We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”
Review of Estoril Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estoril Hotel
Ranked #39 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Overall I would say our stay in the Estoril was good, the continental breakfast was lovely, although it would have been nice to have been offered a cooked breakfast as an option.

The bed was comfortable although we had a winter duvet which was too hot in summer on a very humid weekend.

Its on a fairly busy road and the walls were quite thin- we heard the couple upstairs talking till about 1am when trying to sleep.

The owners were friendly and the room was cleaned to a good standard everyday although I would say the bathroom and toilet & general decor could have been better.

Overall whilst it was good and certainly better than many b&b's I have stayed in, in terms of cost and value for money I was disappointed that it wasn't a higher standard considering that we paid £99 a night and that was discounted from £120 for the luxury room! That is by far the most expensive place we've stayed in, yet we've stayed in much better places for less, like £80 a night. I would say the standard of this place in comparison was more like a £70 a night room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 188 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Gorgeous fluffy towels which were actually big and useable!
Room clean but tiny and very dreary.
Bathroom clean but shower very poor.
Bed (small double) very uncomfortable.
Breakfast did not include the usual 'full english' option but consisted of cold ham, cold sliced boiled eggs, cold sliced tomatoes and the option of cereals, warm croissant or toast tea & coffee on a help yourself basis - quite disappointing.
The owners were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HazeyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at Estoril last year shortly after the new owners took over the place. The continued improvements since last year were very plain to see and it's even more lovely! We really love the location and the type of property, all the things to do and see in the area. The hosts were very welcoming and good local knowledge of places to do and advice etc. The breakfast offering has changed since last year and we found the new format to be fine, fresh and well presented as was our room. We had a great time again this year and are certain to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suemcghie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I felt that my stay at The Estoril was a wonderful experience to say the least.
Eddie and Nong were both warm and welcoming and two lovely people,the Guesthouse itself was beautiful and had a relaxed feel to the place and very well mantained with stunning decor.
My room was great and very cosy and comfortable.
Breakfast was most enjoyable too.
I would not hesitate in recommending the Estoril to others as its was such a wonderful place to stay with a great location too.
I do hope that I can go back there sometime soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

What can I say. Nothing in the discription matches the National Service Depot accomodation standards of these premises. Upon arrival I was greeted by the staff busily praying on a prayer mat in the middle of the lounge. I rang the bell several times before attention was forthcoming Pressing onto the bedroom I thought Id found the wardrobe - that was the en-suite shower.

Next morning I proceeded down for breakfast. Bread rolls and fruit and ham were available. 'Extensive breakfast selection' I protested - thats what it says on their website. Next night I spotted in the guide that I should advise the night before if a hot breakfast is required. I did so and was told 'we dont do that any more'

The shower was late victorian circa 1898 and was luke warm.

Guests are strongly advised to stay somewhere else and check accomodation carefully before travelling.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else (anywhere) platform 2 at Penzance station offers better accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank M880ATC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We booked through Laterooms and stayed for 1 night. Bearing in mind this was Penzance (which appears to be a relatively expensive place to stay) and the August Bank Holiday Monday evening, we weren't anticipating anything of great value in the area anyway.

The hotel is a pleasant period place, easy to find, well situated, with parking (not many spaces but we managed to find one when returning late at night from the Minack Theatre, which is a superb experience by the way), with a friendly welcome, decent cooked breakfast.

Our room was on the very top floor, up a number of quite steep steps so maybe wouldn't suit all but didn't bother us. It was a 'superior' room although a very dated suite, including small shower, in a small bathroom, was the main drawback for us. Advertising it as 'Sea view' was stretching it a bit we thought although you could see it in the distance over the roofs.

Overall, it was the most we paid for a room in Cornwall over the 4-night weekend, and it was probably the least memorable but it 'did the job' for us and will probably do so for you too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank growlershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed for almost a week (prolonged our stay, because we felt so welcome). Rooms were nice and cosy, prices very reasonable, breakfast according to wishes and very tasteful. We had a wonderful contact to the hosts and they gave us ideas about what to do and where to go.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afiedler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
3.8 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
839 reviews
0 mi away
The Coldstreamer Inn
The Coldstreamer Inn
#1 of 1 in Gulval
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Smugglers
The Smugglers
#1 of 5 in Newlyn
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#58 of 82 in Penzance
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#76 of 82 in Penzance
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estoril Hotel

Address: 46 Morrab Road, Penzance TR18 4EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $113 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estoril Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Estoril Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estoril Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing