We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penrose Guest House
Ranked #46 of 84 Penzance B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Great hosts and helpful information about the area. The place was spotless and the breakfast was great. Short walk from the train station and bus connections to the entire area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkentw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 85 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

Just up the road from the train station and the bus station. We used the B&B as a base for walking three sections of the Cornish Coastal path. Every section of the nearby coastal path is accessible by bus from the bus station. A warm welcome awaited our arrival and we had a very pleasant room with all the conveniences you could ask for. Excellent traditional breakfast set us up the the rigours of the day. Many good eating places in the evening within easy reach. Highly recommended. Launderette just down the hill.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newagincourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

My wife and myself booked this initially because it turned out to be one of the most reasonably priced bed and breakfasts in the area, but we would have happily paid more for our stay at Penrose Guest House.
The room we stayed in had everything we could need and was cleaned regularly. We recieved fresh towels and were able to take advantage of the items that were within the space. The room had a DVD player with a range of DVDs that could be selected from downstairs, a kettle with a range of drinks that were replaced daily and a beautifully firm bed which was a blessing for me as I often find that the beds I normally sleep in are too soft.
The main town is only a couple of minutes walk away with a train station almost over the road. There was plenty to do and the couple were able to recommend some activities which both my wife and I enjoyed.
Breakfast was especially good. Marc and Anne went out of their way to accomodate our desires and were always interested to see if we wanted anything extra. They were especially helpful throughout the duration of our stay. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast and will likely to be returning in the near future. If you are planning a trip to Penzance, this is definately the bed and breakfast you should be staying in.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisuk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Very warm welcome on arrival, very attentive. En suite double room clean, spacious and comfortable. TV, tea/coffee etc in room, useful extras included hairdryer and alarm clock; free computer access in dining room. Quiet location ideal for coach/train and local area bus services, also walking distance to town centre amenities. Good information pack provided. Impressed with environmental policy inviting guests to recycle/conserve. Happy with every aspect of stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeetsieLayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Ann and Marc were the perfect hosts, the house is in a quiet street off the main road into penzance and i felt like a lord, the rooms were spotless, well equipped and boy did the large breakfast with toast and cereal feed you for the day.
They were so apologetic for one of their rather obnoxious neighbours opposite, whom seem to feel delight in leaving his wheelie bin out in the road for his wife to park in (although seeing a transit van there next day, wasn't sure if someone had managed to get in the space or his wife did indeed drive a transit) as the road is one of the first two nearest the town centre to have free parking so is obviously busy.
Don't let that put you off, there is space just around the corner and the small walk back is worthwhile for the pleasure of being treating like royalty.
I certainly will be returning if in the area again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

My young son and I visited for one night this February as we needed to be near the railway station. Penrose Guest House was very well-situated in a quiet road not far from the station. Our hosts went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming, going beyond the call of duty to make our stay as convenient and comfortable as it could be. Everything was of excellent quality, beds very comfortable, breakfast delicious. We will definitely be back if we ever come this way again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessTraveller030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights at Penrose Guest House. We chose this place as the presentation on their web-site seemed pleasant, and the location was convenient. And we were not dissapointed, it has a fantastic location - just a minute or two walk from the promenade and train and bus stations and town centre. neat and clean rooms. very good breakfast and friendly owners Marc and Anne.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmick2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
4.3 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 3 in Penzance
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#2 of 3 in Penzance
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Coldstreamer Inn
The Coldstreamer Inn
#1 of 1 in Gulval
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#56 of 84 in Penzance
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#6 of 84 in Penzance
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Guest House

Address: 8 Penrose Terrace, Penzance TR18 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $98 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrose Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marc and Anne would like to welcome you to Penrose Guest House - our small, friendly, 4 Star guest house. We offer high quality bed and breakfast accommodation with en-suite or private facilities. Penrose Guest House is located close to the bus and train stations and only a few minutes walk from the town centre, amenities and harbour. We are close to, but not on, the main road and many guests have commented how quiet our street is. Unrestricted parking is available on the public roads around Penrose, or a pay and display car park is 5 minutes walk away.Penrose Guest House is a Grade II Listed Georgian building approximately two hundred years old, maintaining many of its original features. It is ideally situated for easy access to the town centre with its many shops and restaurants. We are open all the year round and have central heating. Free WIFI internet access is available throughout the premises.In addition we provide a laptop for guests’ use, free of charge, in our dining room , where there is also a free book and DVD library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penrose Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing