We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shoreline Guest House
Ranked #39 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little B&B”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed one night as I had to visit Penzance for work. It's by far the best B&B I've stayed in, and much nicer than the usual places we get booked into! I had the Orchid room, which is at the front of the house and has a large window looking out to the sea. The room was perfect; completely spotless, beautifully decorated and cosy without being cramped!
There was a good choice of breakfasts, with the option to leave your order downstairs for the morning. The breakfast room was cheerful and welcoming (even on a gloomy morning!), as were Liz and her staff. I had the English breakfast, which was very good. I would definitely recommend the Shoreline to my friends and colleagues!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    20
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
63
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked on line for a short break and were a little surprised to be given a door code to let ourselves in as there is no one on site during the day, except at breakfast time which is between 8-00 and 8-45 every day. this is not particularly useful if you were considering a relaxing holiday with a lay in in the mornings. We had a room with a sea view the was clean and comfortable.

As in all hotels we visit we always familiarise ourselves with fire evacuation procedures, there were none in our room. We noticed was a sign in the hall that advised in an emergency telephone the given number, no telephone was available so I presume that if you don't have a cell phone to hand you and the other guests could have a major problem.

We made comment about the cool temperature of the breakfast served and were berated by the cook, who was at pains to tell us that she was an experienced chef and new how to cook hot food unfortunately she had not been trained well enough to to understand that if the food is served on a cold plate is doesn't stay hot very long.

Those who have read any of my others reviews will know that I try to be as possitive and fair as possible however I have to say that we would not stay at this establishment again.

Room Tip: Room five has an excellent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bejay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed 6 nights in this hotel and despite the wide range of accomodation available in this area I most definetly choose the right one. It was right on the seafront, modern and clean and even with having no staff to greet me on arrival I was most pleasently supprised when I arrived.

It was definetly worth the money I paid, I looked forward to relaxing there each day after travelling around the area. It had all the facilities you could ask for and put on a great choice of breakfasts in the morning. I particularly liked the flexibility of the service, haviing breakfast when I wanted and being able to decide whether I needed my room cleaned or not.

The staff were pleasent and friendly and happily offered extra services such as use of an iron and ironing board when required.

It was in a great location and a perfect base for exploring Penzance and surrounding areas. I would highly reccomend this to anyone staying in the area and would definelty stay there again myself.

5 ******

Room Tip: Any room is a good room unless you sepcifically want a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Dont normally do reviews but in this case its a must,
we stayed at the Shoreline guest house this week and what a great guest hse, immaculately clean, great decor in all rooms, and Liv and her staff were very attentive to all the customers really spent time advising on where to go what to see, even loaned us books,maps and some blankets for when we went to the minnack theatre in the evening.
brilliant:

Room Tip: leave it to Liv tell her what you want and she will accomadate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sha278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I and my wife spent four wonderful days at the lovely Shoreline B&B – Penzance and we were very happy with everything, especially with the warm welcome. The staff were so friendly, particularly the lovable owner Olivia (Liv), that we seemed to be in a family. Breakfasts are really delicious. We would like to come back to this B&B in the future.

Room Tip: Try to book the "blossom room": fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in the Orchid room, had been prewarned was on the small side to brought 2 smaller cases which stowed under the bed, no problem. The view was great and owner and staff could not have been more helpful. Good choice for breakfast which was all really delicious, will be making another visit when we can.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

A warm welcome with plenty of information. A very comfortable stay in 'Poppy' which is a single at the rear of the property, so no sea view, but that is my only reservation. Breakfasts are wonderful!
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Book well in advance - I got the last room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.0 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#74 of 87 in Penzance
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#70 of 87 in Penzance
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#38 of 87 in Penzance
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#11 of 87 in Penzance
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glencree House
Glencree House
#2 of 87 in Penzance
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#51 of 87 in Penzance
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoreline Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoreline Guest House

Property: The Shoreline Guest House
Address: 17 Marine Terrace | The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline is a small modern guesthouse, with a 4 star rating, situated directly on Penzance's promenade. 6 Rooms all ensuite. Rooms are modern and comfortable. Sea View rooms offer uninterrupted sea views, from St Michael's Mount across Mounts Bay to Newyln. Wireless interent access is available free to guests. A selection of delicious cooked breakfasts are available for our guests including a tradional Cornish cooked breakfast, Creamy scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or our French style pancakes stuffed to the brim with banana, blueberries, and topped with maple syrup. A warm Cornish welcome is assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shoreline Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing