We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but very clean and tired”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for a couple of nights and it was a good base.

We were surprised as we walked in as we were greeted by a lovely entrance with high ceilings and a nice welcoming feel. Reception staff helpful and told us information re dinner and breakfasts etc.

Room was adequately sized with a cobbled bed, bedside tables, wardrobe and large dressing table. Yes the room and bathroom was dated and could do with updating but it was certainly clean and tidy.

Bathroom very compact but sufficient.

We had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely. Okay we were old enough to be a lot of the other residents grandchildren but it didn't affect us.

Overall we had a lovely stay at the Queens and would recommend to anyone who wants a good base to explore the local area.

Room Tip: Request a sea room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickle_1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 488 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

we had the most fantastic two nights here,
there was a small error with the booking of which the hotel quickly rectifiedand we ended up in a lovely sea view room.

The staff here are so friendly and welcoming with special thanks to our waiter and waitress for the Thursday night (Aiden and Sarah).

The food was outstanding and if we knew it was so good, we would of eaten in the hotel on our first night as well as the second.

The rooms were clean and very spacious.

we will be returning sooner rather than later.

Good free parking.

You cant get any closer to the beach, with a fantastic position and views over the bay.

Room Tip: try not to get room 37 at the rear as it has a noisy extractor from the kitchen below room 26 very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 62macandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I went here for my birthday for Sunday lunch and it was excellent. We had a lovely view over the promenade and bay and it was a wonderfully sunny afternoon. The service was faultless and everyone of the staff we met were just lovely, friendly, chatty and efficient. It was so nice to have good "old fashioned" service being called "Sir " and "Madam" instead of "Guys" for a change. The lunch itself was delicious, a generous helping of tender roast beef with all the trimmings and lots of fresh vegetables and all lovely and hot. Two courses for £14.95 including a large cafettiere of fresh coffee and mints which we took in the sun lounge again looking out at the world going by. We thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish - thank you everyone at the Queens.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank counthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Like others we got this through Wowcher, and a great deal it was, but I would not pay anything near £160 per night, I might pay £50. We had a room overlooking the car park, the en suite was tiny to say the least, it took at least five minutes for the water to run hot and you heard every flush from the room next door, a bit annoying in the early hours! however for the money paid, you accept you are not going to get the penthouse. I have to say all the staff were very helpful, with great service in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The wine was a reasonable price, but again I would not pay £50 for the 3 course meal, although the presentation and quality was excellent. Breakfast was no exception, great choice, excellent presentation and service. All in all a very pleasant stay for the money paid

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff at reception were friendly and efficient as were the bar staff. The room was mediocre and overlooked the car park but at the price we paid, i'm not complaining! The en-suite could've done with an update but I'm not too adverse to a peach coloured suite and, again, at the price we paid....Breakfast was a buffet style full english plus choice of cereal and was good.

Overall, the best way of putting it in my opinion is that this hotel is not one to impress your wife with but for business or a cheap break away it's as good as it gets!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked this with wowcher and cant really complain. The booking in could have been better as had a long wait & they were busy as the ferry had been cancelled. The hotel was in good spot and clean & tidy. The room was small overlooking the car park and the en suite just gave enough room to stand up in, the light didnt work either. Having said that the meal & breakfast that was included was very good & great view from the dining room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a last minute booking made after midnight upon arrival in Penzance.

We were greeted by a very helpful chap who booked us into a 1st floor, see-view room for the night. Within the cost we received a bar service, breakfast and car parking.

Breakfast was plentiful and well-organised with – again – friendly service and a brilliant view out across the bay.

We did have an issue with the hot water. Taking a pre-breakfast stroll along the promenade and leaving showers until late morning I believe we had reached the bottom of the hot-water tank and as we were in a rush we neglected to inform staff on our way out.

The hotel is rather kitsch in parts and could do with a refurb, but in keeping with a seaside resort I believe the charm of the Queens supersedes this and together with great service delivers as expected.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
234 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
6.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
24.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Promenade, Penzance TR18 4HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range: $177 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 3 Star Victorian hotel situated on the promenade in Penzance. 70 bedrooms - all en-suite enjoying pride of place in Mounts Bay with views of St Michaels Mount, Newlyn and the Lizard PeninsulaFree car parking, Free WiFi access and disabled access to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing