We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year 2013/2104”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Penzance
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
2 reviews
“New Year 2013/2104”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We and our dogs were given a very friendly welcome on arrival, and that friendly atmoshere remained throughout our 4-night stay - which included New Years' Eve and New Year's Day - whenever we were in the reception, the lounges and the restaurant. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with all the facilities we needed; the few minor blips were quickly put right. The food in the restaurant and the service were very good and the serving staff most pleasant and efficient, and the breakfasts were more than adequate. Despite some inclement weather during our stay, we found the hotel ideally located for trips to Land's End, Cape Cornwall. the Lizard, Falmouth and other places within easy driving distance, as well as within easy walking distance from Penzance town and the beach. We were extremely fortunate to pick this particular hotel on our first visit to Cornwall, and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinityJE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your review and are pleased that you enjoyed the festivities with us all here at the hotel. We have a bit of sunshine, and is relatively calm here in Penzance compared to recent weeks. Hope you have a good 2014 and looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    190
    62
    22
    14
See reviews for
79
476
84
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our room was very comfortable, and the bed a delight to sleep in. The staff were friendly and efficient. The food however was inconsistent each day. Some meals were excellent, but others on the same day were very poor. Christmas eve food had delicious flavours, but hardly any food, and Christmas day, I had a lovely meal, but my husbands turkey dinner was inedible. Sandwiches supplied at lunch for example were either huge chunks of cheese complete with rind, or small grated flakes. Sorry Penzance, but not to your usual standard. This was our 3rd visit.

Room Tip: St. IA room, bathroom skylight and shower leaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review, we wish for all our guests to be entirely satisfied with their stay here and would have taken immediate action had any identified issues been brought to our attention at the time. We have done a maintenance audit of your bathroom, but have not been able to identify any shower or skylight leaks, could you have been referring to the repair undertaken in your friend's bathroom in the previous review?
Over the festive period when we had hundred's of diners, we received many compliments, both from your group and other guests, about both the variation of menu and service, but that does not mean that we don't occasionally need to address individual concerns.

As you stayed during some of the worst weather for years for your walking holiday, I hope it didn't put too much of a damper on your 5 day festive break, and we see you again next year.

It may be worth noting here for the benefit of future readers, the 'value' rating ought to be seen in the light of having booked a fully serviced package holiday provided by a third party, it's pricing covers resident guides, transport etc, and is not under our control, nor does it reflect our independent hotel charges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Penzance for New Year 2012 and have to admit it was a lovely experience. The food was excellent and the New Year celebration was enjoyed immensely.
On the strength of this, we had no hesitation in returning for Christmas 2013.
There were two problems, however. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work - but was fixed
very quickly so no problem really.
The main gripe was the quality of the Christmas meal. It looked and tasted like a poor cook-in-the-bag. The turkey was tough, the roast potatoes were dry and the sprouts so hard that a fork could not penetrate! This was not only my opinion so there may be other comments.
A great shame as there were lovely touches, a Christmas gift against the door Chrismas morning and a welcome gift in the room.
The staff were extremely friendly, polite and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Happy Ne Year, I'm so pleased you had a great holiday, despite the worst weather this year, you were very stoical to walk out every day.
I will take your review about your traditional roast Christmas Day lunch to the head chef for his response. There were over 70 served that day, and all guests were satisfaction checked, without any concerns being voiced at the time. I can assure you that we do not do 'boil in the bag' here, but would have happily replaced any dish which was unsatisfactory.
I hope the other 21 meals you and your wife enjoyed were more pleasing to the palate?

As your 5 day guided walking holiday was provided and costed by a third party provider, your 'value' rating should more correctly relate to their total service value, rather than your perceived cost of the hotel element (approximately 50%)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a warm room with a large comfie bed which overlooked both St Michael's Mount and Penzance Harbour, from the two aspect windows. The modern interior was a lovely surprise. I have since bought a coffee maker the same as the one in our room. When dining you could have thought you were on the Mediterranean as it had an open, elevated aspect letting lots of light in, a fitting environment for fine dining. The breakfast choices were wide ranging and excellent. Our evening meals were delicious and as a gluten free person I was well catered for. Thanks to all the helpful and friendly staff who were very professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiemarie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us - especially the coffee by all accounts. We are ready for a very busy New Years Eve with everyone getting their glad rags on ready to enjoy a 7 course dinner in our lovely Bay restaurant followed by dancing to the Great Little Band tonight. The restaurant is looking very sparkly, which is more than can be said outside - its blowing a hooley and sleeting. PS There is a parcel in the post for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I think very pleasant sums it up. From the moment we first arrived when we were met by an extremely pleasant lady who showed us around the hotel and explained everything we could have wished to know through to departure when the same lady was there to check that everything had gone well during our stay. The room was spotless with a lovely outlook across the swimming pool to the town, breakfast was ample and well prepared. Unfortunately we were to busy to use the restaurant in the evening but I am sure we will return and try it next time. Altogether a very positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gezzabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and am pleased everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you next time when you will have more time hopefully to sample the delights in our Bay Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
165 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night when our flight to the Scillies was cancelled.
We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who showed us to our room which was very comfortable and quiet with a view of St Michaels Mount.
The restaurant was really excellent with a good menu choice at reasonable prices.
A good place to stay within walking distance of the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of both the hotel and restaurant and trust you enjoyed your stay on the Isles of Scilly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

The first thing upon arrival in the reception is the lovely smell of scented candles and the impeccable decor, together with a very high standard of cleanliness. The enthusiasm and friendliness of the staff was lovely, to such an extent that we were given a passionate tour of the entire hotel. We were in a party of three, myself and my wife's uncle and aunty, who were immediately upgraded to a beautiful suite. The rooms were outstanding, both in comfort and in decor. We were here for just one night, however enjoyed the stay so much that we plan to return with the rest of the family for a weekend break. We did not have dinner in the hotel therefore I cannot comment on that, however the breakfast on offer was lovely, with every need and taste catered for. I would thoroughly recommend a stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments and am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Hotel is looking very sparkly and cosy with all the Christmas decorations and we look forward to seeing you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
6.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Property: Hotel Penzance
Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing