We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No charm and grossly overpriced”
Review of The Summer House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Summer House
Ranked #50 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Wicken
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“No charm and grossly overpriced”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived and were met with a gruff hello. "Instructions" were given on how to enter the house with a variety of keys. I made the mistake of suddenly mentioning that we would be late back and was told that "I'm trying to explain about the keys". We had read all the previous reviews and would have loved a drink in the courtyard. Thing is, you need staff to serve a drink and the place was deserted. The house is bright, clean and decorated in a Mediterrean fashion. Parking is seriously limited and the road is incredibly narrow outside with cars parked everywhere. Breakfast was a disappointment - cereal and fruit was fine. We asked for toast which was seriously limited - 2 tiny pieces of toasted brioche, two slices of seeded bread and rock hard french stick. The jam may be homemade but it had no taste. A glass of orange juice was plonked in front of me - I wasn't asked if I wanted it (I didn't, so gave it to my husband). There were no pastries, or plain toast. No chance of scrambled egg. So we ordered the cooked breakfast - definitely the meanest cooked breakfast ever. Luckily I had taken the advice of others and ordered it even though I didn't want it - the 2 we were served made up one decent serving, although there were no sausages!
We didn't see a living soul when we were about. I have no idea who this Linda person is. On the first morning when I went to shower I found the shower container was empty - lack of attention to detail there -whoever cleaned clearly hadn't checked or moved things. There were 2 of the 3 lights out in the bathroom. When my husband went downstairs to ask for a shower cap he was told I should shower later after breakfast when the cleaner would know where this stuff is kept! Breakfast is only from 0800 to 0930 and I had a schedule to keep. When the towels were changed we were given one flannel for 2 of us. And my husband had to ask for a second (tiny) tablet of soap. Toiletries are minimal.
All in all, we came away feeling ripped off. This is just a guest house charging hotel prices. There are no staff to deal with anything; breakfast is mean; there is little attention to detail and no personal service - other than taking half the fee upfront. There are so many lovely places around and I, too, would suggest the Old Coastguard Station at Mousehole for good value and style.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlumBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a nice stay here - large room, beautifully decorated house, lovely breakfast... but no friendly welcome, no information (no local info, breakfast times, etc..) and no breakfast menu. While breakfast was great it would have been nice to be offered a choice - wonderful fresh-squeezed OJ (but no option of any other juice), fruit cup, great homemade jams with different types of bread/toast, and cooked breakfast was eggs with other 'Full' options like mushrooms and tomatoes. I have a food allergy and was never asked, or told what was in the different dishes. I also phoned on our way to check parking was available and was assured the small lot was empty, but after arriving 30 minutes later there was no availability. I did find free parking down the street but it wasn't as convenient. Also, the basic rate is overpriced for what you get elsewhere. If you want to stay in Penzance this is a good option, but I would recommend staying at The Old Coastguard in Mousehole or a local B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aelliott21921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Summer House was a last minute find but what a treat it was. The house and garden is beautiful, the room was very comfortable, attractive and spotless. The garden breakfast was delicious. The hosting was attentive, friendly and knowledgable. Linda was fascinating and a mine of local info. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grimbo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a fantastic evening in this pretty B&B. Ciro was very welcoming and one could see that the place is very well kept, the rooms are clean and super cute. Linda has put a lot of care and attention into each detail. A rare gem!
Would definitely go back!
The breakfast was fantastic, the courtyard also very nice.

Before leaving Linda gave us brilliant tips for the area which really made our day :)

Room Tip: There are no rooms with twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 892ceed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamorna, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Linda and Ciro are wonderful hosts and have created an oasis of relaxed beauty. Have drinks in the delightful Courtyard garden and then dine on Ciro's wonderful food. By the way he is a mean tennis player if you need to burn off a few calories the next day!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus_Clark_Lamorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We recently spent two nights at this delighful B&B in Penzance and were surprised and more than satisfied with every aspect we encountered. Directed to it by a most friendly lady at the local Information Centre in Penzance we were met by Linda and shown to an absolutely stunning double room very well themed and decorated in blue which more than exceeded the requirement. We were given every bit of help required from Linda down to superb recommendation's for local restaurants etc and found the whole experience top shelf. Breakfast, cooked by Linda's husband, was just beautiful and a perfect way to kick off the day, would return to this B&B in a flash and will definitely recommend to our friends in New Zealand should they travel to this most beautiful part of the UK.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were doing a walking tour through Western Cornwall before a trip to London for the Olympics and started & ended our trip in Penzance. The Summer House was the BEST of the accommodations we had while in the area. The room was perfect - nice size too. The common areas were very welcoming as well so we didn't feel restricted to sitting in our room. We thought Linda was a perfect hostess and we felt very welcomed. She gave great recommendations for restaurants too! I would highly recommend staying here if you are ever in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carman310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
458 reviews
1.4 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#21 of 82 in Penzance
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#8 of 82 in Penzance
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#45 of 82 in Penzance
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#62 of 82 in Penzance
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fountain Tavern
The Fountain Tavern
#69 of 82 in Penzance
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer House

Property: The Summer House
Address: Cornwall Terrace, Penzance TR18 4HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique rooms nd Mediterranean food in a stunning historic house by the sea. Five star Gold award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Summer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summer House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing