We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No credit cards” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Royal
Ranked #34 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Level Contributor
224 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“No credit cards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Location.Penzance is small, and hotel is 10 minutes walking from trainn station and downtown.No bad, but nothing special, similar to others hotels in Penzance.
Room with a good size.
Breakfast was good, with option as vegetarian breakfast, haddock with poachhed eggs.But the juice, means orange juice, come in a ridiculous size, in a small glass.Maybe enough for take a pill, not for drink.Free internet.
Douche is weak,bur just for hot water.They say to be eco-friendly,but really they are eco-friendly about electricity consumption,not about waterAre they eco-friendly?.Hotel view is great and room is beside a road, but not so noisy.
The worst: THEY DON´T ACCEPT CREDIT CARD.And this is not a budget hotel.Unbelievable, we are on twenty first century.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Almost a step back in time, but in a good way. Excellent personal service from the time we arrived to the time we left. Stylish decor and the quainest staff uniforms we've ever seen.
Rooms clean and breakfast excellent.
Would recommend to anyone visiting the Cornish coast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

If you are not sensitive to traffic,and train noise (not forgetting the helicopters going to the nearby, 0.6 miles, heliport) then you will be able to appreciate the great view from the front bedrooms. The level of attention and quality of breakfast was excellent but overall the Mount Royal fell short in some key areas. Apart from the noise problem (secondary glazing or if permitted, double glazed sash units would fix this) the double bed was small and much of the decor and en suite facilities are in need of a serious makeover.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onistjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed four nights here in the late summer. Set just to the east side of Penzance, it is literally only a few hundered meters to access the road network to all the local attractions. In truth one of the biggest, St Michaels Mount, was in perfect view looking out of our window. As already described by others this is a lovely atmospheric old Victorian house which is situated in a great position 5 minutes walk from town and harbour. Parking is on site and easily accessed. The room was functional and plenty large enough though lacking some of the more peripheral comorts of modern hotels. Nontheless wi-fi, digital tv and tea/coffeemaking facilities were available in the room. It was very clean and with a big really comfy bed. The dining room for a 'silver service' breakfast is a delight with great views across the bay. Breakfast itself was excellent. Service was fast and efficient and the food freshly cooked. The young couple running the hotel were attentive and helpful in every way. We both thought the atmosphere was a little quiet and perhaps some (very soft!) light muzak in the background might lighten the slighthy austere mood of Victoriana just a little! Yes it is a little quirky in style and decor, breakfast is only served between 8-9 (snooze and you'll miss it) and payment is cash or cheques only (!). But for location, comfort and the views it's a perfect spot for a short break in one of the most beautiful parts of Britain.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view rooms. Only a very small upcharge and well worth it for the stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROAMERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had been looking for somewhere to spend a short 3 night break in Cornwall, and whilst surfing the internet, we came upon the Mount Royal Hotel in Penzance.
What a stroke of luck, because we couldnt have asked for more.
The hotel were happy to take our booking over the telephone, and we were able to select the room we had seen on the internet.
On arrival, we parked in the hotels own car park (a commodity not easy to find with Cornish sea front hotels). We were actually an hour or so earlier than our predicted arrival time, but this did not cause the hotel staff any problem and we were made most welcome and shown up to our room.
The room was even better than the pics we had seen. A huge walk in bay window gave panoramic views over Mounts Bay and St Michaels Mount, with a pair of armchairs to sit and admire the view.
The room was very spacious, with lots of cupbords, drawers and the like. The fresh cut flowers were a lovely touch. The room and hotel were immaculately clean and tidy.
En-suite bathroom with Moulton Brown toiletries and clean whte fluffy towels.
Penzance town centre was less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel door, with many restaurants, pubs and eateries. The hotel were happy to recommend places to eat too.
For anyone travelling by train. The Station is 2 minutes from the hotel. (No train noises experienced though).
As for breakfast, what can we say. We were treated like a King and Queen. Silver Service every morning with our choice of breakfast freshly cooked to order. Fresh fruit salads had been hand made each day with meticulous care and presentation and great coffee too.
The staff were always polite, welcoming and attentive (without being too intrusive) and we are already planning a return visit.
This is a hidden gem, and we cannot believe it does not figure higher in the ratings on this website.
For anyone planning to visit the south western part of Cornwall, the Mount Royal Hotel makes the perfect base and we had a most splendid stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J and M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed three nights in this beautiful old Victorian house which is situated in a great position 5 minutes walk from town and harbour. Our room was lovely with a fantastic view of the harbour out of the window. The room was so pretty with really beautiful furniture and a really comfy bed.
The dining room for breakfast was absolutely gorgeous with so much character and a view of St Michael's Mount out of the window. The young couple who run the B&B are absolutely charming and cannot do enough for you. Breakfast is served with great efficiency and care - what more could you ask for!
If we visit Penzance again will definitely return to this B&B - a little bit of old England - Gorgeous!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdgwareSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

In agreement with the other reviewers, I don't know why there are so few reviews for this place - it really deserves a higher ranking among the Penzance hotels.

Our single criticism is that the decor is a bit retro (think flowery curtains, wallpaper, bedspreads...). On all other things they cannot be faulted. I think the family who runs it are probably the most attentive people we've ever stayed with, the food was great, the room was a very decent size, the sea views were amazing (literally the other side of the road!)... so, as has been said by others, if you can look past the decor, you will find a wonderful little hotel and an excellent base for a stay in Penzance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becky23477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penrose Guest House
Penrose Guest House
#31 of 87 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#53 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#33 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#10 of 87 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#11 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal

Property: Mount Royal
Address: 1 Chyandour Cliff, Penzance TR18 3LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated 4 Star Gold 'Guest Accommodation' by the AA and offering quality seafront bed and breakfast, Mount Royal in Penzance is an elegant part Georgian, part Victorian house and has been a successful family run business since 1963. Guests can experience bright and spacious individually designed rooms with unique period decor, luxury and bespoke furnishings, classical William Morris designed wallpapers, and silver cutlery and quality Wedgwood crockery at breakfast. Mount Royal offers guests free on-site parking and garages (on request). Experience outstanding sea views of Mounts Bay with the convenience of being ideally close to all of the main transport connections to explore West Cornwall. Mount Royal also has free superfast Wifi enhanced by fibre optic broadband to the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mount Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing