We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Outstanding Location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outstanding Location
Old Primary School Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Outstanding Location
Old Primary School Entrance
Comfortable Lounge
Comfy Bed
Well Equipped Kitchen
Modern Bathroom
Large Garden
Private Entrance and Parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RichLivin...
2 reviews
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed July 17, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We arrived mid-afternoon having been well briefed by Steve, the owner, on how to get there. The cottage is just part of the old school house but has its own private entrance. The owners live in another part of this beautiful old building, but with its thick stone walls you’re not aware of anyone being nearby!

Inside, Steve had left tea, coffee, milk and biscuits for our arrival. We were impressed by the high standard and cleanliness throughout the accommodation, it was bright and spacious and the views are amazing from its elevated position. We particularly liked the view of St. Michael’s Mount from the kitchen sink.

We found it an ideal place from which to visit all the amazing coastline of Cornwall and there is a plentiful supply of tourist information in the cottage. Shopping is only minutes away by car in Penzance. The 14th century White Hart Inn serves great food (and drink) in a friendly atmosphere all within staggering of the school house!

We stayed for a week and would have no hesitation in recommending the Old Primary School as a comfortable place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayaprofe...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent property to stay”
Reviewed January 22, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

It was such a shame that we were only staying at this property for 2 nights because it was a lovely cottage that was well maintained and equipped by the very kind owners.

We arrived quite late at night and with prior arrangement and we were very warmly welcomed, they had prepared the property ready for us to just unpack and relax after our 6 hour drive there.

The cottage was lovely and warm there was also hot drinks and biscuits on arrival.

This cottage had everything we needed to relax and enjoy our stay. It was not the nicest of weather for our stay but the views from the property were still lovely.

I would definitely recommend this property to stay at because I am definitely coming back to this property everytime it's available when I come down to cornwall :)

See you again soon and many thanks Jay & Mina

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Clean, cosy and recommended”
Reviewed January 10, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Clean, warm and cosy, great views and nearby pub and not far from Penzance. It has everything you need and Steve communicated well throughout. We'd love to come back. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guy588
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation great location”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

we had a really lovely week in this one bedroom cottage all our needs catered for
The weather was great so that made our holiday even better.
A great location to visit Western Cornwall.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzy937
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful location overlooking St. Michael's Mount.”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Primary school is a lovely character building which did not fail to impress us. Situated in a great spot, close to both St. Ives and Penzance, the location is super for exploring the local area. We stayed in the 1 bedroom flat which was very clean and kept in spotless condition. The property boasts wonderful views of St. Michael's Mount and has a very pretty garden where you can relax whilst taking in the beauty of the countryside. We will definitely visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As good as we hoped.....and more”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed for the last week in May, and we were very pleased indeed with the Old Primary School. The position is excellent for so many lovely places to visit, and of course the White Hart being just down the road was very useful. The accommodation was clean and complete, nothing missing and everything in an excellent state of repair. The view from the Kitchen window over St Michaels Mount was lovely....and you simply have to go there for a visit, it was superb.
So to sum up I have given a 'score' of 5 green circles and it deserves every single one of them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dude230
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The old primary school ”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Well what can I say this place is amazing , what a find we were greeted by Steve the owner who showed us around . There was everything you could want for in self catering even tea coffee milk and biscuits and flowers on the table, it is kept to a very good standard very clean the location is great very quite and within easy reach of St ives / Penzance / St Michael's Mount. We will most definitely be back this place is made to revisit, thank you so much to Steve and Stacey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2016
Thank you for your positive comments and we're pleased you had a great time. We want all our guests to enjoy staying here and our goals are focused on this aim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing