We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At last! Perfect afternoon tea!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trengwainton Tearooms

Trengwainton Tearooms
Ranked #20 of 178 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
penzance
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“At last! Perfect afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

What can I say? Delicious sandwiches with homemade chutney, lovely little cakes and scrumptious scones. All served on pretty china with a choice of tea or coffee. Really lovely, thank you!

Helpful?
2 Thank travellingwilbury077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    36
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An attraction in itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This tea room lies outside Tregwainton Gardens. I understand there are people who go for the food and don't bother with the garden. Even though the garden is beautiful I can see why. Great food, wide choice, including good vegetarian options, and green credentials.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank David8Strings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Atmosphere Lovely Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

After a lovely walk through the gardens, we decided to stop for some lunch. There's a lovely outside area, you can rent a picnic blanket or there are some garden games to keep the kids entertained. I had a lovely sandwich, but unfortunately the wasps had a go at my iced tea before i could drink any of it. The cafe has a nice relaxed atmosphere. A lot of the herbs and vegetables are from their own gardens. I'd definitely come back to the tea rooms on my next Cornish holiday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Isobel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
201 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“The best cream tea of the holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

And we're talking about a lot of cream teas! We were on our way to "Nampara" (Poldark fans will understand) and stopped here by chance as we passed it on our way. There is a free car park and from here you walk into a quintessentially English walled country garden where you can sit either outside or in. We did start outside but had to come inside due to the enormous amount of wasps, obviously not the tea room's fault. The afternoon tea is served on lovely cake stands and includes delicious sandwiches, a variety of cakes to say nothing of the scones which were magnificent. I can't comment on the other food in the cafe but if the teas are anything to go by, then you should be onto a winner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rivolese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive gardens, lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very nice food in lovely surroundings, I particularly like the fact that they offer rugs to sit on if you'd rather that to a table,

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trengwainton Tearooms also viewed

 

Been to Trengwainton Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing