We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the Lodge. It's not the same as the hotel.”

The Guest Lodge Penzance
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Guest Lodge Penzance
Ranked #68 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware the Lodge. It's not the same as the hotel.”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Small room, bedding with stains, tiny high windows that are frosted and open onto a fence.

Wardrobe, bedside tables and head board all made of old kitchen work surfaces.

No hot water in shower on second day.

Breakfast ok but service poor. Had to steal cutlery off other tables to make a full set.

Poss worst hotel experience for a while.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbrear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
16
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The only problem with the place was that we couldn't find it. It is just behind the central boulevard but you have to check in at the Beachfield hotel. And we didn't know. So maybe the hotel could tell you this in your reservation confirmation? The room was not big, but clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schelleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The room was very small, and cramped, with just a small slit window from which it was impossible to look out. There were few facilities, a towel, but nothing more... ! Apart from the receptionist who checked us in, we did not see another member of staff for the entire stay of four days! The room was clean, as were the corridors, but overall it lacked any kind of atmosphere, and it was not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximilian Quen... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penzance hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed one night at the guest lodge after taking the night Riviera from London and a full day on Isles of Scilly. The accomodation was just right for simple nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The room was was very small but clean. It was very quiet and so we had a good night sleep. The hotel and rooms are accessed by entering the code and the reception is in nearby Beachfield hotel. It is a good hotel if you want to stay for couple of nights and your budget is tight.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiedoughchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We arrived expecting a glorified hostel and were delighted by the attention to detail which was evident throughout the Guest Lodge.
Rooms are on the small side, but there was loads of storage and the bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower.
Clean, comfortable and quiet.
Hotel staff were exceptionally friendly, welcoming and helpful. Happy to accomodate our bikes.
Hotel location was ideal - easy to get into the town centre and station, but away from the noise!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumpingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesi
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Room is not very big but really comfortable and clean. The structure is new and elegant. The position is good (in front of the beach) and quite near to city center. Reception of the hotel where you have to check-in and to check-out is close to the guest house, the staff is friendly and easy-going. Just one night stay. good!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizio83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#74 of 82 in Penzance
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#46 of 82 in Penzance
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#56 of 82 in Penzance
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#45 of 82 in Penzance
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#61 of 82 in Penzance
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dock Inn
The Dock Inn
#33 of 82 in Penzance
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest Lodge Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Lodge Penzance

Property: The Guest Lodge Penzance
Address: The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Guest Lodge Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guest Lodge Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing