Overall, it was the most we paid for a room in Cornwall over the 4-night weekend, and it was probably the least memorable but it 'did the job' for us and will probably do so for you too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank growlershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#31 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lynwood Guest House
The Lynwood Guest House
#40 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#71 of 81 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morrab Place Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#11 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estoril Hotel

Property: Estoril Hotel
Address: 46 Morrab Road, Penzance TR18 4EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Estoril Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estoril Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing