We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penzance Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
$222
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Penzance(Penzance)
$158
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marazion Hotel(Marazion)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$393
$303
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Boskerris Hotel(Carbis Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
58
14
5
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
14
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree tea and coffeegreat kitchencommon roomthe en suite bathroomrailway stationfree wifidormhostelshowercornwall
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 81 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a great hostel with everything you need (kitchen facilities, WiFi, even a laptop you can use if you don't have your own) The beds were very comfy and the rooms were spacious, and the staff were helpful and friendly as well. Plus the hostel had a nice family vibe with a ton of interesting travellers from all over the world, and it's less than 5 minute walk away from the beach. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlowerGypsy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Loved this hostel and would happily go back. It's quite basic, no frills- small room and kitchen but I love that it isn't institutionalised like some hostels. The whole thing felt like home. Fellow travellers were friendly and chatty as we're staff. We had no problems finding an on road park but it was a bit of a treck to the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great hostel - me and two friends originally booked one night's stay at Penzance Backpackers, but ended up returning for a second night during our 4-day exploratory road trip in Cornwall. We got a 6-bed dorm for ourselves, with en-suite bathroom, for £18 each per night. The rooms are basic but cleaned every day. No towels or soap is provided, but Matt (the friendly owner/manager from Stoke-on-Trent) offered to give us clean towels and shower gel for free. Breakfast is also not included, but a fitted kitchen is available for use and Penzance town centre is within walking distance for a budget breakfast (eg. £6 for a full English breakfast at small cafe' close to the train station). Will defo return here on my next trip to Cornwall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Basic, clean and comfortable and the girl who checked me in was friendly & helpful. The kitchen was clean with good amenities and a large fridge. This backpackers is not very central and parking is hard to come by. However it was a pleasant experience overall.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank bollidarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Himself and I stayed in a double room (#4 just at the top of the stairs on level 1) for five nights. We both thought this place was great and vowed to stay here again should we ever be in Penzance again.

Pros:
- great location, just up the road from the waterfront
- free on street parking just outside
- room was sufficient in size with a comfy bed, decent sized window (that opened to allow in some fresh air), heater (that worked well when required), bed-side table, above-bed reading light and a small basin with mirror
- two toilets located next door to our room (so not too far to go in the middle of the night should the need arise) one which was also the shower room; it may not have been as busy as usual but rarely did we have to wait to use a toilet or the shower which can be a pain when sharing bathrooms in hostels
- decent sized communal kitchen which was well-equipped with everything you'd need, including two fridges (one full sized with freezer and one half size), three cookers (which worked well (the one we used)), plenty of bench space, a microwave and a couple of kettles
- nice front room / lounge area with maps on the wall, a bookshelf full of books, a couple of comfy couches and a big wooden table in the front window which seated 6 I think - great for breakfast in the morning
- different bins provided to recycle various types of waste just outside the kitchen in the small side yard
- everything was super clean - very impressed with this point! I believe Matt cleans the place thoroughly each day
- staff reside on site, so there's always someone there should you need them (at designated hours)
- secure - code required to enter the premises and key provided for room
- free (reliable) wifi throughout
- staff (Matt and the other lady) very friendly and helpful, even printing up a couple of things for us to complete the St Ives Rail Ale Trail at short notice
- cheap - only £36 per night for our room (£18 each per night)

Cons:
- no rubbish bin in our room though this did prompt us to take all our rubbish downstairs to put in the recycling bins ourselves

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews