We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and tidy b and b, just like a home from home, in a very central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penrose Guest House
Ranked #39 of 83 Penzance B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very clean and tidy b and b, just like a home from home, in a very central location”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed from the 28 until the 30 of July this year. Upon first arrival we was was greeted by Anne,with a very warm and welcoming reception, very professional, thank you Anne!
This was very nice and you could tell from the off set you was going to enjoy our stay here. Mark too greeted ourselves on reception, agiain very professional attitude and a welcoming feel, they both explained breakfast times, lay out etc.
And the breakfast the full English, it's one of the best we have ever tasted, Mark makes a vey nice breakfast, any thing really from an all English to salmon and scrambled eggs etc.
Again,an all very clean acommotion, no issues. Let's face facts all other neg feed backs left, If you want a five star hotel, go and stay in the Hyat, this accomotion that Anne and Mark have they work very hard to keep in this condition, and to serve there customers to a level you will not be disopointed with, thank you Anne, and thank you Mark, 10/10 Jamie, Beth, Alex.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allmodconns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
49
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We arrived on the train and were pleased with the location just five minutes walk from the station and within easy reach of the rest of the town, yet still quiet and peaceful. We received a warm welcome and were shown to our very clean and well appointed room. The next morning we were given a truly excellent freshly cooked breakfast. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bindu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Had a great stay here today. The location is central and easy to find. On arrival I was shown around and given a friendly welcome from the owner. The room was clean bright and airy and had plenty of storage (not that I needed it ) after a long day the tv and wifi was very welcome and so was the very quiet road this was situated on. The front garden provided a nice place to sit and relax. Next morning after a good sleep the bathroom wa excellent, clean modern and powerful shower. Breakfast was good - fresh and tasty. No complaints plenty of toast and cereal and juice and full English was spot on. Would love to stay here again if I ever come back to Penzance. One thing house is as modern as can be for an old grade 2 listed house just don't expect super modern but old charm is what you get here.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in March 2012. Marc and Anne provide excellent service and are very friendly and welcoming. Penrose Guest House is situated very close to the town centre with ample parking on the road outside and easily within walking distance of the shops, tearooms, harbour and restaurants, which is very convenient. Our room was very clean with an excellent en-suite shower room with lovely fluffy white towels also complimentary shower gel and shampoo were provided. The beds were clean and comfortable and we had a lovely view of the front garden from our window. We had ample coffee, tea and biscuits and fresh water provided in our room. Marc cooks an excellent english breakfast and we were spoilt for choice. We hope to return in the not too distant future and would highly recommend Penrose Guest House to anyone visiting Penzance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a fantastic short break in Cornwall. Penrose Guest House was a wonderful base to enjoy our holiday... We stayed for a total of four nights and were impressed with the location (the B&B was close and convenient for road, rail and bus links). The room itself was clean and the bed was comfortable with good en-suite facilities. Marc and Anne were really friendly throughout our stay and always happy to provide advice and tips on places to visit and good places to eat - they also provided a handy location map on arrival. The breakfasts provided were tasty with a number of options available.

Overall a fantastic B&B which I would highly recommend and added to our superb break

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in January 2012 and were delighted with the friendly service, clean and comfortable rooms and great breakfasts. The location was in easy walking distance from Penzance restaurants, shops, harbour and sea front. We would highly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Penzance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

It's our 2nd stay, and felt the Penrose deserved a review. The owners are friendly, rooms fresh, updated and clean, parking outside on the roadside is available, and it's very quiet at night. From tissues by the bed to a separate switch to turn off the bathroom fan, everything seems to have been thought about. It's a little gem.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellyfloptv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.6 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
805 reviews
0.0 mi away
EasyPZ Backpackers
EasyPZ Backpackers
#7 of 19 in Penzance
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#60 of 83 in Penzance
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#7 of 83 in Penzance
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#61 of 83 in Penzance
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Guest House

Property: Penrose Guest House
Address: 8 Penrose Terrace, Penzance TR18 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrose Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marc and Anne would like to welcome you to Penrose Guest House - our small, friendly, 4 Star guest house. We offer high quality bed and breakfast accommodation with en-suite or private facilities. Penrose Guest House is located close to the bus and train stations and only a few minutes walk from the town centre, amenities and harbour. We are close to, but not on, the main road and many guests have commented how quiet our street is. Unrestricted parking is available on the public roads around Penrose, or a pay and display car park is 5 minutes walk away.Penrose Guest House is a Grade II Listed Georgian building approximately two hundred years old, maintaining many of its original features. It is ideally situated for easy access to the town centre with its many shops and restaurants. We are open all the year round and have central heating. Free WIFI internet access is available throughout the premises.In addition we provide a laptop for guests’ use, free of charge, in our dining room , where there is also a free book and DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Penrose Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrose Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing