We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Royal
Ranked #33 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Yeoford, Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We chose to spend a long weekend here to celebrate our silver wedding and were very pleased that we'd chosen the Mount Royal (having first considered a trendy little boutique hotel further into town). It has a certain charm that isn't often found: The young couple who run it are friendly, attentive and helpful without ever being intrusive; they have lots of useful local knowledge; there were fresh flowers in our room and elsewhere; the rooms are spotless, attractively furnished and very comfortable; the wide choice of breakfasts are delicious and cooked to order with lots of just-made (crunchy!) toast as well as fresh fruit and coffee. The house itself is a very beautiful Georgian/early Victorian one with the most wonderful views over Mounts Bay and is perfectly situated for walking (or driving) - into town and on to Newlyn and Mousehole in one direction; to Marazion and St Michael's Mount in the other. It's also as handy for the train station as it is by road. We actually couldn't fault it and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have wonderful sea views without suffering from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback! We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us and that we helped towards making your silver anniversary stay in Penzance special. It was lovely to meet you both and we really appreciate your compliments about our family run business. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
217 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is seasonal and is run by a family that cares about service. We had a wonderful three nights here as we explored the area. The breakfast are cooked to order and the views from the dining room look out to St. Michael's Mount. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The was free parking, and wi-fi. We thought it to be a very good choice.

Room Tip: Room number 1 has a bath that is not in the room, but is still private and used only for that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50States36Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback and recommendation! We are delighted that you enjoyed your three nights stay with us at Mount Royal and considered us 'a good choice'. It was a pleasure having you as guests and we do hope that you will one day return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

When booking the Mount Royal we read some of the previous reviews. As with so many other types of comments we thought it was over elaborated. How wrong we were! It was understated elegance. From the moment the front door was opened and viewing the hallway and sweeping staircase we felt satisfied.
Our front facing room was idyllic with two arm chairs, ideal for reading or just watching the world go by. Laying in bed you could only see the ocean, it was like being aboard a cruise ship.
Our hosts were so attentive with every request immediately attended to. The you feel really made you feel special. Breakfast became an occasion with friendly conversation with our host.
To sum up, old fashion values of respect, within a delightful, homely residence.

Room Tip: Choose an sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this delightful review of our property and in sharing your positive and captivating experiences! We are so happy that we made your stay with us a special and a memorable experience.

Yes, our lovely Georgian cantilever staircase climbing to the landing and flanked by the huge Georgian window is certainly one of the spectacular period features here. And we loved to hear about your 'cruise ship' experience lying in bed from the sea facing bedroom!

I would like to take this opportunity to say that we too enjoyed the friendly and interesting conversations with you at breakfast and that we do hope that you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this lovely Georgian/Victorian style hotel for 4 days in 2005. I just adored this place and couldn't recommend it more highly. Our room had a wonderful view of the bay which we enjoyed when we were resting from our walks on the beach and through town. The room had a comfy bed and was roomy. The breakfast room was beautiful and the service and food were quite good. We found the hosts to be friendly and helpful. We arrived by a very late train but the owner said that he would wait up for us and we received a warm welcome. This bed and breakfast is close to the beach and a short walk from the train station and town. We would love to go back some day. As for the period décor, I myself enjoyed the Morris wallpaper and other touches. I hope it never changes!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! We would love for your to stay with us again next time you are visiting Cornwall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Recently stayed at the Mount Royal Penzance. Service fantastic, view from room excellent looking over bay and St Michaels Mount. In walking distance of all amenities. Room spacious, clean and comfortable. Spent three nights and slept soundly every night. Traditional service which I thought was well gone. Breakfast was good, Silver Service style. The staff at the hotel are superb, nothing seemed too much trouble. Parking on site also excellent, plenty of parking spaces. Wifi service free and trouble free.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms have a sea view. Room 4 is an excellent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EamonRafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for you excellent review of Mount Royal! We are delighted that you enjoyed our 'traditional' customer-focussed service including complete silver service at breakfast. We pride ourselves on being one of the very few establishments that bring an entire breakfast order to the table from start to finish (no self service), and all made or cooked fresh to order using the finest local produce, served on fine Wedgwood crockery and enjoyed overlooking the outstanding and unrivalled views across Mounts Bay. We do hope that you will return to Mount Royal as we really enjoyed having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Visiting from the U.S., we recently spent four nights in this hotel while visiting western Cornwall, We recommend it highly. Lovely room, beautiful and ever-changing sea view, steps from the train station -- as well as the bus station which will take you everywhere you want to go in Cornwall. We spent a day in St. Ives, a day in Land's End, and several days walking around the environs of Penzance. Thomas and Melinda are gracious hosts who are doing a great job running their charming property. No complaints at all -- we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marielander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for you lovely review and compliments about our property! The views of the sea here are wonderful as you say - ever changing depending on the time of day, the levels of light over the bay, the strength of the wind, the calmness or wildness of the sea with the waves rolling in, the tides, changing colours of the water, the leisure boat activity and surfers having fun, the wildlife (dolphins, seals, diving birds seen across the bay), and the wonderful over-sea cloud formations in the sky. From our front sea facing windows it is really like being on a cruise ship at sea! We'd love to see you again and we look forward to you coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Both my wife and I really enjoyed our recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel over a weekend to go to a wedding. The level of service was superb, room was very clean, loads of wardrobe space and the view from our room was fantastic over the bay towards St Michaels Mount and round to Newlyn, they even had binoculars in the room to help you with the views. Thomas and his wife made us very welcome, there was a wide choice of food at breakfast, nicely presented in the dining room and very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble, even when I had trouble with my car they manged to help me.
Would definitely use this hotel again if we are in West Cornwall and have no hesitation in recomending this Hotel as a place with excellent traditional values of service.

Room Tip: Front rooms have excellent views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonnyb105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of Mount Royal and thank you for staying in 2012. We are pleased that you noted our 'traditional values of service'. We are proud of the high level of good old fashioned customer service we offer here - a legacy of Mount Royal being a successful family run business in Penzance for over 45 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.1 mi away
EasyPZ Backpackers
EasyPZ Backpackers
#6 of 17 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#54 of 82 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Penrose Guest House
Penrose Guest House
#34 of 82 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#32 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#59 of 82 in Penzance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal

Property: Mount Royal
Address: 1 Chyandour Cliff, Penzance TR18 3LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated 4 Star Gold 'Guest Accommodation' by the AA and offering quality seafront bed and breakfast, Mount Royal in Penzance is an elegant part Georgian, part Victorian house and has been a successful family run business since 1963. Guests can experience bright and spacious individually designed rooms with unique period decor, luxury and bespoke furnishings, classical William Morris designed wallpapers, and silver cutlery and quality Wedgwood crockery at breakfast. Mount Royal offers guests free on-site parking and garages (on request). Experience outstanding sea views of Mounts Bay with the convenience of being ideally close to all of the main transport connections to explore West Cornwall. Mount Royal also has free superfast Wifi enhanced by fibre optic broadband to the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mount Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing