We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staid, but great service”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
UK
Level Contributor
675 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Staid, but great service”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Like others we got this through Wowcher, and a great deal it was, but I would not pay anything near £160 per night, I might pay £50. We had a room overlooking the car park, the en suite was tiny to say the least, it took at least five minutes for the water to run hot and you heard every flush from the room next door, a bit annoying in the early hours! however for the money paid, you accept you are not going to get the penthouse. I have to say all the staff were very helpful, with great service in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The wine was a reasonable price, but again I would not pay £50 for the 3 course meal, although the presentation and quality was excellent. Breakfast was no exception, great choice, excellent presentation and service. All in all a very pleasant stay for the money paid

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    148
    76
    43
    31
See reviews for
71
180
47
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff at reception were friendly and efficient as were the bar staff. The room was mediocre and overlooked the car park but at the price we paid, i'm not complaining! The en-suite could've done with an update but I'm not too adverse to a peach coloured suite and, again, at the price we paid....Breakfast was a buffet style full english plus choice of cereal and was good.

Overall, the best way of putting it in my opinion is that this hotel is not one to impress your wife with but for business or a cheap break away it's as good as it gets!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked this with wowcher and cant really complain. The booking in could have been better as had a long wait & they were busy as the ferry had been cancelled. The hotel was in good spot and clean & tidy. The room was small overlooking the car park and the en suite just gave enough room to stand up in, the light didnt work either. Having said that the meal & breakfast that was included was very good & great view from the dining room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a last minute booking made after midnight upon arrival in Penzance.

We were greeted by a very helpful chap who booked us into a 1st floor, see-view room for the night. Within the cost we received a bar service, breakfast and car parking.

Breakfast was plentiful and well-organised with – again – friendly service and a brilliant view out across the bay.

We did have an issue with the hot water. Taking a pre-breakfast stroll along the promenade and leaving showers until late morning I believe we had reached the bottom of the hot-water tank and as we were in a rush we neglected to inform staff on our way out.

The hotel is rather kitsch in parts and could do with a refurb, but in keeping with a seaside resort I believe the charm of the Queens supersedes this and together with great service delivers as expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I were booked in for three nights @£160 per night.

Upon checking in we made our way to room 11 having made the classic mistake of not checking the room before.

The room looked more like a borstal room than a hotel room.

I immediately made my way back to reception to refuse to accept this room and was offered another, which although an improvement was not worth anything like the asking price.

I accepted the room on the proviso that we would only stay there for one night whilst I found an alternative hotel... Which is exactly what we done.

Unless you're going to pay £50 a night maximum including breakfast.. I would give this place a very wide berth.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tonyt2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Tony,

Since this review was written, we have undergone something of a reevaluation at The Queens Hotel in regards to our customer service, standards of care and quality of food served.

We have lost some staff, gained new recruits and embarked on a thorough training programme. We have a new front of house manager, a new functions manager and a new bar and restaurant manager.

Following many meetings, a new system of management has been put in place and our service, cleanliness, maintenance and food has all improved dramatically - as can be seen from our more recent reviews.

We are sorry that you had such a poor experience at The Queens Hotel and trust that if you were to visit again - you would find a new hotel.

Regards,

Nigel Pengelly,
Public relations manager: The Queens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We were so so so happy with our stay here. The reception staff went out their way to be helpful an accommodate our needs. The housekeeping staff tidied our room so nicely after our first night and replenished all the towels and tea and coffee etc and even folded up children's clothes left on the bathroom floor. They were so sweet. Our room was gorgeous with a spectacular sea view. I thoroughly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AskBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My friend and I are both in our 70's and came to Penzance with nowhere to stay, queens had rooms available so we booked for two nights but on seeing the room allocated we decided to book for the rest of the week, room was very big and very comfortable, beds great and bathroom good size. We paid £60 each per night which included breakfast so for August this was acceptable. Room was cleaned every day and hotel was spotless. We had evening meal in the hotel four nights which we found exceptionally good with good friendly service and two nights at the Italian next door which was very very nice. It is about 20 minute walk to train and bus station, very convenient and central to lots of places and lots of shops. A bit hilly if you are not fit. A big car park at back of hotel which is a bonus as many places would have to park in the street and cost of parking in Cornwall is the most expensive in the country, avoid going anywhere by car if possible, very difficult to drive in st.ives or Falmouth, streets are so narrow absolute chaos. Scilly isles worth a visit but a day is enough, to fly very expensive £100 but convenient as you can spend more time there, the boat takes 2 1/2 hours so wouldn't get much time there. Shuttle bus into st.marys costs £7 return and the boat to tresco costs £8 return we foundTresco over rated, I cannot believe some of the bad reviews about the Queens Hotel, don't listen, some people will complain when there is nothing to complain about. My friend and I are used to posh hotels so to speak and the Queens to us couldn't have been better, we found all the staff most helpful throughout the week and always could not do enough to please us. we would most definitely stay there again and recommend to our friends. Room 70 is not overlooking the sea but is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulinedance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
219 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,615 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
15.8 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Promenade, Penzance TR18 4HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 3 Star Victorian hotel situated on the promenade in Penzance. 70 bedrooms - all en-suite enjoying pride of place in Mounts Bay with views of St Michaels Mount, Newlyn and the Lizard PeninsulaFree car parking, Free WiFi access and disabled access to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing