We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pirates Rest

The Pirates Rest
Ranked #33 of 178 Restaurants in Penzance
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A small family run business with fantastic food and very friendly service.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Excellent fish & chips. Have eaten in the restaurant and also had a takeaway. The fish is the best I've had. Keep up the good work.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julieale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    33
    11
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish & chips !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have eaten in the newly refurbished cosy restaurant and also had takeaway cod & chips. On both occasions our meal was superb !! Freshly cooked battered cod and scrumptious chips with mushy peas were a delight. I'm told that the chicken burger and cheesy chips are also very tasty. We will certainly enjoy more visits to the Pirates Rest in the very near future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 17sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Probably the best in the town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Would say this is the best in Penzance for fish and chips. I ate in. Was a little disappointed with mine - the plate was too small and so everything was a bit messy. I thought the chips were quite dry, but I am quite fussy about my fish and chips and I know that timing is everything with getting good chips from a batch. Attentive service (a bit too much - plate taken away before I got the last chip off my plate)!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JNAM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New owners, New name - The Pirates Rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This Fish & Chip shop is under new ownership and has been re-named The Pirates Rest. They have lovely traditionally cooked food. Sustainable Fish and locally sourced potatoes, home made mushy peas. They use beef dripping for frying.

It is a family run business and they were very family friendly. And only 2 mins walk from the sea on Penzance Promenade.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paula j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gem of a place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We've been here about four times now to buy some of Captain's Cosies; fabulous, funky tea cosies knitted by Mrs Hiscott, half of the husband and wife team running this little gem of a place!

We've always received the warmest, genuine welcome you could wish for.

Each time we promised ourselves that we'd eat there one day. Last week after collecting a gorgeous cafetiere cosy, we dined in at 5pm. One of us had small cod & chips & one large. Absolutely delicious - and very filling! We washed this down with a pot of delicious tea.

I strongly recommend you go there; they're open from 5pm, so it's great for your evening meal!

While you're there, treat yourself to a tea, mug or cafetiere cosy, or one of Mrs Hiscott's knitted, heart or strawberry-shaped keyrings too!

I think they would accept reservations but don't know for sure...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JKMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pirates Rest also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to The Pirates Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing