We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed four times”
Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Penzance
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Penzance when I was house-hunting in Penzance, and for a holiday with a friend: three times by myself and once in a twin room with a friend. Once in a room overlooking the car park, twice in a room overlooking the bay and once in a room overlooking the bay and the Town. Although the Hotel is very convenient for the rail station and town, it was quiet in all of these rooms, so good for restful sleep.
The housekeeping is exemplary, more than clean, well cared for, which makes the whole experience of being there a pleasure and relaxing. Staff around when you need them and more than helpful. Also able to just spend time in the comfortable sitting rooms reading or on your laptop (or they will lend you one). The afternoon tea with little cakes is so civilised and welcome after a day out. Restaurant serves food practically all day, and it's lovely. The service and attitude of the staff is top flight, to everyone; toddlers, teenagers, singles, octogenerians.
Breakfasts are wonderful, lots of choice and excellent cooked breakfasts, especially recommend the smoked haddock and poached egg which was perfection. When I stayed in the wintertime the sunrise over the bay at breakfast was beautiful. I stayed at Hotel Penzance in total for about a month.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 844 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here a few months back now and would visit again very soon, the staff were brilliant and my wife and I had a wonderful time.

We are big walkers so needed a good nights sleep which is exactly what we got.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornish-Hols1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here last Autumn with friends and returning in March 2013. Very comfortable and shorth walk into town. Nice restaurant and cocktails available to start the evening off. Would recommend to anyone off to Penzance. Paul

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cotshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed 24th January on Business. Overall, a very pleasant and comfortable hotel. Staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble - made a nice change being shown to your room! Room was clean and enough space to work, free wifi was a appreciated.
Breakfast in the morning was quick and plentiful. Would recommend and definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here recently and have to say it is delightful.The guest host Peter is a treasure and makes every guest so very welcome.The view from room 11 is just wonderful and to eat in the Bay Restaurant rounds off ones visit! I love train journyes and come to Penzance from Paddington which in itself is a trip to behold! But to finish off your stay in Hotel Penzance rounds off the day superbly.
I will return in mid March for another breath of fresh air!

Room Tip: Solo travellers should try for room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just returned from a three night visit to this hotel. The reason for our visit was our wedding anniversay. We were greeted by Peter (Guest Relations) who was so exceptionally nice and friendly. He gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us to our room (carrying one of the cases). We had been upgraded to a room (No18) with a sea view looking towards the harbour and town. Between 5-6pm there were half price cocktails which we thoroughly enjoyed. On the second night we were offered complimentary sparkling wine or cocktails because of our anniversay. We ate two nights in their Bay Restaurant. The food was cooked to perfection and the chef is to be congratulated for his expert cooking skills. Breakfast is also wonderful!! There is also complimentary tea & cakes in the lounges between 3-5pm. You can sit in front of a lovely fire, perfect!!!
Every member of staff is polite and helpful.The housekeeping staff were so friendly and cleaned our room/bathroom to absolutely spotless. But for me Peter is the hotels real gem. Friendly, helpful, funny and just a joy to be in the company of.
Well done everybody at Hotel Penzance. We would love to return again soon.

Room Tip: Room with seaview is excellent. No road noise at all. Couldn't hear the restaurant below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the first moment we stepped through the door we were greeted with smiles, and while the food being nouveau cuisine, was not to my taste, as I believe it is normally an excuse to give small portions, it was quite tasty. The accommodation and general service was delightful and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Do find a room with a view of the sea. It will cost you roughly £20 more, but bworth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#2 of 3 in Penzance
505 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
59 reviews
6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
3.1 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range: $114 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing