We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A superb home away from home in a beautiful...”
other travelers have booked this property
Outstanding Location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outstanding Location
Old Primary School Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Outstanding Location
Old Primary School Entrance
Comfortable Lounge
Comfy Bed
Well Equipped Kitchen
Modern Bathroom
Large Garden
Private Entrance and Parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jamie G
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb home away from home in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Where to start!? On arrival, the owner greeted us with open arms, even having provided fresh milk and cookies to get us started. First impressions of the tour around the property were amazing - sparkling clean and fresh, very bright and well heated (particularly important as it was about 4 degrees outside!)

I'm a bit of a geek, so I was incredibly impressed to see a Smart TV, free WiFi and a DVD player waiting to go. Throughout the rest of the property, it was obvious the owner had kept this place with the times. It was modern and really comfortable, but still had all the character of a converted primary school. (On a side note - it was great to see not only a drawer full of books to read and a folder full of leaflets for local events, but also a pink folder giving the history of the building.)

We wanted for nothing - even down to there being cling film in the cupboards!
I scoured the reviews before I booked, not quite believing the incredible review ratings.

Trust me - they are spot on. The place was beautiful, the owner very friendly and the setting superb (my partner was really impressed you can see St Michael's Mount from the kitchen window!) In fact, the location of the cottage puts you about 15-20 minutes (maximum) away from most places on the peninsula - it's central and easy to get to and from.

We'll most certainly be back - because I can honestly say I cannot pull out a single thing about the place I didn't like.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was incredibly clean, modern and bright
Liked least: We had to go home at the end of it!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette35...
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy Retreat in the country”
Reviewed March 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Had a two night break in Cornwall recently and were in luck to have booked a lovely place to stay. The converted school house is situated on a quite country lane so very peaceful and no intrusive sounds of traffic. The host was very welcoming and the added touches of fresh flowers, milk in fridge, chocolate biscuits etc was very thoughtful. There was plenty of useful information available regarding what to do locally, places to eat etc. We had some really nice meals locally in Marazion and Penzance. A lovely part of the country... and a lovely place to stay... thank you Steven !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quite and peaceful
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golcar
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and good heating
Liked least: my only preference is to have a king sized quilt over a double bed- but not an issue
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GayleDRea...
reading
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Mr ”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in this warm , cosy accommodation for five nights in October , what a treat - view from the kitchen window of St Michaels Mount and gorgeous food , walking distance to the local pub.
We highly recommend the old primary school as very comfortable and peaceful .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannaT...
2 reviews
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Lovely comfortable, cosy , cottage ideal for a couple. Spotlessly clean with all the facilities you could need. Hosts were friendly , helpful and accommodating. Amazing views from the property, ideally situated for exploring local sights.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDw3l...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway cottage”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Primary School Cottage whilst on a business trip down the St Erth and Penzance. The location of the cottage is perfect as it is near the top of hill giving great views over the village below and glimpses of the sea and the castle (can't remember the name). There is private parking right outside the front door, which made for easy unloading of my case etc... The living area / kitchenette is very well kept and tidy, it also helped massively that the owners had bought in a fresh bottle of milk and a pack of biscuits for me so that I had something nice to arrive to after a long journey. The bedroom boasts a very comfortable bed that I believe has a memory foam topper, which made for three very comfortable nights. The heating system is modern and effective, meaning that the harsh winds outside made no effect on my comfort. Now, the bathroom, this was pretty amazing for me. Granted it was on the smaller side for bathrooms (still not as small as the one I have at home) the size was completely over thrown by the fact that everything felt so new and high quality. The bathroom even has a heated floor! I honestly did not want to leave this cottage and I can honestly say that I will be back here during the Summer for an actual vacation. Maybe next time I'll bring my partner to share the experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't get enough of the heated bathroom floor! (it was winter)
Liked least: That I had to go home
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheProf_1...
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Compact, clean and comfortable, well located for exploring West Cornwall”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed for a week in mid September. Mixed weather. Good location for walking the many paths in the area and for St Michael's Mount. The apartment is comfortable and quite adequate for two people. Kitchen/dining/living room all in one. Nice bedroom and bathroom. Pub is close by - good food and beer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing