We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“admirably environmental and cozy”
Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Penzance
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne
Level Contributor
404 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“admirably environmental and cozy”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked for Easter weekend at short notice and thus didn’t have much of a choice. Our room - named for St. Adwen, evidently a Cornish kind of St. Valentine - was very small with very little closet space but ecologically friendly (no little bottles of soap and shampoo but larger refillable ones and an overall green policy we much appreciated) and an excellent if narrow mattress (can be romantic). Wifi connection was fine both in our room and in all areas of the hotel.

The hotel is only a few minutes uphill walk from the train station in a quiet residential area, where the hotel was put together evidently originally from two charming Edwardian houses, which we could enjoy in the cozy public rooms including a comfortable parlor with roaring fire (necessary during the coldest Easter Penzance has evidently ever experienced).

We enjoyed the delicious breakfast with a combination of buffet and cooked-to-order servings and a beautiful view of the bay, which some of the more expensive rooms evidently have. And the restaurant deserves its own review – we had one of the best meals of our entire two-week trip through England there.

For future trips to Penzance this will be our first choice – and with a little bit more advance booking, maybe we’ll be lucky enough to get a larger room with a view too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your appreciative review of our hotel. When a guest arrives on spec over a Bank holiday weekend, there is sure to be no choice of room options unfortunately as we are normally 100% full. Thank goodness you found our last one, which is our smallest double [4.5 ft bed] St Adwen is the Cornish patron saint of sweethearts..we live in hope :)
Please return with a little more notice so you can enjoy one of our superior sea view rooms.
[BTW all other double rooms have either 5ft or 6ft beds]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    196
    64
    23
    14
See reviews for
80
483
84
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We love travelling but our favourite place is always Cornwall and when we come to Cornwall our favourite place is always the Hotel Penzance. The hotel is fairly small ,extremely well run, very comfortable , oozes quality and old world charm, it is in a great location with spectacular sea views right across the bay,the bustling harbour and St Michales Mount . But the best bits are the wonderful staff and the really great Bay Restaurant..There can't be many better ways to star the day than tucking into a cooked to order Hotel Penzance full Cornish breakfast and dinner merits as one of the best restaurants in the country. Trust me the Bay Restaurant is worth the trip on it's own. We're next down in July and can't wait .
The Hotel Penzance is also in a great location to enjoy the old atmospheric town of Penzance, the charming Cornish village of Mousehole. the fishing port and art galleries of Newlyn. It is only about 25 minutes to St Ives and our most highly recommended must visit - The Minack Theatre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon-Bancroft_MBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went to the Penzance hotel and bay restaurant for afternoon tea on the 11th just. The device from the start was fantastic. The waiter was friendly and made us both feel very welcome. The afternoon tea was out of this world. Would love to stay in the hotel in the future. Amazing hotel guys :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenworcs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The positive things: This is a nice looking hotel, in a good location, up a hill giving a good view over the bay. It's not too far to walk to the town center where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants.
But, too many negatives: The room was small and in the roof space with sloping ceilings to knock your head on, including above the bath. The room was very hot, there was no air conditioning which made it hard to sleep. When I was there, the weather was warm (start of June) but not hot, so I can't imagine what it would be like in the middle of summer. With the window open and the blind down any breeze caused the blind the knock loudly against the wall.
The worst thing was that on one evening I returned to my room to find the door unlocked with the bolt keeping the door from closing. It had presumably been left that way by the cleaner and must have been open all day potentially allowing anyone to have helped themselves to my belongings. On complaining the hotel offered no recompense.
Expected much better for the price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank planetofsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I'm sorry our room did not meet with your expectations for the price you paid [£80 per night] It was a double room, [all be it our smallest double] although you had booked a single room. We try hard to match guest expectations with their reservations, but when a late booking is made we have very little manoever when the hotel is completely full, as we explained to you at the time when we were unable to relocate you. Some of our eves rooms are compact, but normally fully satisfy all our guest requirements.
I have spoken to the housekeeping staff, as it is not our policy to put rooms 'on the latch' when servicing them, and all staff are normally very vigilent about guest room security. This will not happen henceforth, and I'm pleased that none of your property was interfered with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days over the late May bank holiday whilst walking the coast path. Excellent hotel, with very comfortable and spacious single room. Convenient for railway station and bus station. Very attentive service, and one was made to feel very welcome. The restaurant was of a very high standard. Another good feature, for those walking the coast path, was the availability of an early (7.15am) breakfast even on Sundays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The view from our hotel was lovely, the room was very clean and fairly spacious. However, the two nights that we stayed were not the best. The mattress was far too soft and it felt like sleeping on a bouncy castle and the pillows felt like they were stuffed with cotton wool, we both kept waking up throughout the night and had bad neck pain both mornings. The hotel carpets and decor is a little dated and not really our style. The restaurant is quite nicely done and the views from it again are great. The breakfast we had on the first day was nice but the second was appalling. We waited 35 mins for scrambled egg and bacon, we chased it after 25mins and were told it was because it was being made from fresh...I've never known eggs and bacon from fresh take 35mins. When it arrived the bacon was both undercooked and very overcooked like it had been reheated and the eggs were cold!! Sadly they do not keep the rest of the breakfast buffet options topped up either and all of the choices could have been a lot better compared to other hotels and B&B's. The coffee was like dish water and I burnt myself on the tea pot as they failed to warn that it was extremely hot. When we thought it couldn't get any weirder the restaurant manager was outside by the pool trying to lasso a seagull, nearly hitting himself in the face!! We weren't asked if our stayed was good, the hotel smelt a little like an old people's home and for £288 for 2 nights we are sadly disappointed. I chose to stay here based on the other reviews for this hotel, however, I sadly would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattlewis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are so pleased that you took the time to review your stay, the staff had no idea that you had endured any discomfort or poor service.
Our beds all are memory foam or have quilted toppers and the pillows are pared, one soft and one firm. It would have been a simple matter to remove the topper or change your pillows if you had let us know.
Over the fully booked Bank Holiday weekend, we did suffer a staff shortage in the Restaurant due to an accident. Three staff down for a week meant drafting unfamiliar staff in to cover which may explain any lack of consistancy you experienced. As for the seagull [as one guest has already enquired of us after reading this review] It suffered no harm, and no harm was intended. It was simply shooed away from the pool to allow guests to swim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a wonderful upgrade to a room with a view. It was a clean,comfy room,with all the space and requirements for our stay. I would recommend it to anyone..staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a lovely evening meal in the hotel restaurant..with attentive and friendly service. My daughter & I really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: A room with a view is my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 103CJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
219 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,616 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
833 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Property: Hotel Penzance
Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing