We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel with everything you want” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Penzance
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel with everything you want”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Excellent location with excellent service nothing was too much trouble. We stayed on a bed and breakfast rate and the room and breakfast were everything you could wish for, we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello, and thank you for your positive review. We are extremely pleased that all your wishes came true whilst staying with us. Looking forward to meeting you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    188
    61
    22
    14
See reviews for
79
469
84
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gambrills, Maryland
Level Contributor
276 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Situated on a steep street overlooking the harbour and St Micheals Mount, wonderful rooms, service, afternoon tea and coffee with sweets, a full cold breeakfast buffet and anything you want cooked to order hot, very very nice people. Its about 7 minutes to walk to town and the railway station, and ferry to Isles of Scilly. 45 minutes to one hour walk on coastal path to the Mount. about 45 minutes to one hour the other direction to Mousehole, a sleepy but beautiful fishing village.

Room Tip: if you want a good view of the Mount ask for the rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 66travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your positive review, and we are very pleased we all made your stay an enjoyable one. As you so rightly pointed out, views of Mounts Bay and Penzance Harbour are stunning from the first and second floor bedrooms but our ground floor rooms also have lovely sea views where you can relax in a comfy chair by the window and watch people messing around in boats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights last week. We loved it, the room was beautiful, the staff were wonderful and it was laid back peaceful and quiet. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Chef did an amazing breakfast, poached eggs and smoked haddock cooked to perfection.

Room Tip: We had a superior double with sea view, beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. We are happy that we made your stay a peaceful and relaxing one and will pass on your compliments to the chef. Looking forward to seeing you again when you feel like getting away from it all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Hotel Penzance was chosen for the first part of our Cornwall tour and made an impressive beginning. My room was large, with lovely sea and town views, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom well equipped. The meals were excellent, while catering to the needs of a large group, the menu choice was generous and the meals delicious. Breakfast was everything that was offered to the individual guests, replenished when necessary and covered a wide range. All the staff were friendly and efficient, serving our large group with alacrity, ensuring that when we arrived as a group we were served as a group. The only problem I encountered refers only to the large group situation in the dining area. As the floor is wood and the large windows uncovered the noise levels made it difficult to hear at times. I stayed three nights, and like some of the other reviewers would have enjoyed a longer stay. Yes, the resident cat is a delight!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindylou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and were satisfied with our service you received in the restaurant too. Looking forward to seeing you for longer when next in the Penzance and Jerry sends his love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We travel around Europe and stay in a lot of hotels and this is one of the better hotels. We booked for 5 nights and were very happy and intend to return (which says it all). The room was spacious, clean, tidy and well kept with nice details like the little nespresso coffee maker in the room. We had a fine view of the harbour to watch boats going out and in, the bed was very comfortable. The staff were all friendly and helpful greeting us properly on our initial arrival and showing us around the hotels facilities. Breakfasts were a treat, good quality food anything from cereals to croissant to good old sausage and bacon. The restaurant is one of the best in the area fine dining and well worth experiencing. The only downside maybe is parking can be a bit limited when the hotel is full. Highlights were the afternoon tea's and cakes, the resident cat Mr Jerry (who prowls around and believes he owns the place). The hotel is comfortable/cosy and well kept.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 646D_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review - we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated our service and extra touches. Come back soon! From a lovely sunny hotel penzance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here for one night on business and ran a training day here too - only complaint, why did I have to leave so soon?
I stay in a lot of hotels around the UK and I sometimes dread little boutique hotels as that can be under par. NOT HERE.... Staff were wonderful (special mention to the lovely Matre D), my room was comfortable, stylish, warm and had the best views in Penzance.
I had a meal in the Bay restaurant worthy of any London restaurant. Great offering for vegetarian - if you get a chance do not pass by the walnut gnocchi, to die for!
Well done to all!

Room Tip: Worth climbing the stairs and asking for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenieRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your most positive review and we are glad everything was to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schweiz
Level Contributor
252 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I am careful with Hotels in the UK, cause I made bad experience in the past. So I was very careful and due, to some bad reviews I almost did not book. I am glad I did!

I asked specific for a full sea view room and got room no 27, who we could accompany our Dog too. We got welcomed for an afteroon Tea/Coffe and wonderful pastries and a very nice Hotel Manager (Owner?)

Very nice bathroom, comfortable bed. Breakfast also was very good and more than enough for us.
Only thing I would change was, to stay a few nights more to explore the area. Yes, Penzance might not be the picturest town, however it is a good place to explore southern Cornwall.

Visit the Italian Kitchen in Newlyn for a great Italian dinner!

Oh, and their housecat is just great :-)

Room Tip: 27 has nice seaviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquamarina75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Good evening and we are very pleased we made your stay an enjoyable one. It was lovely to meet you and hope that you are able to stay with us longer next time, giving you more time to explore more of our beautiful coastline surrounding Penzance and West Penwith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
21.0 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Property: Hotel Penzance
Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing