We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and just not worth it”
Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Penzance
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Originally booked in for 4 nights we lasted 1.
We stayed in a 'superior' room, whilst a reasonable view across the rooftops to Michael's mount it felt very uncomfortable having the view into back gardens of local houses.

The marketing literature really hooked us and drew us in to the place which I guess was why we were so utterly disappointed on arrival. Not anything like the luxury we were expecting, tired and dated lounge area with long haired cats lolling all over the furniture...yuck!!

The bedroom whilst clean was dated, the furniture looked like it came from a car boot sale, threadbare carpets. The room overlooked the dirtiest swimming pool I've seen in a long while, admittedly it was the start of the season so may not have been cleaned over the winter but if this was the case why was it open?

The food.... we only stayed for breakfast, tasty but really small portions, I had to smile at the looks of disappointment around the room as guests received their paltry rations.

I work away from home most weeks so I'm used to spending time in hotels of varying quality, for a 'holiday' hotel to be so much more expensive than some of the very good business hotels I stay in in London was quite a surprise, for the standard and quality to be so much lower was shocking.

Maybe the hotel would suit retired guests rather than younger but how they would manage the hill and stairs heaven knows.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cardifftraveller39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2010

It is our intention never to disappoint any guest, ever, so we do urge potential guests to read our website carefully. The photographs are authentic, the descriptions fair and the detail contained ,we think, gives an accurate picture of what we do and where we are. Our staff will spend as long as necessary to accommodate guests in the most suitable rooms for their stay.
Booking a hotel for a romantic break is such a subjective responsibility, and we have many happy romantics [of all ages] who go home entirely pleased with their stay, but we cannot be held to account for unrealistic expectations.
These guests arrived cold and unresponsive, stayed 10 minutes before exiting for the evening and checked out immediately following breakfast... a classic case I would suggest of the wrong choice, wrong time or wrong place and seeking a scapegoat to salve disappointment.
We were happy for them to checkout & find their ideal elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 849 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Penzance for three nights after having to swiftly replan a holiday in the USA due to volcanic ash cancelling all flights...

We arrived at the hotel directly from the sleeper train to leave our bags. As others have said it's about a five minute walk from the station up a steep hill. After leaving our bags and walking round the town (and seeing a dolphin in Penzance bay) we returned to the hotel and were delighted to find that not only was our room ready early (at about 10.30 AM) but that the housekeeper had taken our bags to our top floor room! All of the staff throughout our stay were extremely helpful and courteous.

We stayed in a basic room but it was well decorated, clean and very comfortable. The bathroom had obviously been recently refitted and the shower was excellent. We were delighted to discover the free cake and tea every afternoon.

I also particularly liked that the hotel seemed to be very environmentally aware (local bottled water, recycled toilet rolls, recycling bags in each room etc.).

Breakfast was excellent. We ate in the restaurant one night and found it to serve good, imaginative food. There is no shortage of other, less formal, places to eat in the neighbourhood as well.

The only negatives were that the in-room book stated they could arrange ferry tickets to the Isles of Scilly but when we asked reception we were told we had to walk into town to buy these ourselves, and that the Cornish ale in the bar was bottled (not draft) and served very cold. These are, of course, minor quibbles and in general the stay was superb.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mxlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2010

I think you got us just right. Thank you so much for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Oh and by the way we now can offer an online booking facility for tickets to the Isles of Scilly, so no longer any need to trail down to the booking office [except for next day tickets].

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

This is a lovely place, situated a hundred yards up a fairly steep hill, overlooking Mounts Bay and Penzance harbour, and three minutes walk into town. Bedrooms are spacious and well-furnished, with bottled water and well-stocked beverage tray, which includes fresh coffee and cafetiere. Most have spectacular views. Lounges are comfortable and pleasant, there is complimentary afternoon tea and an honesty bar, when the main bar is closed. The staff were all pleasant, helpful and friendly. The restaurant offers locally sourced meat and fresh seafood, all exquisitely presented, with subtle use of herbs and spices. Breakfasts were superb, with a wide range of cooked as well as cold buffet dishes. There is a small pool open in the Summer, with a garden area for sitting out and enjoying the views. There isn't a gym on site, but there is an arrangement with a gym and spa five minutes away for guests to use their facilities.
In all, we had a lovely four day break here and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2010

Thank you for writing such a generous review of your stay here, even in darkest March. We do appreciate knowing when we've had somone take obvious pleasure in enjoying what we do. We look forward to renewing your aquaintance whenever you care to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed for one night midweek this January and had a wonderful stay at Hotel Penzance. We paid a lower rate as it was out of season chose a superior room. The room was on the first floor with two large windows, one overlooking the bay and St. Michael's Mount and one overlooking the pool (open May - September), harbour and town. The room had some nice touches - proper coffee and cornish biscuits, charming bear... The bathroom was clean, bright and modern with a large bath and decent shower. The bathrobes were soft and snug and the clean white towels plentiful. The large double bed was gorgeously comfortable and we slept soundly having spent the previous night on the sleeper train from Paddington.

We were offered afternoon tea on arrival which we took in the hotel's front room with its real fire, small library and resident long-haired moggy. There's a telescope for looking at the stars but we arrived in a storm so used it to study the boats in the harbour. The staff were helpful and professional and the hotel warm and relaxing. Breakfast was served in the hotel's restaurant and we enjoyed a good quality full cornish with some locally sourced produce.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClairkeithTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2010

We are so pleased when someone takes the trouble to visit in the depth of winter and feels really welcome and comfortable, Do come back and see us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Clean, modern, friendly. Great food, great views, great shower, great ambience. Modern and slick.

Downside? Price of a pint, newspaper delivered too late in the day, tight car park.
Outdoor pool open only in season. Breakfast a bit too formal for my liking and not available before 0730.

If I'm back again in Penzance this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nobby_Stiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2010

I'm so sorry that your newspaper arrived later than you wanted. Being literally at the end of the line, we are at the mercy of the train deliveries which we have no control over, but we do try!
Continental breakfast is available from 7.00, or in your room overnight, it's only the full cooked English which you have to wait till 7.30 for, but it is well worth the wait!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My room had this amazing view of St Michael's Mount that on a clear morning at 7am looked stunning. The hotel was very modern and clean and nice. I can't complain at all.

Curiously I stayed in Penzance the following week at a different hotel. The person who holds the purse strings decide this place was too expensive.

So I stayed at the Penzance Arts Club. You couldn't ask for more of a contrast. Hotel Penzance was sleek and crisp and whitewashed in all the places, Penzance Arts Club was like being in the arts wing of a mental health ward. It was creaky and dark and, when I arrived quite late and was let in by the doppelganger of Johnny Depp in Pirate's of the Carribbean, it felt quite bizarre. This hotel looked like it was designed by that couple who used to be Psychic TV. It was crammed with what I think is called "outsider art". Yet for all it's quirks it was friendly and so gobsmackingly different, I felt as though I'd discovered a hidden gem.

Go stay there. You'll never forget it.

Back to the Hotel Penzance, I asked them for a good place to eat nearby and they started to plug there own restaurant. Don't know about you, but I prefer not to eat in the place I sleep. No idea why, but then they said I'd be lucky if I get a table and that it closes at 9. When I'm somewhere new that I don't know I have more respect for a place that will tell you about the locale, rather than - apprentice-style - flog you their own place.

Apart from all that stuff about the Pezance Arts Club and the restaurant, this place was alright.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank major_rawls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2010

I only want to say that having been the Cornwall Tourism Awards 'Gold Restaurant of the Year' for 3 sucessive years,2007/8/9 it would be remiss of us not to advise you of the best restaurant in town being our very own Bay Restaurant!
We don't close at 9 by the way, we take last orders between 9 and 9.30pm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Staff very pleasant, rooms compact. I thought this was overpriced for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElCid45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2010

If you only want a place to put your head overnight, and have no wish to enjoy our lovely hospitality, then yes we would seem expensive, maybe a Travel Lodge is more your style?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#2 of 3 in Penzance
506 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
60 reviews
6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
6.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range: $119 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing