We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hospitable hotel”
Review of Mount Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Royal
Ranked #37 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice hospitable hotel”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My partner and I were in Cornwall to stay in St Ives for a few days and visited Penzance in the hope of finding accommodation. Fortunately Mount Royal had vacancies. We were greeted by Thomas he gave a nice room with panoramic views of St Michaels Mount and the bay, it was perfect. Binoculars were provided to survey the views which was a nice touch. Breakfast was good and the internet worked perfectly. Would go back again if ever visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eclipse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. Superb room with super view of St Michael's Mount, binoculars were provided too to admire the view. Beautifully clean room and delicious and substantial breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts and we will be returning to this lovely hotel. Would highly recommnend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186258Chr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is a first-rate hotel. Mr & Mrs Cox were thoroughly accommodating. The location is excellent & the view over Mount's Bay is exquisite. The room was comfortable & immaculately clean. The bed was excellent. The daily housekeeping service was perfect. The breakfast was cooked to order & delicious. It was professionally served. This was the only good coffee we had during 6 weeks in Britain. The guests' lounge was comfortable, clean & well-lighted. There was a small library of local books & maps. We would be delighted to stay at Mount Royal Hotel any time. Prior to travel Mr. Cox responded to inquiries promptly. This is an indicator of someone who values his guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1BigJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for this great review and thank you to ALL previous reviewers who have complimented us so generously!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hotel is amazing, we were greeted and pampered from the owners during our time there. Our room was very nice and with a great view on the bay of Penzance. Location is very good since city centre and train station are very close. We also can confirm that even if a street and the rail are close, the place is very quiet since there are no trains during the night and road traffic almost non-existant. We really liked the Victorian style of the hotel and the care for the smallest detail. Breakfast in the morning is huge with plenty of choice and a very good quality of food and drinks. Finally, this family run hotel is amazing and they were very helpful, kind and nice with us! Definitely a great place to stay in Penzance!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

A most pleasant bed and breakfast place that anyone could ask for with excellent service. My wife and I, in our 4 nights there, have never finished the orange juice that was provided, although Thomas would have given us 3 glasses of it if we had asked for, so generous was him. The decor was also great with antique fireplaces and antique book cases, and other antique furniture. The wallpaper was in keeping with the period - "a makeover" to what? one may asked!!

And of course, the sea view from our window was magnificent. Thomas, please don't change and please stay as you are!!! You cannot please everybody and if you listen to all of them, you'll end up crazy or worse still ruin your excellent business.

from a discerning couple.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelajolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!. It certainly was a pleasure meeting you and your wife, and it really makes us happy when guests appreciate the service and experience at Mount Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We have travelled a lot in our time encountering all sorts of hotels but this must be one of the best.
We used the hotel as a jumping off point for the Isles of Scilly. It was important for us that the stay was restful and able to sort out our luggage before and after the holiday.
They could not have been more helpful. The room had a private bathroom adjacent with a bath fit for two with plenty of hot water. The early start breakfast before the dining room opened was more than adequate.
On our return we found that we had been given an upgrade to an even larger room. this had a walk in shower. When we said that we would like a bath they ensured that all was ready for us in the public bathroom with fresh towels locked in readiness for our use. The breakfast available the next day was more than I could eat.
So on both occassions (a night at each end of our trip) we left the hotel after a good night's sleep and plentiful breakfast fully refreshed.
The hotel has off street parking and is close to the town centre

Room Tip: Both the room we used were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowenva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you!! Your compliments are highly valued and mean a great deal to us. That you had such an enjoyable stay and such a positive experience at Mount Royal makes us feel that all the time, love and investment that we put into our business is all the more worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Level Contributor
233 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Location.Penzance is small, and hotel is 10 minutes walking from trainn station and downtown.No bad, but nothing special, similar to others hotels in Penzance.
Room with a good size.
Breakfast was good, with option as vegetarian breakfast, haddock with poachhed eggs.But the juice, means orange juice, come in a ridiculous size, in a small glass.Maybe enough for take a pill, not for drink.Free internet.
Douche is weak,bur just for hot water.They say to be eco-friendly,but really they are eco-friendly about electricity consumption,not about waterAre they eco-friendly?.Hotel view is great and room is beside a road, but not so noisy.
The worst: THEY DON´T ACCEPT CREDIT CARD.And this is not a budget hotel.Unbelievable, we are on twenty first century.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
EasyPZ Backpackers
EasyPZ Backpackers
#7 of 19 in Penzance
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penrose Guest House
Penrose Guest House
#32 of 81 in Penzance
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#47 of 81 in Penzance
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lynwood Guest House
The Lynwood Guest House
#41 of 81 in Penzance
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#62 of 81 in Penzance
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal

Property: Mount Royal
Address: 1 Chyandour Cliff, Penzance TR18 3LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated 4 Star Gold 'Guest Accommodation' by the AA and offering quality seafront bed and breakfast, Mount Royal in Penzance is an elegant part Georgian, part Victorian house and has been a successful family run business since 1963. Guests can experience bright and spacious individually designed rooms with unique period decor, luxury and bespoke furnishings, classical William Morris designed wallpapers, and silver cutlery and quality Wedgwood crockery at breakfast. Mount Royal offers guests free on-site parking and garages (on request). Experience outstanding sea views of Mounts Bay with the convenience of being ideally close to all of the main transport connections to explore West Cornwall. Mount Royal also has free superfast Wifi enhanced by fibre optic broadband to the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mount Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing