We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a traditional english chinese restaurant”

Dynasty Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #133 of 184 Restaurants in Penzance
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Post Code TR20 9LZ
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a traditional english chinese restaurant”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

been here several times and on each occaision it has been a pleasure the staff are always helpful the food is good and tasty, this not a contempory restaurant but what i would discribe as a good old english/chinese place. home from home type. best to book in high season

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    55
    26
    13
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chaos, just about kept under control”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We'd spotted this restaurant whilst on holiday in the area, so decided to give it a try on a Sunday evening. We did phone up about 45 minutes before leaving to book a table; glad that we did as it all got rather full later.
On arrival we were shown to our table straight away. We were asked for our drinks order straight away, and with nothing on the table, we just had to ask the waitress what there was. It later turned out that we were missing the single sheet drinks menu on our table. Slightly limited drinks as one draught beer unavailable. Diners nearby asked for local cider; rather disappointed to find that limited choice of drinks.
The food was generally competent, but got worse during the evening. Fried starter were overcooked, especially the very large onion rings. Later some of the mains lacked meat, so for example the sweet and sour chicken was remedied by tipping in some bang bang chicken pieces.
After my first visit to the buffet, somebody had taken my cutlery from my table!
However as the evening went on, chaos started to descend. The queue of people waiting got larger. At one time I could count at least 10, in full view of the diners, and they were looking rather fed up in the queue. Food started to run out as management started to break down. Not enough staff. People were waiting for duck and prawns, standing around by the buffet. When more did finally arrive, those at the front took large plate fills, so soon those two dishes had run out. Plates were not being collected from tables, so by the end of the evening we had a pile of dirty plates heaped up. There seemed little planning were to place new arrivals, so I don't know if those who had reserved did get their tables on time.
The food was satisfactory, but none of the serving dishes were labelled, so it was guesswork as to what you were eating.
In summary, if you want a Chinese experience whilst on holiday then this is just about satisfactory, but expect it to be disorganized if busy, but at least you'll have something to talk about.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very poor service ruined the last night of our holiday”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

booked a table at dynasty for the last night of our holiday, arrived on time with our daughter (4 years old) very excited to get tucked in. we waited at the bar for 40 minutes watching other family's arriving and being seated straight away. being bank holiday and nearly 9 o'clock we left having to settle for a mc donalds as everywhere else was reserved due to bank holiday.
if they couldn't fit us in they should have said so when we made our booking.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saralee298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely be back!!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Oh my god how fab was the food!!!! This place is very friendly and the food was fantastic. My husband and 2 daughters saw this place on our travels and turned up on a Wednesday eve. We were seated quickly and decided on the buffet menu. Safe to say we were all stuffed and with a bill of £57 including drinks we will definitely visit again when we are in the area!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sealedwithakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praa Sands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Surprised and have been 4 times!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I live not far from this restaurant and would not go in as it was a buffet. Then I decided that the many cars out of season at the weekend must mean that it was good. The decor is odd but once you get over that the food is good, totally do not agree with the bad reviews I have just read. I am a fussy eater and especially with Chinese food. Did you all know they have a 5 star hygiene rating, this around here is unusual for a Chinese, and I think that is really good.. Anyway, they also do a menu freshly cooked which looked good. My only comment would be to do a make-over during the winter and you will be surprised at the good comments you will get. These days image is everything. Please try this place.... .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dynasty Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Dynasty Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing