We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Penzance

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Penzance
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had a long weekend here in late April booked last minute. Loved the free cakes and coffee for tea time. Very comfy room at the back of the hotel with large bathroom and huge shower. Excellent breakfast and good dinner on the one night we ate in. Especially liked the cocktail happy hour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wren165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    188
    62
    22
    14
See reviews for
79
470
84
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
189 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I got a last minute deal on booking.com with a double sea view room for 109 GB pounds. On arrival around 11.30am we were warmly greeted and offered a fresh coffee (Nespresso) while we waited for our room to be ready. Sue gave us a tour of the hotel facilities on the way to our room. We stayed in room 19 - an average-size room with a nice sea view partially obstructed by the hotel (other rooms on the front have better views). Our room included a kettle, a good French-press coffee pot with ground coffee (unlike instant Nescafe so often found in the UK), teas and biscuits. The bathroom in 19 includes a wonderfully deep bath tub and shower over the tub. Good quality shampoo and body wash in mounted dispensers provide for easy use in the shower/bath and luxurious bath robes add to the sense of quality. I liked the fact that our window opened both at an angle or as a door allowing for the sea breeze to blow in. The hotel is located on the south side of Penzance (Britons Hill) within a quarter-mile of a 24 hour Tesco and easy access south toward St Michaels Mount, Porthleven and Falmouth. Lands End is 30 minutes west. Breakfast was cooked to order (very good) along with a selection of fresh pastries, fruit and yogurt. The hotel has a full restaurant and bar overlooking the bay and the hotel pool (heated). Room service is available. Complimentary afternoon tea is available in one of the two lounge areas (self service tea/coffee and a selection of small cakes). Overall the Penzance was one of our favorite places we stayed on our tour around Cornwall and Devon - simply the best overall customer service from all the staff - and for the price we paid we found it to be the best value compared to every other B&B/hotel we stayed in.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra if you enjoy a good view over the ocean from your room but ask be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We only checked out a few hours ago and I'm stil scratching my head as to how this hotel can charge such a ridiculous price.

£180 per night!

The rooms aren't special, there's no wow factor, it's a standard smallish room with a half decent view. That's it!

The hotel claims to be a pet friendly hotel, this was great as we were looking for somewhere near Penzance train station that would allow us to bring our small puppy with us. However, you're not allowed to leave the pet in the room alone, and you're also not allowed to take your pet anywhere near the restaurant. This made being able to get our morning breakfast (included in the room price) a bit of a problem. The weather was so bad we were unable to eat outside, so our only choices were to either take it in turns to go and eat breakfast, or use room service to bring breakfast up. This then incurred us another charge of £2.50

I would of thought that the hotel, who knew we had a puppy coming should of wavered this charge to begin with. Especially as we had to pay £10 per night for him to say in our room. Also it's strange that a small dog isn't allowed anywhere near the restaurant, yet the hotel cat can wonder wherever it pleases..

So after having breakfast brought to our room, we left the dishes, tea and coffee and any uneaten food on the tray and went out for the day. Upon returning, some 10 hours later we were rather shocked to find that the tray, and dirty dishes were still where we had left them! Also no towels had been changed, rubbish hadn't been taken out from the bins, complimentary tea and water hadn't been replaced either and of course the bed wasn't made.

I might be wrong but I'm fairly certain these are pretty standard services in most cheap hotels, let alone one that charges £180 per night.

So, we had to take the tray of dirty plates and old food down ourselves, then seek out someone to get some more tea and water.

I have to say I found it a bit cheeky that these basic services were forgotten, but the slipping of my bill under our door at 4am wasn't.

On the subject of the room. Don't expect a great nights sleep if the person in the room next door is a snorer. The walls must be made of paper as you can hear everything! You can also hear the bass from the music being played in the restaurant below from when it starts in the morning, to the last thing at night.

In the end my bill for a 2 night stay, in the cheapest room they offered came to just shy of £400.

I knew how much the rooms were before hand, and based coming to the hotel on the positive reviews I had seen. So I don't have a problem paying. I just expected to be wowed rather then how I feel now, which is a little confused as to how they can charge so much for such average rooms and poor service.

I hope others read this review and give serious thought to staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yettis_toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I am really dismayed to hear of your poor customer service whilst staying with us, it is very uncharacteristic of us, I shall look into the matter immediately and would appreciate you calling to speak to me in person to resolve the issues you have highlighted, as we were unaware of any of these shortcommings.
We do occasionally accept dogs in certain of our bedrooms for which we levy a £10 housekeeping charge on account of the necessity to deep clean on departure, and it's not possible for them to accompany owners into the restaurant, nor be left unattended in guest's bedrooms in case of damage or noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
404 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked for Easter weekend at short notice and thus didn’t have much of a choice. Our room - named for St. Adwen, evidently a Cornish kind of St. Valentine - was very small with very little closet space but ecologically friendly (no little bottles of soap and shampoo but larger refillable ones and an overall green policy we much appreciated) and an excellent if narrow mattress (can be romantic). Wifi connection was fine both in our room and in all areas of the hotel.

The hotel is only a few minutes uphill walk from the train station in a quiet residential area, where the hotel was put together evidently originally from two charming Edwardian houses, which we could enjoy in the cozy public rooms including a comfortable parlor with roaring fire (necessary during the coldest Easter Penzance has evidently ever experienced).

We enjoyed the delicious breakfast with a combination of buffet and cooked-to-order servings and a beautiful view of the bay, which some of the more expensive rooms evidently have. And the restaurant deserves its own review – we had one of the best meals of our entire two-week trip through England there.

For future trips to Penzance this will be our first choice – and with a little bit more advance booking, maybe we’ll be lucky enough to get a larger room with a view too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your appreciative review of our hotel. When a guest arrives on spec over a Bank holiday weekend, there is sure to be no choice of room options unfortunately as we are normally 100% full. Thank goodness you found our last one, which is our smallest double [4.5 ft bed] St Adwen is the Cornish patron saint of sweethearts..we live in hope :)
Please return with a little more notice so you can enjoy one of our superior sea view rooms.
[BTW all other double rooms have either 5ft or 6ft beds]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We love travelling but our favourite place is always Cornwall and when we come to Cornwall our favourite place is always the Hotel Penzance. The hotel is fairly small ,extremely well run, very comfortable , oozes quality and old world charm, it is in a great location with spectacular sea views right across the bay,the bustling harbour and St Michales Mount . But the best bits are the wonderful staff and the really great Bay Restaurant..There can't be many better ways to star the day than tucking into a cooked to order Hotel Penzance full Cornish breakfast and dinner merits as one of the best restaurants in the country. Trust me the Bay Restaurant is worth the trip on it's own. We're next down in July and can't wait .
The Hotel Penzance is also in a great location to enjoy the old atmospheric town of Penzance, the charming Cornish village of Mousehole. the fishing port and art galleries of Newlyn. It is only about 25 minutes to St Ives and our most highly recommended must visit - The Minack Theatre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon-Bancroft_MBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went to the Penzance hotel and bay restaurant for afternoon tea on the 11th just. The device from the start was fantastic. The waiter was friendly and made us both feel very welcome. The afternoon tea was out of this world. Would love to stay in the hotel in the future. Amazing hotel guys :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenworcs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The positive things: This is a nice looking hotel, in a good location, up a hill giving a good view over the bay. It's not too far to walk to the town center where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants.
But, too many negatives: The room was small and in the roof space with sloping ceilings to knock your head on, including above the bath. The room was very hot, there was no air conditioning which made it hard to sleep. When I was there, the weather was warm (start of June) but not hot, so I can't imagine what it would be like in the middle of summer. With the window open and the blind down any breeze caused the blind the knock loudly against the wall.
The worst thing was that on one evening I returned to my room to find the door unlocked with the bolt keeping the door from closing. It had presumably been left that way by the cleaner and must have been open all day potentially allowing anyone to have helped themselves to my belongings. On complaining the hotel offered no recompense.
Expected much better for the price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank planetofsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I'm sorry our room did not meet with your expectations for the price you paid [£80 per night] It was a double room, [all be it our smallest double] although you had booked a single room. We try hard to match guest expectations with their reservations, but when a late booking is made we have very little manoever when the hotel is completely full, as we explained to you at the time when we were unable to relocate you. Some of our eves rooms are compact, but normally fully satisfy all our guest requirements.
I have spoken to the housekeeping staff, as it is not our policy to put rooms 'on the latch' when servicing them, and all staff are normally very vigilent about guest room security. This will not happen henceforth, and I'm pleased that none of your property was interfered with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
6.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Property: Hotel Penzance
Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing