We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Carnaquidden Barn

Carnaquidden Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carnaquidden Barn
Master bedroom with super-king bed, en suite shower room and w/c. The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Carnaquidden Barn
Master bedroom with super-king bed, en suite shower room and w/c.
The lounge
Woodburning stove
Games box in lounge.
Kitchen/dining room
Kitchen double oven and hob area.
Hallway and wrought iron staircase leading to three bedrooms and family bathroom.
Family bathroom
Twin bedroom, overlooking garden and spring.
Twin bedroom
Garden, with seating area and BBQ.
Natural spring and BBQ beyond.
Planting around spring.
Entrance
Lounge
Double bedroom
Selection of wetsuits and bodyboards
Climbing at Sennen cliffs.
Golf at St Ives
Great walking country
Prehistoric sites nearby
Learn to surf
Christmas at Carnaquidden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jo L
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A fabulous holiday made even more special by a great place to stay. Lovely log fires of an evening, comfy beds, a gorgeous welcome pack on arrival and lots of room for the family to have a relaxing week. Borrowing the wetsuits meant we had a quick dip in the sea in October which had not been planned. A bit out of the way & remote but that was good for us!
Thank you very much John and Sue xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2016
Thanks Jo. So glad you enjoyed yourselves at the barn. (October is a great time to swim/surf - water is still warm and its not busy!)
We hope to welcome you back to the barn again very soon.
All best, John and Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKM12345
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relaxing & quiet location within easy reach of all the Cornwall has to offer!”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A great central location for exploring Cornwall. Quiet spot. Attractive and comfortable accommodation with all mod cons. A very relaxing holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Thanks Theresa. Glad you had such a great time at the barn.
All best,
John and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better holiday home”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed here for a week with a few friends and we all agreed it was a definite 5 stars! Our arrival was met with a delightful hamper filled with breakfast bits so we didn't have to go straight back out. The entire place was well equipped, clean and authentic. Location is great, maybe 10-15 minutes down to Penzance and close by (less than a minutes drive) to Chysauster village to start off your sightseeing.

I've already recommended it to family members!

The WiFi connection is good enough to send/receive messages we found but streaming any video was pretty much out of the question so bear that in mind if you were going to take a device for it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality furnishings, well equipped, great location
Liked least: I don't think there was anything I disliked!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Hi Alex,
Glad to hear you had a great week and enjoyed the barn. Yes, broadband speeds in rural Cornwall are pretty slow, but I hope the DVD library kept everyone entertained. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
All best wishes,
John and Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamJeff84
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect house in a wonderfull location”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Everything was perfect and we were warmly welcomed by our guest with food for breakfast and advises for visits.

Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Thanks for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
All best wishes,
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheenaKim
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Rural Retreat - A Real Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We adore this stunning barn! It is a real hidden gem of a place; a rural retreat of the highest standard. It is luxuriously furnished and beautifully decorated throughout - top quality and tastefully converted.

We were a party of three adults with two teenage boys and a 7yr old girl. The barn was equipped for every eventuality. The kitchen has a large table and sofa, ideal for the whole family to gather round and relax. There is a utility room with washing machine, and large freezer which was very handy for stocking up. Also available are a variety of different sized wet-suits and a washing line and hose to rinse them outside. The lounge was cosy with two good-sized comfortable sofas. There is a large collection of kids and adult DVD's and a variety of games. Lovely wood-burning stove which we didn't need to use, but thought how wonderful it would be in the winter months.

Bedrooms are all very comfortable and the master bedroom is spacious with a huge bed and luxury en-suite. Family bathroom is also very spacious.

There are two sets of table and chairs, in the quaint courtyard gardens - one just outside the door and the other around the side in the gated area with the natural water feature. There was a BBQ which we didn't use, but only because the weather didn't behave for us!

There is so much to explore in this area of Cornwall and Carnadquidden Barn is ideally located within easy reach of many landmarks, historical sites, beaches and attractions. Only 15 minutes drive to Marazion Beach and St Michaels Mount, and about 25 mins to Sennen Beach. The Telegraph Museum in Porthcurno was worth a visit and had something of interest for all ages. Crazy Golf and a new Football Golf course was nearby at St Erth, and Geevor Tin Mine, near Penzance was good to explore on a rainy day!

We had a wonderful holiday at Carnaquidden Barn, despite the mixed weather and would highly recommend staying at this gorgeous rural retreat. Thank you so much to the owners Sue and John, and to Kirsty for preparing the barn for our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole barn!
Liked least: The narrow lanes (nothing to do with the barn!)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2016
So glad to hear you all had a great holiday and enjoyed your time at the barn. Hope to see you again soon, John and Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim I
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent two weeks in August in this wonderful barn, and we were truly impressed by the level of quality and also how the owner had looked after us during these two weeks. Having stayed in quiet a few holiday rentals before we had never experienced such a high level of hospitality.
It started with a nice welcome package that we found upon our arrival in the barn - all the essentials were there! This came very handy as we didn't have time doing some grocery shopping on our way to Cornwall. Also, we found that the barn is just perfectly equipped, including a pair of body boards, some wet suits, loads of DVDs (for rainy days of which we had a few..), games, etc. In addition the barn is just nicely decorated, and you feel "at home" straight away.
In terms of location, the cottage is part of an old farm complex in the countryside, about 15min away from both St. Ives and Penzance, and about 30min away from Land's End. So although the farm is in a bit of a remote area, it is not far to travel to the more "vibrant" places and tourism centres.
We can definitely recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2015
Thanks for your kind words, and we're glad the welcome pack came in so handy. It was also kind of you to add to our wetsuit collection with the toddlers miniature suit! We hope to welcome you back to Cornwall again soon. All best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrannyBgo...
Prescot
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed at the barn during half term in May. Weather was fantastic so made the most of travelling around the area, going to the beaches, gardens and eating Cornish Cream teas. The property was stunning, so well decorated and furnished. Everything you could wish for!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2015
So glad you had such a great time, and thanks for your kind words about the barn.
All best,
John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing