We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Carnaquidden Barn

Carnaquidden Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carnaquidden Barn
Master bedroom with super-king bed, en suite shower room and w/c. The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Carnaquidden Barn
Master bedroom with super-king bed, en suite shower room and w/c.
The lounge
Woodburning stove
Games box in lounge.
Kitchen/dining room
Kitchen double oven and hob area.
Hallway and wrought iron staircase leading to three bedrooms and family bathroom.
Family bathroom
Twin bedroom, overlooking garden and spring.
Twin bedroom
Garden, with seating area and BBQ.
Natural spring and BBQ beyond.
Planting around spring.
Entrance
Lounge
Double bedroom
Selection of wetsuits and bodyboards
Climbing at Sennen cliffs.
Golf at St Ives
Great walking country
Prehistoric sites nearby
Learn to surf
Christmas at Carnaquidden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Joachim I
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent two weeks in August in this wonderful barn, and we were truly impressed by the level of quality and also how the owner had looked after us during these two weeks. Having stayed in quiet a few holiday rentals before we had never experienced such a high level of hospitality.
It started with a nice welcome package that we found upon our arrival in the barn - all the essentials were there! This came very handy as we didn't have time doing some grocery shopping on our way to Cornwall. Also, we found that the barn is just perfectly equipped, including a pair of body boards, some wet suits, loads of DVDs (for rainy days of which we had a few..), games, etc. In addition the barn is just nicely decorated, and you feel "at home" straight away.
In terms of location, the cottage is part of an old farm complex in the countryside, about 15min away from both St. Ives and Penzance, and about 30min away from Land's End. So although the farm is in a bit of a remote area, it is not far to travel to the more "vibrant" places and tourism centres.
We can definitely recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2015
Thanks for your kind words, and we're glad the welcome pack came in so handy. It was also kind of you to add to our wetsuit collection with the toddlers miniature suit! We hope to welcome you back to Cornwall again soon. All best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrannyBgo...
Prescot
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed at the barn during half term in May. Weather was fantastic so made the most of travelling around the area, going to the beaches, gardens and eating Cornish Cream teas. The property was stunning, so well decorated and furnished. Everything you could wish for!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2015
So glad you had such a great time, and thanks for your kind words about the barn.
All best,
John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma8019...
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We really enjoyed our weeks break. The barn is beautifully decorated, well equipped and ideally located for exploring Cornwall

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2014
So glad you had such a great week in Cornwall, and thanks for your kind words about Carnaquidden Barn.
All best, John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaun b
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal Cornish Retreat”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Having stayed in the barn for 1 week we all wished it could have been longer, the weather wasn't fantastic but the barn most certainly was. Everything was 5 star down to the generous goodies on arrival. the barn has lots of space inside, plenty of parking outside. The location is ideal for visiting Penzance, St Michaels mount, St Ives to name a few.
We are recommending the barn to family and friends and will definitely return in the not so distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
So glad to hear that you had such a great time in Cornwall and enjoyed your time at Carnaquidden Barn. Thanks for your kind words, and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.
All best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fabulous week in 'Carnaquidden Barn.' Great location for touring the whole of the coastline. The barn was beautifully presented, everything clean and new, our every need was catered for. The wet suits, surf boards, wifi, i pod docking stations were a hit with the teenagers and box of games kept us entertained in the evenings. We would definitely recommend this property to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail and the location.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2014
Glad to hear that you had such a great time in the barn, and we hope to see you again soon. All best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annielock
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home feel!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just got back from staying in this barn and all I can say is it was a beautiful and welcoming place. Presented to a high standard and perfect for everyone. All the necessities and more. And the personal touches just made it an extra special place for us to stay. We love Cornwall but this barn just made it an even more special holiday. Highly recommend it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2014
Thanks for your kind words, and we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the barn.
All best,
John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Five Star”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a lovely week at Carnaquidden Barn and whilst the weather wasn't five star, the accommodation certainly was. The detail that the owners have gone to is exceptional - everything was perfect from the lovely food hamper on arrival to the cosy log burner and comfortable bedrooms. It was so nice that we are already planning our next visit. The perfect place to stay for a quiet get away with lots of country walks but not far from Penzance or St Ives and the lovely beaches and attractions along the coast. Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Here's hoping you get some sunshine on your return in the autumn.
All best,
John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing