We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful return visit to this fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Penzance
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A wonderful return visit to this fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have returned today from another brilliant stay at Hotel Penzance. This time we were in a Superior Room at the side of the hotel. The bedroom was more than adequate with lovely views out of the side window of Penzance & St Michaels Mount. The nespresso machine was a lovely edition since our last visit in 2013. I cannot fault the cleanliness of the room or any other part of the hotel. Totally spotless!!!! A special thanks also to Natalie the waitress who looked after us so well & was such a cheerful character. We also thoroughly enjoyed our tea & cakes in the afternoon. If possible we will return again in 2015!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Good evening from a sunny Hotel Penzance, and thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us once again and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    190
    62
    22
    14
See reviews for
79
476
84
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I was booked into here for a one night stay. Warm welcome. Absolutely immaculate decor and spotless. Bed was superb with fresh white linen. Room was big with plenty of storage, tea/ coffee and water. Bathroom was spotless with excellent shower and decent shower gel/ shampoo.
Evening meal in the restaurant was superb as was breakfast with service to match.
Really struggling to find any negatives but if I had too it would be that my room didn't have a great view (car park) but most of the others look over the bay.
Will definitely use again when in the area

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Good evening and thank you for your positive review of your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you when next coming to Penzance. A quick telephone call to our helpful reception team will ensure you are given our best rates for a sea view room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here recently and again last year. Very nice rooms, friendly staff and excellent food at the restaurant. Unfortunately we were too late for the complimentary tea and cakes this time, so must plan better next time! The pool is handy if the weather is nice too.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are right next to the restaurant and ideal if you can't manage the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTomsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Gentle reminder for future reference, our complimentary afternoon tea for guests is served between 3pm and 5.30pm every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Last weekend we stayed at the Hotel Penzance. The welcome was warm, the room was spotless and full of character, there was even a teddy bear on the bed. The view was of Mount's Bay. The staff were polite and faultlessly helpful. The food was good. Our overall impression? Stay there if you are going to Penzance. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for the view over Mount's Bay, an iconic Cornish scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your review - and the view over the bay is a stunning one today. Its like summer here in Penzance - the sun in shining - the temperature is in double figures - and its calm. Perfect for sitting on the terrace at our Bay restaurant enjoying good company with a cocktail or even a coffee. Can't think of anything I'd rather do today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were given a voucher for afternoon tea as a gift and we decided to use it at the Hotel Penzance whilst staying in Cornwall. What a welcoming and delightful hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed the high quality sandwiches, pastries and scones, sitting in the restaurant overlooking Mounts Bay and Penzance Harbour. The staff were more than helpful and very friendly. we would definitely recommend the hotel if you want to treat yourself to afternoon and we may well be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeSmith1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi, glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea and for your review of the Bay Restaurant - within the Hotel Penzance. We look forward to you coming and indulging again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Its a boutique hotel situation close to the harbor with excellent views. The food was outstanding, we had gone there for our anniversary, the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, having flowers and niceties arranged to give my wife a very pleasant surprise. Its very close to the tourist spots like lands end and not very expensive either! Really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely recommend it. Made our 5 hours hike well work it! You definitely won't regret your stay here... Thanks Debbie!

Room Tip: Superior room with sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your review and glad we made your stay special. We do actually like going 'the extra mile' to ensure you have an enjoyable stay especially after a hike along our lovely coastline here in West Penwith. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

we stayed here for Valentines, room was really nice with a beautiful big bed and fantastic views out over the harbour and St Michels Mount. The room was well equiped and very clean.
The resturant and bar areas are quite modern again with great views. The food was very nicely presented and well cooked.
We would certainly look to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richcoll54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
So glad you had a fun valentine time and enjoyed our nice and cosy hotel whilst the drama in the weather continued outside. Alas its back again this morning but not with the same gusto - thank goodness! We look forward to seeing you again when hopefully the days are brighter and calmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
6.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Property: Hotel Penzance
Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing