We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of The Dock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dock Inn
Ranked #33 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a very nice pub with a good atmosphere and great ales. It is also a good place to stay as long as you're not planning on go early to bed. The pub closes at 12 PM and though it's not very noisy, still you can hear the clients' voices and laughs from your room upstairs, specially when they get in or out of the building. Other than this minor nuisance, everything was OK. Our room was perfectly clean and so was the bathroom. Breakfast is served in the room and it was a very good one, though we found the table was a bit too small, requiring us to put the trays on the bed. Nevertheless, I wouldn't mind staying there again at all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are, like we were, overnight prior to a boat to the Isles of Scilly.
They only have 3 rooms at present but if the other rooms were like ours then the standand is great.
The Dock Inn is basically a pub so they dont have a resturant as such, so a nice touch is that you have a full breakfast served to your room and ther is a proper table and chairs for the purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firemanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went on a saturday night for food - luckily had a 2 for 1 main meal voucher, from local newspaper,we both had steak food was average,steaks didnt arrive medium rare,food was dissapointing -but the service was worse ,it was a bit like a comedy ,the girl serving kept apologising ie-we had no cutlery -when we got some it was filthy-she didnt take our order for ages ,so up to the bar we went, back up again for the CLEAN cutlery, then we ordered a sweet -[this should be a laugh i thought] 20mins later ,we asked where are they OOOO SO SORRY yeah she forgot to put the order in!!! nice kid but useless waitress- we found it so funny when other people ordered -she was taken plates of food to all the wrong tables, and its only got a few tables the restaurant-this place is charging imo restaurant prices ,but not delivering on service ,quality of food and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueyesCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here as it was closest to the ferry to the Isles of Scilly. Great little traditional pub with lovely refurbished comfortable rooms. Food was fab especially the Cornish breakfast served on your own table in your room overlooking the harbour. Evening food was good wholesome home cooked fare with lots of choice. Great entertainment by the friendly locals in the evening too.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front overlooking the harbour. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at ‘The Dock inn’ for two nights in February, 2013.

Our spacious room had modern and appealing décor and a great king size bed complete with lovely fresh linen and comfy pillows.

We had adequate storage room in the wardrobe, a good size TV, coffee and tea making facilities, a hair dryer and free Wi-Fi.

I particularly liked our table for two by the window which was great for watching the passing parade. This was also where we enjoyed our breakfast each morning. A choice of either a continental or cooked breakfast was available and was included in the room rate.

The large en-suite was bright and fresh with a large bath and overhead shower. Just remember to pulled down the venetian blind when you’re in there as the window looks onto the street!

Despite the room being above the bar, we heard little to no noise at all. We were there for one very windy night and it was rather noisy outside; which was to be expected. I rather enjoyed listening to the waves crashing, the wind howling and the ‘Dock Inn’ sign out the front of the pub doing 360’s! It created quite an atmosphere and conjured up images of pirates and ye olde seafaring days…

Back to the pub; it was a sheer delight! It has such a great atmosphere with warm timber exposed beams embracing the bar and surrounding areas. We enjoyed many beers by the fire and ate dinner there both nights; which incidentally were cooked beautifully.

Steph and her staff were great friendly people and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DormouseTidings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great local pub in fab location. Steph is an excellent landlady with a real rapport with her punters, both locals and visitors alike. Lovely roast on Sundays. A really fun, characterful pub, and the best in Penzance.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahkwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEDOCKINN, Owner at The Dock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Bloomin marvellous!
What a compliment!
I have the support of a wonderful team to thank for helping me bring the Dock back as a really popular locals pub. We all work very hard to provide a relaxed, friendly environment. Customers enjoying that is all I could possibly ask for!
See you again soon oh lovely customer!
Steph!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Booking was done efficiently. The stairway to the room was shabby. Our room and bathroom were spacious and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large but lacked a shelf to put things on. The power shower was working well but the bath was cracked. However under and around the bed and units was a lot of dust and fluff. The valance looked grubby. The hairdrier did not get hot. The breakfast was served in the room and was good. the staff were friendly.The Dock is very well placed for other pubs, the harbour, prom, church and a short walk into town. It is opposite the terminal for the Scillonian which is very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEDOCKINN, Owner at The Dock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

This is a very well constructed review. Thank you for taking the time to write it!

I completely agree with you that the hallway was shabby. I say WAS because we've just completed a full renovation project on all 3 bedrooms plus the hallway. This had been booked in long before you arrived but we had to wait for a quiet month to get it all done as it was a big project.
We've replaced the carpet, stripped back and re-skimmed the wall in the hallway (and obviously decorated it too).
We've also redone all the bathrooms and redecorated the bedrooms. The beds were only replaced a week or so before you stayed with us. (Glad they're nice and comfy!), take a look at our website for the new pictures?

The bathrooms not only are all new now, but also do have a shelf in as well!

There is no longer an abundance of fluff! The valance should never of been dirty - have had a word with housekeeping. Sorry for this it should never of been like that, absolute oversight on our part.

Pleased you enjoyed the breakfast, staff and our handy location.

Hopefully you'll come and stay in our brand new bedrooms. Would love to welcome you back and hear your comments.

Kind Regards and thanks once again for such a constructive review.

Steph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.5 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#12 of 82 in Penzance
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#64 of 82 in Penzance
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#43 of 82 in Penzance
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#76 of 82 in Penzance
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yacht Inn
The Yacht Inn
#39 of 82 in Penzance
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dock Inn

Address: 17 Quay Street, Penzance TR18 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $88 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Pub with separate restaurant. Also 3 ensuite letting rooms. Excellent real ales and home cooked food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Dock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dock Inn Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing